Dell precision t3400 - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Dell precision t3400

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 04:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
"In the T3400 chipset if you force the hidden 400 FSB DDR3 runs at 1600 or 1066 but not the normal 1333. DDR2 will only boot at 800, not the 1066 allowed by the 333 FSB."

Does this mean the T3400 may run DDR3 16GB memory?
Could it even run 32GB?

Im am interested because I may acquire a T3400 this year and I would like to to max it. (My first ever PC)
What I have in mind is:
1) With a Xeon X3363 (modded for 775), i read that 771 xeon far outperform any 775 cpu because its designed for server use. So it should be far better than the QX9650 for overclocking, also because of the lower TDP. Correct?

2) With the 400FSB to have 16GB DDR3 RAM. (I imagine 32GB isnt possible but I wonder if it could be)
If 16GB DDR3 isnt possible then of course i will use 16GBDDR2.

3)Im not sure which the highest /best graphics card to pair this with, im a noob with graphics cards.
with the many slots in the T3400 i read somewhere It can use two / dual graphics cards?
Whats the benefit of using two?
Is each card is for one monitor? Or can the two cards be used to power one monitor? (First PC / Noob)

Also, the T3400 has Raid 0 capability, my intention is to make it an advanced CAD all in one rendering station.
So i can run do my modelling and rendering on it.

In overclocking the Xeon and running a top graphics card i image i would need the 525W PSU, right?
And to be safe the system should be watercooled?
StanSuth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 04:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Heres the CPU-Z of the T3400
Attached Files
File Type: txt USER-PC.txt (56.7 KB, 9 views)
StanSuth is offline  
post #33 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 04:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Here are some Photos
StanSuth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 04:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Heres 1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20190421_10_52_53_Pro.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	2.99 MB
ID:	266126  

StanSuth is offline  
post #35 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-29-2019, 02:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 602
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
The T 3400 doesn't support LGA771 CPUs. It does support 130W QX9650 and can be overclocked with Throttlestop 6.00 software and/or a 400 FSB tapemod.
RAM is DDR2. 800 or 1066 @ 333fsb, 800 @ 400.
The difference is that DDR2 4GB modules in 1066 are very rare and expensive, but not too hard to find in 800 speed. The reason for this is that LGA771 servers went to FBDIMMs for large module capacity, and of course DDR3 was becoming available then.
So if you need more than 8GB you will probably be running DDR2 800 anyway. Also you can make up most of the differece by looking for lower latency 800 modules.
Here are some suggestions for these.
Q9650 tapemod to 400fsb. Use TS6 for Voltage control. 3.6GHz and should outrun an X5470 Xeon swap.
QX9650 TS6 good for 4.15GHz, maybe more with some cooling mods and 400fsb.
For GPU I like GTX1060 3GB for up to 8GB RAM. GTX1060 6GB for 10GB and up.
Here's a TS6 overclock scoring 57% CPU ranking. The older GPU is holding it back. The Dell 375W PSU should be able to power a 150W GTX1070. Whether it can do that and handle a 4GHz overclock also is another matter. But it's probably worth a try.
There was an optional 525W PSU for the t3400 XPS 9100 XPS 9200 that has 2x 6 pin PCIe cables. M1J3H, or H525AF-01. But don't get one for the T3500 The CPU connector is 8 pin instead of 4 pin. But ATX PSU is an option.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
post #36 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-01-2019, 11:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
oskarha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Retrorockit View Post
The T 3400 doesn't support LGA771 CPUs. It does support 130W QX9650 and can be overclocked with Throttlestop 6.00 software and/or a 400 FSB tapemod.
The T3400 supports some LGA 771 xeons, that being the X33x3 Yorkfield-CLs, but not x5xxx xeons.
Quote: Originally Posted by Retrorockit View Post
RAM is DDR2. 800 or 1066 @ 333fsb, 800 @ 400.
The difference is that DDR2 4GB modules in 1066 are very rare and expensive, but not too hard to find in 800 speed. The reason for this is that LGA771 servers went to FBDIMMs for large module capacity, and of course DDR3 was becoming available then.
So if you need more than 8GB you will probably be running DDR2 800 anyway. Also you can make up most of the differece by looking for lower latency 800 modules.
Here are some suggestions for these.
Q9650 tapemod to 400fsb. Use TS6 for Voltage control. 3.6GHz and should outrun an X5470 Xeon swap.
QX9650 TS6 good for 4.15GHz, maybe more with some cooling mods and 400fsb.
Did you get the BSEL tape mod working on your T3400? I have a T3400 with a Xeon X3323 and it wont post with the tape mod applied (diagnostic lights 1 and 3, ram error). I also tried an E8400, same result, all with DDR2 800MHz RAM.
Quote: Originally Posted by Retrorockit View Post
Here's a TS6 overclock scoring 57% CPU ranking. The older GPU is holding it back. The Dell 375W PSU should be able to power a 150W GTX1070. Whether it can do that and handle a 4GHz overclock also is another matter. But it's probably worth a try.
There was an optional 525W PSU for the t3400 XPS 9100 XPS 9200 that has 2x 6 pin PCIe cables. M1J3H, or H525AF-01. But don't get one for the T3500 The CPU connector is 8 pin instead of 4 pin. But ATX PSU is an option.
I just made this mistake and the T3500 PSU will fit and work just fine (the 8-pin CPU power is a 4+4 like in many aftermarket PSUs), do note though that the breakout cable is different compared to the 525W psu for the T3400 (due to this and the T3500s different layout the GPU powercables are a little on the shorter side but they will reach). However the power input socket is blocked by some metal and plastic on the case, but that's nothing a dremel cant solve.
oskarha is offline  
post #37 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 06:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 602
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
There is a different tape mod for each FSB jump. The classic one from 266 to 333 won't work for 333 to 400. I would check on that first. The later 8000 series CPUs use a different VID lookup table than the older ones. Maybe a BIOS update is needed?The X3xxx Xeons are LGA775 and will run with no other mod required. 400fsb is listed in the X38 chipset spec. I looked up Dell T3400 QX9775 and there seems to be a lot of people selling them.
https://www.google.com/search?q=Dell...hrome&ie=UTF-8
So ASFAIK 400fsb support is real.
I've had such good results with TS6 and Core2 extreme CPUs that I haven't tried the pinmod on the T3400 myself. When I was posting at Tomshardware 266 to 333 was a known good mod for the Dell Optiplex BTX computers which can't run the unlocked CPUs.

I'm afraid i've wandered of into E bike conversions and haven't been modding computers lately.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off