Dell precision t3400 - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Dell precision t3400

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-13-2016, 07:58 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
I'm using the A22 BIOS from Dell on an Optiplex 755 desktop.
Q9400, 4 x 2 Gig DDR2 800, Nvidia GT 610.

I tried to use a stick of DDR2 1066 to "trick" the BIOS into running three other sticks of CL6 Samsung to CL5, but alas, iit downclock to 666 (CL5) instead of running at 800 (CL5).

Other than reprogramming the SPD tables is there any other way to get to CL5?

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-02-2016, 09:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 591
Rep: 24 (Unique: 12)
Sometimes it's not the BIOS but the timing straps in the chipset that determine what speed the memory bus boots to. In the T3400 chipset if you force the hidden 400 FSB DDR3 runs at 1600 or 1066 but not the normal 1333. DDR2 will only boot at 800, not the 1066 allowed by the 333 FSB. The locked Dell BIOS may impose further limits. With modern GPUs that have 2GB DDR5 memory, memory speed isn't the issue it once was. I would gp for all the CPU clock you can get, and then the max GPU you can get to work. ITX can be made to fit.
My advice for the Optiplex 755 would be Q6700 (they're all G0 stepping) with a pinmod to 333FSB ,and VID pinmod to 1.43V., either D9729 heatpipe cooler (bolts in), or the bettter T9303 which requires moving the holes in the cover to match. An expansion slot blower will clear the heat out of the expansion slot area. PSU options are aftermarket, or T3400 375W, or 525W will fit also. Cable lengths will be a better match with those. Sorry for the late reply I've been offline for a couple weeks. Basicaly you're stuck with DDR2 800 which is just as fast as DDR3 1066. An extra $50 in the GPU will do a lot more for you than memory clocks.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
post #23 of 34 (permalink) Old 08-24-2017, 03:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 591
Rep: 24 (Unique: 12)
I may have come across a solution for the Error34, VESA Mode 103 issue. I saw someone running an AMD RX-570 in a dell T5400 workstation. I asked about the error and they said it went away after they loaded MSI afterburner.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-27-2018, 06:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mrdarkwraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
I have a T3400 system and was planning on upgrading the CPU from the Q6700 I bought it with.
So far I've thought about:
Q9650
Q9550
Q9450
Xeon X3360
Xeon X3370
What other CPUs does this PC support, what is the most powerful and what is the difference between the X3360 and the Q9550?
They have the same clocks, are based on the same architecture and look very similar.
Only thing is X3360 is priced lower.
Also does the LGA 771 --> 775 mod work on this computer?
Mrdarkwraith is offline  
post #25 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-27-2018, 06:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mrdarkwraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
blyat

Last edited by Mrdarkwraith; 01-27-2018 at 06:48 PM. Reason: doubleposted
Mrdarkwraith is offline  
post #26 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-27-2018, 09:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 591
Rep: 24 (Unique: 12)
Lga 771 doesn't work. It has unofficial support for 400fsb.
Here are some builds for that system. The fastest CPU there is a QX9650 @ 4.15GHz scoring 57% of systems tested.
http://www.userbenchmark.com/System/...ion-T3400/3505
It was overclocked using Throttlestop 6.00 software by raising Voltage and multiplier.
Retrorockit is offline  
post #27 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-28-2018, 11:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mrdarkwraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Retrorockit View Post
Lga 771 doesn't work. It has unofficial support for 400fsb.
Here are some builds for that system. The fastest CPU there is a QX9650 @ 4.15GHz scoring 57% of systems tested.
http://www.userbenchmark.com/System/...ion-T3400/3505
It was overclocked using Throttlestop 6.00 software by raising Voltage and multiplier.
How about the X33X0 xeons?
Mrdarkwraith is offline  
post #28 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-30-2018, 06:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 591
Rep: 24 (Unique: 12)
I see one running at userbenchmark.com so yes.
It does have the Dell BIOS AMD GPU issue. GCN3 and up cards can't display the Dell BIOS screen. So Nvidia is the safe bet.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
post #29 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-04-2018, 08:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mrdarkwraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Does the T3400 support standard ATX power supplies?
Mrdarkwraith is offline  
post #30 of 34 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 06:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
t3400

old thread, but yes i still use it. q6600 bsel + set fsb stable @ 3.11, crossfired amd 9750's 8 gigs ram this rig is still a beast.
jimmytherose68 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off