Help upgrading PC - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help upgrading PC

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 07:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BCMitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Does anyone know any good, simple guides to help me upgrade things in my PC such as RSM, graphics card, etc? Also, where would be the best place to buy these things.

My computer is an HP Touch smart 9100 by the way, if that helps at all
BCMitch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 07:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Radnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,274
Rep: 178 (Unique: 134)
That's an all in one PC, I don't think it can be upgraded. Whats the purpose of the upgrade?
Radnad is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BCMitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
To make it a bit better for gaming. If it can't be upgraded, that's fine though
BCMitch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 11:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Radnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,274
Rep: 178 (Unique: 134)
Depending on your budget you could always build a little gaming rig. What game do you play?
Radnad is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BCMitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radnad View Post

Depending on your budget you could always build a little gaming rig. What game do you play?
Right now, nothing too Mich, but I wouldn't mind being able to play a few newer games such as Star Wars Battlefield
BCMitch is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-08-2016, 05:19 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 800
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
All in one's are tricky to upgrade. Some of thise models use laptop parts that are very integrated. You could swap in an SSD after cloning your hard drive to it. It's possible you could bump up your ram. Do a scan on crucial.com to find out the availability. Or hey, I will sell u one of my rigs if u like!

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-11-2016, 07:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xeonical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigceeloc View Post

All in one's are tricky to upgrade. Some of thise models use laptop parts that are very integrated. You could swap in an SSD after cloning your hard drive to it. It's possible you could bump up your ram. Do a scan on crucial.com to find out the availability. Or hey, I will sell u one of my rigs if u like!
Exactly why I stay away from prebuilt PC'S

PC specs: OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit GPU: GTX 570 HD 1280 MB | RAM: G skill RipJaws X 12 GB 1866 MHZ
CPU Intel core i5 750 2.6 GHZ ( will soon overclock) | case: Lancool DragonLord PC K62 | Motherboard : EVGA P55 FTW
Storage : 128 GB Kingston SSD Now, WD Caviar Black 640 GB | Monitor : ASUS MS series | mouse : Saitek GM3200
PSU; OCZ EliteXstream 1000 watt I know I dont need this I got a good deal on it. | Keyboard : Microsoft Digital Media Pro
microphone : Blue Snowball ( my CPU is also watercooled)______________________
Laptop specs : OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit | Intel core i5 430M | Nvidia GT 330M | WD Caviar Black 750 GB
4 GB ram
xeonical is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-15-2016, 05:22 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 800
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
Exactly, a prebuilt pc such as an all-in-one can work in an environment when you are on an upgrade schedule anyway, such as a corporation or something. Also, it can work if your software needs never change, like, you don't want to upgrade anything software wise or keep up with trends. So in production environments, this can work. Otherwise, things can be frustrating in terms of wanting to do "cheap" upgrades to a prebuilt machine.

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-01-2016, 08:42 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 800
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
How about you post the make and model of your machine? I am curious to see the specs.

*edit*
Woops saw the HP Touchsmart 9100 up above.

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-01-2016, 08:54 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 800
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
Here ya go. Crucial upgrades!
http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for/HP-Compaq/touchsmart-9100

Also, it is rare, but some laptop hardware All-in-ones have removal graphics cards. I doubt this is the case with yours though.

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off