EVGA 1080 TI SC2 - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

EVGA 1080 TI SC2

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 54 (permalink) Old 07-28-2017, 01:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Romrommm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: NICE, FRANCE
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
someone try to remove the fan header and mount the FE waterblock?
Romrommm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 54 (permalink) Old 07-29-2017, 08:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gillza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by akira749 View Post

We don't plan on making a block for this card.

Well that's rather disappointing. I came here in search of information regarding the waterblock to use. I am sure there will be more people buying these cards, please reconsider.
gillza is offline  
post #13 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-12-2017, 08:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
westpz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Now that we have more people with SC2 cards, there should be a full cover block...
westpz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-22-2017, 08:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gillza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Nvidia sells hydro copper version of this card. How hard is it to offer the waterblock for sale for those who already bought a card??...
gillza is offline  
post #15 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-22-2017, 08:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
westpz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
I contacted the EVGA support regarding this matter and I'm waiting for a reply. I'll post it here.
westpz is offline  
post #16 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-22-2017, 08:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gillza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
good luck.

https://forums.evga.com/GTX-1080-TI-SC2-Waterblock-only-m2701274.aspx

Honestly, if they are refusing to release a block I'll just de-solder that fan connector and use the EK FE block instead as is seems to match the layout bar the connector.
gillza is offline  
post #17 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-28-2017, 12:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Romrommm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: NICE, FRANCE
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
I can not understand this reasoning of not wanting to get a waterblock for this card and suddenly oblige those who buy it to integrate it in their watercooling configuration, to resell it to buy a sc black or FTW3 ....
Romrommm is offline  
post #18 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-28-2017, 02:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gillza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I am not sure I understood your reply correctly, but I assume you are asking why I did not get a card with a waterblock from the beginning? Well Let's say I made a mistake. I was thinking the hybrid cooling solution (for me) would be ideal. But after looking around these forums I realized I would like to try and build my own custom loop. Thus unfortunately i'm facing the issue with waterblock now.

Whats frustrating is that nvidia does have a waterblock for this card as evidenced by them selling hydrocopper version. However I suspect the hydrocoper version of the SC2 card actually comes without that fan header so that the can use the standard waterblock on it. That's why they don't want to sell it separately, it would not be compatible with unmodded card. Just my opinion...
gillza is offline  
post #19 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-28-2017, 11:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Romrommm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: NICE, FRANCE
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
No I was not talking about you but rather the choice of EK not wanting to do a waterblock for the 1080Ti Sc2
Romrommm is offline  
post #20 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-29-2017, 12:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
westpz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gillza View Post

Whats frustrating is that nvidia does have a waterblock for this card as evidenced by them selling hydrocopper version. However I suspect the hydrocoper version of the SC2 card actually comes without that fan header so that the can use the standard waterblock on it. That's why they don't want to sell it separately, it would not be compatible with unmodded card. Just my opinion...

This was my exact question to EVGA support. If or when this block is released, will it fit our SC2 cards as I think they just removed the second header and used the titan X block. So, let's wait and see.
westpz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off