__The 16GB RAM CLUB__ - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

__The 16GB RAM CLUB__

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-16-2011, 05:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: near Soton uni
Posts: 764
Rep: 106 (Unique: 94)
1771147.png

i haz 16GB. biggrin.gif

i have 16GB because i am addicted to RAMdisk. i've had 8GB since 2007, with 2GB as RAMdisk, still runs out of memory at times when i have multiple VMware open. now i can have 6GB RAMdisk without worry about running out of memory biggrin.gif

a bit overkill, but seeing DDR3 is here to day, 16GB at 1600MHz cas9 probably won't be out of date any time soon. plus, i now rarely close stuff, even load some program minimised at startup.

wuyanxu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-16-2011, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 195 (Unique: 161)
Added you wuyanxu.
Wasn`t shure about your RAM speed.
So i put the values from your sig at the list.
If you are running it @1605MHz please let m know and i will change it.
Thanks for joining!



Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm84 go_quote.gif

What difference would it make anyway whether Derick is a he or she, I'm here for the rig and the weird conversations.
Mr.Eiht is offline  
post #23 of 1230 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 03:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: near Soton uni
Posts: 764
Rep: 106 (Unique: 94)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Eiht;13152400 
Added you wuyanxu.
Wasn`t shure about your RAM speed.
So i put the values from your sig at the list.
If you are running it @1605MHz please let m know and i will change it.
Thanks for joining!

Thanks for adding me.

These XMS3 are rated to run at 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 1.65v, memtest passed at 1.5v. That verification was when everything at stock (RAM at its rated speed)

I am now running all stock because BFBC2 has been crashing lately, trying to figure out what's causing it. Afterburner and FRAPS seems like the suspects ATM.

For overclock, I will be running between 1333 and 1600, depend on CPU speed, due to summer is coming, I don't think I'll be running at overclocked speed for next few months. I'll only be overclocking when there is noticeable performance gain. 2.8GHz i7 is fast enough for my screen resolution. Still limited by graphics card at the moment.

wuyanxu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 1230 (permalink) Old 05-04-2011, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 195 (Unique: 161)
No one else with 16GB or more to join the club? Thats sad. I really thought that there were more people who love RAM.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm84 go_quote.gif

What difference would it make anyway whether Derick is a he or she, I'm here for the rig and the weird conversations.
Mr.Eiht is offline  
post #25 of 1230 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 11:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 4,334
Rep: 107 (Unique: 96)
i bought a sandybridge and had 4 gb and sold them and bought 8gb 2x4gb and thinking of getting another set. is this overkill 16gb?????

HERE I IS biggrin.gif my top cpu's

E5200 3.6GHZ********** E8600 4.4GHZ ***********Q9650 4.3GHZ
E7200 3.8GHZ********** E8400 4.2GHZ ***********Q9550 4.25GHZ

headphone setup- schitt bifrost dac - Hifiman EF5 tube amp - Hifiman HE-4 orthodynamic headphones
valtopps is offline  
post #26 of 1230 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 195 (Unique: 161)
Depends on what you are doing with your PC!
If you are just gaming and webrowsing then yes.
BTW: @OCN it is allways nice to have a bit more than the average PC_user biggrin.gif



Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm84 go_quote.gif

What difference would it make anyway whether Derick is a he or she, I'm here for the rig and the weird conversations.
Mr.Eiht is offline  
post #27 of 1230 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 12:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,233
Rep: 203 (Unique: 166)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Eiht;13384494 
No one else with 16GB or more to join the club? Thats sad. I really thought that there were more people who love RAM.

It's because the majority of people don't use more than 4-8GB and having too much RAM is actually a bad thing. 16GB would be a terrible idea for anyone who primarily games with their system.

Plex is offline  
post #28 of 1230 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 195 (Unique: 161)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plex;13406621 
It's because the majority of people don't use more than 4-8GB and having too much RAM is actually a bad thing. 16GB would be a terrible idea for anyone who primarily games with their system.
I know that!
There are some guys @OCN who don`t play games, watch youtube_vids and twitter.
Running VM`s and use Photoshop or After Effects will need some more RAM.

And Yes the poor IMC gets overloaded and you can`t overclock anymore.
/sarcasm



Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm84 go_quote.gif

What difference would it make anyway whether Derick is a he or she, I'm here for the rig and the weird conversations.
Mr.Eiht is offline  
post #29 of 1230 (permalink) Old 05-06-2011, 09:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nirocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
why would you need 16gb unless you are doing hardcore rendering?
Nirocity is offline  
post #30 of 1230 (permalink) Old 05-07-2011, 07:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 195 (Unique: 161)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Eiht;13406928 
Running VM`s and use Photoshop or After Effects will need some more RAM.
Because of this.
Big comps with massiv particles in After Effects @high resolutions for example need lots of RAM. And running many Virtual Machines requires also some RAM to feed the different OS`s. Or photoshop.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm84 go_quote.gif

What difference would it make anyway whether Derick is a he or she, I'm here for the rig and the weird conversations.
Mr.Eiht is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off