my boss told me to select a new office PC but I know nothing about computers--help? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

my boss told me to select a new office PC but I know nothing about computers--help?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-01-2016, 09:43 AM
Eh, Wha?
 
Zero4549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,874
Rep: 716 (Unique: 531)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigceeloc View Post

I just did most of what Zero said above to a Dell Precision T3500. It runs great now! I've got Solidworks on it as well and am using two 27" acer IPS monitors, and two older dell 17" monitors.

Glad I could help. thumb.gif

Systems: Fukurou | Prodigy | Tempest | ArcaneServers: Minecraft SMP | Logs: Build Log - Arcane | Video Logs: Project Arcane
Quote:Originally Posted by Zen00 https://www.overclock.net/img/forum/go_quote.gifZero, you are a master story teller, I am sleep now. http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif
Arcane
(33 items)
Sanctum
(9 items)
Fukurou
(14 items)
CPU
Core i7 980x
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080TI DUKE
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning
RAM
Kingston HyperX T1
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black FASS
Hard Drive
Plextor M5S
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Hard Drive
WD FALS
Optical Drive
Sony DVD Burner w/ Lightscribe
Optical Drive
LG Bluray + HDDVD
Power Supply
EVGA 1000 P2
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 360
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 240
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro (64)
Monitor
X-Star DP2710
Monitor
ASUS VK266H Black 25.5" 2ms LCD
Keyboard
X-Armor U9BL (Mech)
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mouse
Cougar Control
Audio
ATH-A900X
Audio
Maudio AV-40
Audio
Polk PSW-10
Audio
Zalman Mic-1 (Clip-on Mic)
Audio
Sound Blaster X7 LE
Other
Logitech G13
Other
Wacom Intuos 3
Other
Modded PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, and Logitech PC Controllers
Other
Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS
Other
Rocketfish 720p Webcam
Other
Scythe "3-Foot Switch"
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
MSI B350M Mortar Arctic
GPU
RX Vega 64
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Consatellation
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1050
Case
Raijintek Aeneas White Window
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Core i5-661
Motherboard
GA-H55-USB3
RAM
12GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black AALS 640GB
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Green EARS 2TB
Hard Drive
Vertex Turbo 60GB (SSD)
Optical Drive
Samsung Blu-ray, Samsung DVD Burner
Power Supply
Seasonic X750 Gold
Cooling
H50 (With push/pull nocturas)
Case
CM690 II
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional 64
Monitor
LG 47inch LED LCD
Keyboard
Saitek Eclipse Lite-touch Wireless
Audio
Passive bookshelfspeakers + amp.
▲ hide details ▲


Zero4549 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-01-2016, 09:43 AM
I might have tacos tonite
 
Crazy9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 22,272
Rep: 489 (Unique: 344)
Just in case more people look at this thread-

Solidworks is mostly single thread, so you want something like an i7-6700 CPU. I wouldn't recommend an AMD, the extra cores won't be used, and the single core performance will slow things down.

A workstation GPU also does nothing on a normal workflow, so I don't recommend getting one unless you are doing tons of renders. They will be faster doing the photo realistic rendering, so if you do that enough it could be worth the price... but a workstation GPU will likely cost more then the rest of the PC, so you'll need to be doing the renders at least weekly.

The other thing to look for would be a good SSD. I would recommend getting one of the NVME drives.

Crazy9000 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-01-2016, 10:44 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 800
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero4549 View Post

Glad I could help. thumb.gif

Lol, well I did it before I saw your post, but you and I were on the same thought train! I put in an SSD as my OS drive and put the former primary drive as my secondary. I also grabbed a nicer Xeon off of ebay to put in it and maxed the ram out to 24GB. She performs like a champ for most anything I need to do.

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-02-2016, 05:45 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 800
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy9000 View Post

Just in case more people look at this thread-

Solidworks is mostly single thread, so you want something like an i7-6700 CPU. I wouldn't recommend an AMD, the extra cores won't be used, and the single core performance will slow things down.

A workstation GPU also does nothing on a normal workflow, so I don't recommend getting one unless you are doing tons of renders. They will be faster doing the photo realistic rendering, so if you do that enough it could be worth the price... but a workstation GPU will likely cost more then the rest of the PC, so you'll need to be doing the renders at least weekly.

The other thing to look for would be a good SSD. I would recommend getting one of the NVME drives.

Yes, I would second the idea of using a consumer gpu instead of a workstation gpu unless you need the Compute power for renders or other Compute tasks.
The cooling alone seems to be better on higher end consumer cards than on lower and mid grade workstation cards. my Quadro 600s hover in the 60s and 70s C* for no reason it seems like.

So are you going with something like a Dell Precision or Lenovo Thinkstation, OP?

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off