Dell precision t3400 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Dell precision t3400

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-06-2016, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blooder11181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: portugal, porto
Posts: 3,255
Rep: 44 (Unique: 41)
got this dell for 85€
specs
dell custom intel x38 btx motherboard 2x16 crossfire ready
dell 375watts psu with one pci-express 6pin
2x12v 18a each
core 2 quad q6600 slacr g0 (trying to find q9x50)
4gb ddr2 667mhz cl5 (will upgrade to 8gb ddr2 800mhz cl4/cl5)*
quadro fx 570 256mb ddr2 (gt 7xx or better)*
wester digital 160gb sata2
samsung dvd rw sata (before whas a dvd rom)

*priority upgrade

clean it minus the psu (soon) it was full of dust like 2 hands full.

updated the bios from a04 to a14
clean install win7 home premium
so far works well

does anyone still use them?

NVIDIA and AMD(ATI)
INTEL and AMD
i love them all

APPLE OBSOLETE RIGS USER BUT STILL GOOD
blooder11181 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-07-2016, 05:18 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
I have both as Optiplex 755 and Optiplex 780. Both are upgraded with Q9400's, max memory, SSDs, 1 TB drives and upgraded video. One Radeon HD 5450 and one with a GTX 450.

I've built two 755s for friends and am doing another one now. It can be done for $125-$150 including dual monitors, mouse and keyboard.

Here's a SolidWorks render on the 755.




https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-16-2016, 05:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 614
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
You're very lucky to start with the T3400. I like the challenge of working with Dell BTX computers. I posted a tutorial at Tomshardware "Overclocking Dell BTX Computers". Justajohn at Tom's reports QX9650 @ 4.15GHz. with Throttlestop 6.00 software method. He also ran 2x HD7850 GPUs. Scores 7500 in Firestrike. Cooler T9303 bolts right in. RAID 0 let's you overcome the SATA2 speed barrier with cheap 120GB SSDs. The X38 chipset has hidden support for 400fsb. I haven't tested this yet but a pinmod might unlock it. I just bought one of these myself, but haven't started on it yet. It will run with non ECC memory and 16GB capacity per Crucial.com. A lot of IT guys have run DDR2 1066 memory. X38 chipset supports it., but the DellI locked BIOS will have the final word on this. I haven't seen specific reports that it runs at that speed though. Reports that X38 supports 8GB RAM applies to DDR3 systems. Look around in my albums and posts. Its all Dell BTX related.
I would advise against R series AMD GPUs. They dropped support for the VESA 103 video mode that old Dell's need to display the BIOS screen. No fix available so far.
Look n my sig. to see what my older Dell Dimension E520 is running at.
There is a bigger PSU option that has 2x 6 pin connectors. 525W I think.
It supports AMD Crossfire but not Nvidia SLI, so Nvidia might not be the way to go unless you know how to software SLI. 7xxx AMDs are proven. Be careful of EUFI vs. Legacy GPU BIOS issue also.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-16-2016, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blooder11181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: portugal, porto
Posts: 3,255
Rep: 44 (Unique: 41)
so far the upgrades are
4gb ddr2 800mhz (before was 667mhz) going to get soon more 4gb up to 8gb
geforce gt520 1gb ddr3

as for the psu is 375watts with 1 6pin pci-express

NVIDIA and AMD(ATI)
INTEL and AMD
i love them all

APPLE OBSOLETE RIGS USER BUT STILL GOOD
blooder11181 is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-16-2016, 06:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 614
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
Yes the 375W base PSU has 1 PCIe 6 pin. DDR3 GPU is going to slow frame rates down. DDR5 is much faster. It has native support for 3xxx Xeons also. You can really build a full featured machine out of that.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-21-2016, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blooder11181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: portugal, porto
Posts: 3,255
Rep: 44 (Unique: 41)
i know that but i dont want to built power hungry machine.

NVIDIA and AMD(ATI)
INTEL and AMD
i love them all

APPLE OBSOLETE RIGS USER BUT STILL GOOD
blooder11181 is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-25-2016, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blooder11181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: portugal, porto
Posts: 3,255
Rep: 44 (Unique: 41)
can i use this one with the pin mod 771->775
Xeon Quad Core X5420

NVIDIA and AMD(ATI)
INTEL and AMD
i love them all

APPLE OBSOLETE RIGS USER BUT STILL GOOD
blooder11181 is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-27-2016, 10:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 614
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
No the X38 chipset only supports LGA775 3xxx Xeons.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-28-2016, 03:49 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blooder11181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: portugal, porto
Posts: 3,255
Rep: 44 (Unique: 41)
the only xeon i can find is 3110 aka e8400
i found some quad cores q8400, q9400,9450, q9550

NVIDIA and AMD(ATI)
INTEL and AMD
i love them all

APPLE OBSOLETE RIGS USER BUT STILL GOOD
blooder11181 is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-28-2016, 06:21 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
I've upgraded 4 Optiplex 755 computers in the last 6 months. The Q9400 is the best price-performance point at this current time.

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off