Einstein@Home project support thread - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[email protected] project support thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 82 (permalink) Old 01-27-2017, 07:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
emoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 470
Rep: 29 (Unique: 14)
Worst case would be to open a VM and use an exclude gpu tag in the cc_config for the 470. Sucks I know.



emoga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 82 (permalink) Old 01-27-2017, 07:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,757

Previous [email protected] GPU tasks ran 2 at a time just fine.  Looking in my Newegg history I have hand this card for 4 years, I guess it is showing it's age.


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
post #23 of 82 (permalink) Old 01-27-2017, 07:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by emoga View Post

Worst case would be to open a VM and use an exclude gpu tag in the cc_config for the 470. Sucks I know.

 

I have never managed to pass through a GPU to a VM, but that is probably just me using the wrong tools. 

 

I could probably put this in my HTPC and pull the GTX-950 out of there, although if the 7850 runs much hotter gaming I might have issues given the limited airflow in my cabinet.  The 7850 is still a decent performer on a lot of stuff, and FP64 is not as cut down as newer cards.

 

Just thought I would let people know about the memory requirements of the newer GPU tasks. Running 3x tasks on a 2G card would encounter similar issues.


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 82 (permalink) Old 01-27-2017, 10:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,757

Its interesting as I look into these new GPU tasks, I am not convinced there is any benefit to running multiple tasks per card, in fact it may hurt. 

 

On my RX470, running 2x I got run times of 3863 seconds, running 1x I get 1341 seconds.  So based on my sample size of 3 tasks it looks better to no longer run multiple tasks per GPU.  Just to be clear I am testing:

 

Gamma-ray pulsar binary search #1 on GPU 1.17 (FGRP-opencl-ati) on Windows 10.

 

I will run a few more tasks and verify the result, and I guess I will go mess with a linux system and a nvidia card as well.


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
post #25 of 82 (permalink) Old 01-27-2017, 10:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
emoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 470
Rep: 29 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfromcolo View Post

Gamma-ray pulsar binary search #1 on GPU 1.17 (FGRP-opencl-ati) on Windows 10.

Are you sure they're the 1.17's? 1.18's have been out for a while and have noticeable speed improvements....or they may cripple your card even further wink.gif



emoga is offline  
post #26 of 82 (permalink) Old 01-27-2017, 11:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 7200 ft above sea level
Posts: 2,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by emoga View Post


Are you sure they're the 1.17's? 1.18's have been out for a while and have noticeable speed improvements....or they may cripple your card even further wink.gif

 

Yes I am getting only 1.17 in both Windows and Linux.  Maybe I need to set a test flag or something.  Guess I will stop wasting my time on this then and wait for the 1.18s to appear. From reading in the forum the 1.18s are faster and people still benefit running multiples as long as they have sufficient vram.

 

Edit - set the test flag and getting 1.18 units now, faster, but still using about 750M each of vram.  So I can run only one on my 7850, but it looks to be 90% utilized with one.


Quote:I'm gonna throw in my 2 cents. Not because I'm an expert but because I have a keyboard.


bfromcolo is offline  
post #27 of 82 (permalink) Old 01-27-2017, 04:03 PM
Fluffy Fennec Foxes!
 
WhiteWulfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: C-YXD (aka Edmonton, Canada)
Posts: 10,529
Rep: 167 (Unique: 123)
The new app uses 768MB per work unit, at least on slower cards or those with 1GB of VRAM. If your card has 1.5GB or more, it tends to send work units that use 1GB per WU.

On the plus side, at least 1.18 runs things at a good speed! tongue.gif

I <3 Mechanical Keyboards | Member of OCN's Headphone club
Quote:Originally Posted by xxbassplayerxx 
Don't mind Wulfe. He's writing his book one post at a time.
JägerWulfe
(19 items)
Gigadestroyer
(13 items)
CPU
Intel i7-4770K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-OC
GPU
MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G Golden Edition
RAM
G.Skill Triden-X 16GB DDR3-2400
Hard Drive
Maxtor 2TB Black
Hard Drive
Seagate 2TB SATA3
Optical Drive
LG DVD-RW
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1000G2
Cooling
Cryorig R1 ultimate
Case
NZXT Phantom 820 Black
Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Monitor
BenQ VP2210
Monitor
BenQ VP2210
Keyboard
Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Mouse
Steel Series Worgen
Mouse
Roccat Nyth
Audio
JDS Labs O2 + ODAC Rev.B
Audio
AKG K712
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i7 3770k
Motherboard
Maximus V Formula
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Classified
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866MHz
Hard Drive
Kingston 64GB SSDnow 200
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w G2
Cooling
CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Case
Open Bench Table
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Bit
Monitor
Dell E2213H
Keyboard
Logitech G15 v2
Mouse
Corsair M95
Mouse
3' wide battle mat
CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair IV Formula
GPU
EVGA GTX 770 SuperClocked
RAM
4x Kingston Hyperx 4GB
Hard Drive
Seagate 3TB
Power Supply
Fractal Designs Newton 600w
Cooling
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 Pro
Case
Fractal Designs Define R4
Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Monitor
Dynex 32" television
Keyboard
Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2013
Mouse
Logitech G700
▲ hide details ▲


WhiteWulfe is offline  
post #28 of 82 (permalink) Old 01-28-2017, 08:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,909
Rep: 288 (Unique: 136)
Yep 750mb per WU and 99-100% util can only be achieved by running 2x or more tasks at once. Some have seen improvement with 3x at once but it requires a core per GPU.


mmonnin is offline  
post #29 of 82 (permalink) Old 03-27-2017, 09:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Finrond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 2,823
Rep: 55 (Unique: 42)
GAH! Einstein server is down.



Finrond is offline  
post #30 of 82 (permalink) Old 03-27-2017, 01:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,909
Rep: 288 (Unique: 136)
It's still down. Guess I'll go back to Amicable # for a bit when my queue runs out.


mmonnin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off