The Dell Optiplex Thread - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The Dell Optiplex Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-22-2017, 05:30 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 819
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
That's probably a limitation in the BIOS/chipset that you can't edit. All of those settings are usually hidden and BIOS only lets you view what the ram is running at.redface.gif

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-28-2017, 07:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
frostbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Lancashire
Posts: 4,150
Rep: 230 (Unique: 164)
I have found pentium d 915 for $2.50 (bargain for 2mb cache)

when I replace the 820, will I need to change anything?

no suggesting a 940 for 3.4ghz, I am limited to the external 200w psu

on a side note, I found the mystry cable cover for the usff case
its for when the case is mounted behind the monitor and the cables are exposed

Now I need to find a dvi to vga +dvi splitter so I can have the projector connected at the same time

Roads? Where We're Going, We Don't Need Roads!


frostbite is offline  
post #43 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-28-2017, 07:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
numberfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 367
Rep: 10 (Unique: 6)
my [email protected] with clocked GTX 1060 is consuming around 180w while gaming, 100-110w while browsing.
my optiplex 755 with less than 200w psu is running on quad-core xeon clocked.
numberfive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-28-2017, 07:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
frostbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Lancashire
Posts: 4,150
Rep: 230 (Unique: 164)
Quote:
Originally Posted by numberfive View Post

my [email protected] with clocked GTX 1060 is consuming around 180w while gaming, 100-110w while browsing.
my optiplex 755 with less than 200w psu is running on quad-core xeon clocked.

How is that helpful?

my pentium d needs 130w to work, the power brick is 200w and is not exchangable (dell proprietary 8 pin)

Roads? Where We're Going, We Don't Need Roads!


frostbite is offline  
post #45 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-28-2017, 08:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
numberfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 367
Rep: 10 (Unique: 6)
if clocked 4-core cpu can run below 200w, why would 2-core pentium D not?
numberfive is offline  
post #46 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-28-2017, 08:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
frostbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Lancashire
Posts: 4,150
Rep: 230 (Unique: 164)
Because its over ten years old and uses cave man technology

It is effectively two pentium 4's under the ihs, it needs lots of power and makes lots of heat

Roads? Where We're Going, We Don't Need Roads!


frostbite is offline  
post #47 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-28-2017, 08:47 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 819
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
It might work! But you would be pushing the limits perhaps. It's hard to know unless you put it in and plug it into a Watts-Up or some other power draw measurement tool.

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
post #48 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-28-2017, 08:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
frostbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Lancashire
Posts: 4,150
Rep: 230 (Unique: 164)
Ive been on the dell forums looking for answers but alas the usff is limited to the 915. the sff and up can have the 3.4ghz PD and the modified heatpipe cooler (wont fit in the usff chassis)

Back to the original question,

Those dell geeks say it needs a bios update and others say if put the chip in it will update itself

what should I do, wait for it to arrive then try it?

Roads? Where We're Going, We Don't Need Roads!


frostbite is offline  
post #49 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-28-2017, 09:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
numberfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 367
Rep: 10 (Unique: 6)
cmon, the whole platform is 10 year old, including xeons and Q series. released in 2006-2008
numberfive is offline  
post #50 of 109 (permalink) Old 02-28-2017, 09:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
frostbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Lancashire
Posts: 4,150
Rep: 230 (Unique: 164)
Quote:
Originally Posted by numberfive View Post

cmon, the whole platform is 10 year old, including xeons and Q series. released in 2006-2008

Yes really im talking pre 2005, the netburst architecture was that bad intel designed the core mirco to be power efficient to what we have now at less clock cycles
pentium 4 = high clock + heat / low performance
core micro = low clock less heat / high performance
core i = high clock less heat / high performance

You just have to google netburst vs core and you will see

Roads? Where We're Going, We Don't Need Roads!


frostbite is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off