Urgent ! Can I Run 2.0v+ Through My Ram? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Urgent ! Can I Run 2.0v+ Through My Ram?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nibiru
Posts: 4,674
Hey ok

Here is my ram
http://www.geil.com.tw/products/showSpec/id/52

Here is the 1066 version of my ram
http://www.geil.com.tw/products/showSpec/id/54

It says on the 1066 ram max voltage 2.3

Yet on the 800 it says 1.9

They are both the same right?

Could i run 2.1v through my 800mhz geil ram safley?


Fallen Angel -X is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 09:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bazmecc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: secret weapons lab
Posts: 3,835
Rep: 429 (Unique: 369)
no, they probably use different chips, so if you go over 1.9v, you'll burn it out quickly

3DMark's 01 testing | 03 testing | 05 34718 | 06 25109 | Vantage P21261

Bazmecc is offline  
post #3 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 09:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mcastaneda68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 602
Rep: 77 (Unique: 69)
Try running cpu-z. On the spd tab you can find the different ratings and voltages at which your specific ram can work.

Why do you want to increase voltage on your ram?
Are you trying to overclock-it or are you getting errors at rated speed?


mcastaneda68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nibiru
Posts: 4,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcastaneda68 View Post
Try running cpu-z. On the spd tab you can find the different ratings and voltages at which your specific ram can work.

Why do you want to increase voltage on your ram?
Are you trying to overclock-it or are you getting errors at rated speed?
At 900MHZ it isnt stable at 1.9v

It is stable at 2.05v tho


Fallen Angel -X is offline  
post #5 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 10:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bazmecc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: secret weapons lab
Posts: 3,835
Rep: 429 (Unique: 369)
you bought some value ram...don't expect much from it

3DMark's 01 testing | 03 testing | 05 34718 | 06 25109 | Vantage P21261

Bazmecc is offline  
post #6 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 10:01 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by XX-Sunny-XX View Post
Hey ok

Here is my ram
http://www.geil.com.tw/products/showSpec/id/52

Here is the 1066 version of my ram
http://www.geil.com.tw/products/showSpec/id/54

It says on the 1066 ram max voltage 2.3

Yet on the 800 it says 1.9

They are both the same right?

Could i run 2.1v through my 800mhz geil ram safley?
Can you attach a screenshot of CPU-Z's SPD tab? I want to use that to answer this question.

Please use the instructions below to save and post the screenshot:
  1. Open CPU-Z.
  2. Press Alt+Print Screen (this takes a screenshot of the current active window).
  3. Open Microsoft Paint (open the Start menu, type paint and then press enter).
  4. Before doing anything else, shrink the big white area down inside of Paint down to something like 100x100 (make it smaller than what you're about to paste).
  5. Paste the screenshot in.
  6. Save it as a .PNG (use Alt+F, V, P).
  7. Click the Manage Attachments button beneath the Submit Reply and Preview Post buttons.
  8. Click Browse...
  9. Double-click the screenshot.
  10. Click Upload.
  11. Close the window.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #7 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 10:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pow3rtr1p's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 8,645
Rep: 570 (Unique: 431)
Most DDR2 is safe to around 2.1V on stock heatsinks. However, you may want to point a fan at them to dissipate the heat a bit.

pow3rtr1p is offline  
post #8 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 10:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IGN IGN
Posts: 11,112
yes, as long as it's got sufficient cooling.
T3h_Ch33z_Muncha is offline  
post #9 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 10:04 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nibiru
Posts: 4,674
KK screenshot attatched



Fallen Angel -X is offline  
post #10 of 56 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 10:06 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by XX-Sunny-XX View Post
KK screenshot attatched

Judging from this, the stock voltage is strictly 1.8V. So since you have heatsinks, then I would say it should be safe to run 2.0V to as much as 2.1V. But I personally wouldn't go much higher than 2.1V. I mean, I feel that 2.150V might be the limit.

By the way: this is information that is read from the memory itself. These are stock values that you can use in the BIOS should you choose to do so.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off