Ryzen 1500x, 2133mHz ram OC - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Ryzen 1500x, 2133mHz ram OC

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
!shane!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Ryzen 1500x, 2133mHz ram OC

Hi guys I've got a Ryzen 1500x in a Gigabyte ab350m-d3h mobo, with 4 sticks of G.skill Ripjaws F4-2133C15D-8GVR ram.
SpecTek brand chips from what Thaiphoon says. Seems as though even an OC to 2400mhz will give me 10 fps in some games. No XMP thingo in my bios but I should be able to do it manually. Ryzen ram calc doesnt have Spectek brand nor any speed lower than 2666mhz. Never oc'd ram before and can't find enough info about 2133mhz ram! Anyone got any suggestions about how to achieve that?

DDR4 2133 (PC4 17000)
Timing 15-15-15-35
CAS Latency 15
Voltage 1.2V

Cheers!
!shane! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 12:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Deadboy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: City of Brotherly Love (Pfft)
Posts: 3,282
Rep: 103 (Unique: 86)
Quote: Originally Posted by !shane! View Post
Hi guys I've got a Ryzen 1500x in a Gigabyte ab350m-d3h mobo, with 4 sticks of G.skill Ripjaws F4-2133C15D-8GVR ram.
SpecTek brand chips from what Thaiphoon says. Seems as though even an OC to 2400mhz will give me 10 fps in some games. No XMP thingo in my bios but I should be able to do it manually. Ryzen ram calc doesnt have Spectek brand nor any speed lower than 2666mhz. Never oc'd ram before and can't find enough info about 2133mhz ram! Anyone got any suggestions about how to achieve that?

DDR4 2133 (PC4 17000)
Timing 15-15-15-35
CAS Latency 15
Voltage 1.2V

Cheers!
RAM OCing can be tricky especially with Ryzen. And as someone who had a 1st gen Ryzen I can tell you getting it to work right with 4 sticks can be incredibly frustrating if not impossible.

Id hardly call myself and expert but if it were me id set the voltage to 1.35v (what most XMP profiles set the voltage to) and start boosting the RAM speed till you start getting bluescreens. Once that happens back off the speed and start to loosen up the timings if you wish. Id shoot for 2666mhz as a bare minimum

Steam: Deadboy90
Twitter: @deadboy90
Phenom II vs. Bulldozer vs. Piledriver!
Tin Man
(9 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
RX 5700
RAM
T-Force
Hard Drive
WD SN750
Hard Drive
Adata SU800
Power Supply
Corsair H850i
Cooling
EK Fluid Gaming Custom Loop
Case
Raidmax Magnus Z23
▲ hide details ▲


Deadboy90 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 01:47 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 938
Rep: 47 (Unique: 31)
Please do indeed provide a screenshot of thaiphoon burner
~ checking PCB Layout and at best it would say the IC die size in nm
You have to find this last part quite fast, to know your safe voltage range

On 1st gen 4 things are important for successful ram OC
~ low procODT
~ sustained under 72c tDie (memory controller gets unstable on higher temps)
~ open AMD CBS in BIOS for access of CLDO_VDDP voltage
~ patience | 50-100h for very bad kits

Please provide a screenshot if RTC too, so we know what mess the board predicts
And not to forget, let us know the exact BIOS version
~ as running AGESA is important identifying if you're on the latest PMU firmware update (training algorithm)
* suggested is either 0.0.7.2 with manual mod, or 1.0.0.3 ABBA

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
!shane!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Thanks for the reply guys.
Heres the Thaiphoon screenshot.
https://imgur.com/a/ROXKB7q

In the bios I can't change the setting from auto to manual to change the voltage or system memory multiplier.
https://imgur.com/a/WMzyCgc
!shane! is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-01-2020, 07:53 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 938
Rep: 47 (Unique: 31)
4GB single Ranked,
A0 layout = is the worst of them



Where A1 is known for running tighter timings and A2 for running higher speeds

RTC = Ryzen Timing Checker
Please grab that and show also a picture of it
later you can start identifying what procODT you can use with these kits
As you don't know the size of this chips in nm - you don't know your voltage range for them
Soo stay till 1.42v at max, but you can start with 1.38v and try to get into timings calculation

Just keep in mind, you will likely need to invest around 50ish hours of trial and error
as tCL is high on your side, don't expect too much and you need to learn how to calculate it by yourself (guides don't cover this kind of memory behaviour)
If you're willing to invest time, i'll link you next time couple of reading resources
My what i thought is very bad HynixMFR kit, took me around >100h of learning time till i got used to how it behaves, and what voltage it likes
(timings in signature)

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-02-2020, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
!shane!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
I should've looked more into what ram I was buying a few years back then huh..
Looks like I might as well wait until I upgrade later this year.
I really appreciate the insight!
!shane! is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off