__The 16GB RAM CLUB__ - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

__The 16GB RAM CLUB__

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 09:19 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
r34p3rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston/Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,637
Rep: 899 (Unique: 673)
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1746673

In!

I have 16GB of RAM because.. well.. 16GB of RAM at the time was selling for $20 more than the 8GB kit tongue.gif

cool.gifI'm from Long Island, I'm a member of the New Yorker Club cool.gif


Canon 5DII w/ Grip | EF 17-40 f/4L | EF 24-105 f/4L | EF 70-200 f/2.8L | Speedlite 430EX II | AlienBee B800 + Vagabond Mini

OC's: i7 920 3845B260 @ 4713 (air) | i7 920 3943A529 @ 4760 (H50)
Fun Stuff: -=R34P3ReX's OCN Wallpaper Thread=-
r34p3rex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 09:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 691
Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JedixJarf;12963296 
Ill take ya up on that.... too bad there is no CPUZ for OS X....


screenshot20110401at241.png

How'd you get OSX to show your ram speed? My ram appears as DDR2 in OSX.
ehpexs is offline  
post #13 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 09:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
terraprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,056
Rep: 158 (Unique: 148)
Quote:
Originally Posted by landyzhu;12967519 
16 gb only mean bad timing~

Not really, just kills overclocking potential alot.
Example 1

Explame 2 top 3 on that page are 2ghz and over @ 16gb totally nice considering size and timings but the price is a little over the top for me.

I want 16gb of RAM!!!

[CENTER]http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=376310
[CENTER]My FIrst Quad @ 3.2ghz with a .075Vcore increase


terraprime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 09:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,450
Rep: 990 (Unique: 751)
Yeah I let the 8 gig club die. I started it 3 years ago when 2 gigs was average, 4 gigs was extreme, 8 gigs was crazy


I'd have to add everyone on the site if I kept it maintained now

R7 [email protected] XFX rx5700 DD (XT vbios) https://valid.x86.fr/ed8tpx
R5 [email protected] MSI rx5700 Mech OC https://valid.x86.fr/hersi6
R7 [email protected] MSI 980ti https://valid.x86.fr/jxeld9

Backup GPU 1070ti
CPU
3700x
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
XFX 5700 DD Ultra (XT Thicc II Vbios)
RAM
G.Skill Neo 32gb cas 16 RGB
Hard Drive
Adata SX8100 1TB NVME
Hard Drive
Samsung 1tb m.2
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3tb
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic 1050x
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Fractal Meshify C
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600 4.3ghz 1.2v
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk
GPU
MSI rx5700 Mech OC
RAM
Patriot Viper 16gb 3600mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Intel 660P 1TB NVMe
Hard Drive
WD 3tB Blue
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt semi-modular
Cooling
Wraith Prism (2700X stock)
Case
Deepcool Matrexx 70
CPU
Ryzen 7 2700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3
GPU
EVGA 1070ti FTW
RAM
G.Skill RGB 16gb 3200mhz
Hard Drive
WD SN750 500gb NVMe
Power Supply
Rosewill HIVE 750w semi-modular
Cooling
Gammax 400 + UpHere RGB Fan
Case
Phanteks P300 White
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
post #15 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 10:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 615
Rep: 16 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by terraprime;12979506 
Not really, just kills overclocking potential alot.
Example 1

Explame 2 top 3 on that page are 2ghz and over @ 16gb totally nice considering size and timings but the price is a little over the top for me.

I want 16gb of RAM!!!

compare with 4x2gb
Quote:
Originally Posted by CravinR1;12979526 
Yeah I let the 8 gig club die. I started it 3 years ago when 2 gigs was average, 4 gigs was extreme, 8 gigs was crazy


I'd have to add everyone on the site if I kept it maintained now

you should not let 4x2gb die, i did not see any good 4gb memory chip this moment, maybe need to wait elpida new 30nm product

folding for better effciency to keep warm? still not applicaplable for 6950
landyzhu is offline  
post #16 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-03-2011, 05:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 195 (Unique: 161)
Added you tand1 and r34p3rex. Thanks guys for joining!
Quote:
How'd you get OSX to show your ram speed? My ram appears as DDR2 in OSX.
I have no idea biggrin.gif Never used OS X. But i would be funny if you can`t get the timings. Apple could put crap in there and sell it for $$$ wth.gif (I doubt that, i`m no anti-mac-fanboy)
Quote:
I'd have to add everyone on the site if I kept it maintained now
Yeah CarvinR1. This would be uber hard to maintain and 8GB is avererage right now.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm84 go_quote.gif

What difference would it make anyway whether Derick is a he or she, I'm here for the rig and the weird conversations.
Mr.Eiht is offline  
post #17 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-03-2011, 08:10 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,674
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Threads merged

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
post #18 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-07-2011, 04:02 PM
Retired Staff
 
JedixJarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 9,480
Rep: 307 (Unique: 246)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehpexs;12979252 
How'd you get OSX to show your ram speed? My ram appears as DDR2 in OSX.

Because it's a real mac lol.


JedixJarf is offline  
post #19 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-07-2011, 04:05 PM
Retired Staff
 
SmokinWaffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kent, South East UK
Posts: 11,124
Rep: 435 (Unique: 316)
Perhaps include in your post why you have 16GB of RAM, as 90% of users don't require over 4/6GB.

♪ ❤ ♫


SmokinWaffle is offline  
post #20 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-07-2011, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 195 (Unique: 161)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokinWaffle;13041321 
Perhaps include in your post why you have 16GB of RAM, as 90% of users don't require over 4/6GB.
Really good idea! Thanks for that!
Will edit my first post!



Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm84 go_quote.gif

What difference would it make anyway whether Derick is a he or she, I'm here for the rig and the weird conversations.
Mr.Eiht is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off