The Dell Optiplex Thread - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The Dell Optiplex Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 109 (permalink) Old 05-31-2016, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Account Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 272
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
The Optiplex series was designed to be compact, affordable and easily serviceable. This made it a very popular (and reliable) product for many businesses and corporations. More than likely a school or library in your area uses Optiplex computers, and they are very easy to notice because of their design.



But the interesting thing about them is that they have been around so long that many models have dropped in price the few years, and are still useful or even maybe collectible if you want to cling on to the days you and your nerdy friends would stay after school in the library and have LAN parties. Or maybe that was just me.
This thread is for tracking the prices and providing information on Optiplex PCs, discussion of other EOL prebuilts here is encouraged too. Any helpful information about the Optiplex series will be added to the thread.

[model name] - [notes]
[supported CPUs] (brackets around the included CPU)
[supported RAM], [included RAM]

GX620 - very typical model. It's pretty abundant on government surplus sites. It must have been a government issued model that flooded online very recently (probably last week or so). I wouldn't pay over $20 USD.
[Pentium 4], Pentium D, Celeron (LGA775)
Max 4gb DDR2 533/667 (3.5gb usable) included 512mb

755 - not a very common model but not a bad one either.
[Core 2 Duo]/Quad, Celeron
Max 4/8gb DDR2 667/800, included 2gb

760 - memory controller allows it to utilize DDR3 or DDR2. Very common model, $25 USD is a good deal for this one
[Core 2 Duo]/Quad, Celeron
Max 16gb DDR3 800/1066, DDR2 667/800, included 4gb (DDR2)

780 - only utilizes DDR3, almost as common as the 760. 25-30$
[Core 2 Duo]/Quad, Pentium Dual Core, Celeron
Max 16gb DDR3 1066/1333, included 4gb

960 - also seen a couple of these on government surplus sites at a cheap price. Definitely not a bad deal under $30 USD.
[Core 2 Duo]/Quad
Max 8gb DDR2 800, included 4-8gb

General info:
If a price isn't listed, then the price wasn't convenient enough to be listed.
If you want to submit info for this thread please PM it to me and please use the thread format when applicable.
I will make the thread look nicer soon.

Thread is open for discussion.
Account Banned is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 02:14 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
I bought one of those with a Q9400 CPU. Added a 120 gig SSD, a 1 TB spinner, and a Radeon 5450. It's a screamer!
Streams HD video and runs Solidworks.

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 02:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DADDYDC650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,447
Rep: 141 (Unique: 99)
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbartuska View Post

I bought one of those with a Q9400 CPU. Added a 120 gig SSD, a 1 TB spinner, and a Radeon 5450. It's a screamer!
Streams HD video and runs Solidworks.
What do you think of this? http://www.ebay.com/itm/262579088086
Do you fear that the PSU will crap out and you'll be left in the dust since the mobo uses non-standard cables?

DADDYDC650 is offline  
post #5 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 02:34 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DADDYDC650 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by billbartuska View Post

I bought one of those with a Q9400 CPU. Added a 120 gig SSD, a 1 TB spinner, and a Radeon 5450. It's a screamer!
Streams HD video and runs Solidworks.
What do you think of this? http://www.ebay.com/itm/262579088086
Do you fear that the PSU will crap out and you'll be left in the dust since the mobo uses non-standard cables?
That's the same one in you first link.

That price is reasonable.

As for the PSU, you can get a Standard to Dell PSU adapter cable off of Ali Express for less than $5 and use any PSU you want to.
Of course fitting a non Dell PSU into a Dell case is problematic, leaving the PSU external is a simple fix.

But then the beauty of the Optiplex line is that they last forever.

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #6 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 03:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DADDYDC650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,447
Rep: 141 (Unique: 99)
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbartuska View Post

That's the same one in you first link.

That price is reasonable.

As for the PSU, you can get a Standard to Dell PSU adapter cable off of Ali Express for less than $5 and use any PSU you want to.
Of course fitting a non Dell PSU into a Dell case is problematic, leaving the PSU external is a simple fix.

But then the beauty of the Optiplex line is that they last forever.
I know I'm asking for a lot but can you hook me up with a link to a pre-built rig featuring a q9550 or q9650? Or perhaps point me to a nice motherboard for a q9650 and compatible and reliable PSU? My head hurts trying to put together a build for my brother and parents at the same time.

BTW, I already own a kit of 4 x 2GB 800mhz ddr2.

DADDYDC650 is offline  
post #7 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 03:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gladi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 115
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Can you actually upgrade the CPU in these?
Gladi is offline  
post #8 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 05:25 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gladi View Post

Can you actually upgrade the CPU in these?
Why would you think you couldn't? You can put in any CPU that Dell sold then with.

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #9 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 05:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gladi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 115
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hm they could have put mainboard with onboard cpu in them no?
Then you can not upgrade the cpu...
Gladi is offline  
post #10 of 109 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 05:30 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DADDYDC650 View Post

...can you hook me up with a link to a pre-built rig featuring a q9550 or q9650? Or perhaps point me to a nice motherboard for a q9650 and compatible and reliable PSU?.
In a word, no. I have no desire to shop eBay, Craigs List and Good will (online) for someone else. I spend enough time doing it for myself.

All I can tell you is Dells use a lot of proprietary parts so be careful mixing and matching Dells with non Dell parts.

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off