The Dell Optiplex Thread - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The Dell Optiplex Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 05:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DADDYDC650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,435
Rep: 141 (Unique: 99)
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbartuska View Post

In a word, no. I have no desire to shop eBay, Craigs List and Good will (online) for someone else. I spend enough time doing it for myself.

All I can tell you is Dells use a lot of proprietary parts so be careful mixing and matching Dells with non Dell parts.
I'm mostly worried about the OEM power supply failing. Might be difficult finding a replacement PSU that will fit.

DADDYDC650 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 06:27 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
There's always a lot of then on ebay.


https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #13 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-21-2016, 10:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gladi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 115
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
hey, what kind of low profile gpu can fit in this?
Gladi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-23-2016, 06:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
numberfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 269
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gladi View Post

hey, what kind of low profile gpu can fit in this?
It will depend on the case you have and the PSU as linked above.
I've put GTX 640 slim in my 745 DT, it is acting as DLNA/file share/torrent with E8400, 4Gb RAM, 2+3Tb HDDs.
numberfive is offline  
post #15 of 109 (permalink) Old 11-10-2016, 09:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Forde3654Eire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UAE
Posts: 412
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Add in the Dell Optiplex 745. These run the 965g chipset, theoretically supposed to be able to take both Netburst and 65nm Conroe and Westmere Core 2 CPU's (up to E6700 and Q6700)... however, in some instances, Dell may lock down the BIOS to prevent the addition of Core 2 Duo chips... and the earliest models don't have the necessary voltage regulators on the motherboard designed to take a Core 2 Duo... your best shot if looking to get a 745 and upgrading it is aiming for a late-model production, the last of them you can find.

http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-Intel_(chipsets)/G965_Express.html

Forde3654Eire is offline  
post #16 of 109 (permalink) Old 11-24-2016, 07:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
frostbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Lancashire
Posts: 4,149
Rep: 230 (Unique: 164)
I had a gx280 years ago, im sure it was a 2.8 p4 with a whole 40gb hdd and 1gb ram but the motherboard died.

I just won a gx620 with pentium d for £15, and Ill see how long this one lasts

Roads? Where We're Going, We Don't Need Roads!


frostbite is offline  
post #17 of 109 (permalink) Old 11-24-2016, 01:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
numberfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 269
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Mine Optiplex 755 is serving all my homeserver needs since 2007, it went from some ****ty celeron to E6550>E8200>E8500 and now its quad-core Xeon [email protected] (which costed me 17$) with 4 Gb of ram.
It is small, quiet and powerful enough.
numberfive is offline  
post #18 of 109 (permalink) Old 11-25-2016, 02:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Forde3654Eire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UAE
Posts: 412
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostbite View Post

I had a gx280 years ago, im sure it was a 2.8 p4 with a whole 40gb hdd and 1gb ram but the motherboard died.

I just won a gx620 with pentium d for £15, and Ill see how long this one lasts
The 945G chipset on your GX620 should support the 65nm Core 2 Duo (Conroe)... update your Dell to the latest BIOS and see if you can get a Pentium E2160 or Core 2 Duo E6600 from your local CEX store, either one can be had for about 1 pound.
Quote:
Originally Posted by numberfive View Post

Mine Optiplex 755 is serving all my homeserver needs since 2007, it went from some ****ty celeron to E6550>E8200>E8500 and now its quad-core Xeon [email protected] (which costed me 17$) with 4 Gb of ram.
It is small, quiet and powerful enough.
That's fantastic! I have a 780 that originally came with a wimpy Pentium E5300 to an E8400... then a friend gave me his E8600 from an older system... and now 4GB of RAM as well! Did you use the 771 to 775 mod with the sticker on the pins to make the Xeon work in your Dell?

Forde3654Eire is offline  
post #19 of 109 (permalink) Old 11-25-2016, 03:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
numberfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 269
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
That's fantastic! I have a 780 that originally came with a wimpy Pentium E5300 to an E8400... then a friend gave me his E8600 from an older system... and now 4GB of RAM as well! Did you use the 771 to 775 mod with the sticker on the pins to make the Xeon work in your Dell?
I've got modified version from aliexprees, they have both the one with sticker and the one with sort of solder connecting the pins - plug and go.
2nd one works perfectly for me. Keep in mind that your chipset will not support xeon 5xxx series.
numberfive is offline  
post #20 of 109 (permalink) Old 11-25-2016, 05:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
frostbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Lancashire
Posts: 4,149
Rep: 230 (Unique: 164)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forde3654Eire View Post

The 945G chipset on your GX620 should support the 65nm Core 2 Duo (Conroe)... update your Dell to the latest BIOS and see if you can get a Pentium E2160 or Core 2 Duo E6600 from your local CEX store, either one can be had for about 1 pound.
That's fantastic! I have a 780 that originally came with a wimpy Pentium E5300 to an E8400... then a friend gave me his E8600 from an older system... and now 4GB of RAM as well! Did you use the 771 to 775 mod with the sticker on the pins to make the Xeon work in your Dell?



I dont want this for speed, it will hopefuly be my retro game machine if I can work out how to install xp

Roads? Where We're Going, We Don't Need Roads!


frostbite is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off