my boss told me to select a new office PC but I know nothing about computers--help? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

my boss told me to select a new office PC but I know nothing about computers--help?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-28-2016, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
itsthecarrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hello people, I just heard about this site and I'm excited to use this place as a learning tool!

My boss gave me the privilege of selecting a new office computer for myself but I hardly know anything about PCs and so I am hoping to get some help in finding the right fit. I am looking to buy something off the shelf--a prebuilt PC.

Couple things:

It's for an office, so I will be connected to a server and will often have multiple window open, think docs., spreadsheets, folders, and web browsers plus email

needs to be capable of operating Solidworks, 8 GB RAM, min 5GB disk space, intel or AMS with SSE2 support

CD drive

WiFi capability would be nice, but not a must

I am not going to game on it or do photo editing, just basic simple office stuff plus SolidWorks.

Thanks a bunch guys!!

Budget: let's see our options first
itsthecarrot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-28-2016, 03:28 PM
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kepler-69c
Posts: 591
Are you looking to build or buy prebuilt? And is there a price range.
OrangeRaptor is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-28-2016, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
itsthecarrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Prebuilt, please.

As of right now I do not have a budget. But the price needs to be something reasonable, after all my boss will be approving this purchase.
itsthecarrot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-28-2016, 03:40 PM
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kepler-69c
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsthecarrot View Post

Prebuilt, please.

As of right now I do not have a budget. But the price needs to be something reasonable, after all my boss will be approving this purchase.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16883798804 Everything you need, and includes a keyboard and mouse.
OrangeRaptor is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-28-2016, 03:47 PM
semi-legit
 
candy_van's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: omnipresent
Posts: 7,973
Rep: 800 (Unique: 619)
If you don't have a set budget then just get a something from Dell's Optiplex series with a good business warranty.

- aesthetics are subjective and opinions are like posterior orifices -
Stugots III
(18 items)
CPU
i7 3770K @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus V Gene
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Ti
RAM
2 x 8GB G.Skill 2133 MHz
Hard Drive
250GB Samsung 850-EVO
Hard Drive
1TB WD Blue SSD
Hard Drive
1TB WD Blue EZEX
Hard Drive
2TB Samsung Spinpoint F2
Power Supply
Seasonic X-560W
Cooling
H100i + NB Pros
Case
Fractal Arc Mini
Operating System
Win 10 x64 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2716DG
Keyboard
Filco Majistouch I
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Audio
JDS Labs Element
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro (250)
Audio
Audioengine A2s + A8
▲ hide details ▲


candy_van is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-28-2016, 03:51 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6,635
Rep: 485 (Unique: 408)
I would definitely look for something with an SSD.

Edit:

Solidworks requires a workstation class GPU? Seems like it. What version of Solidworks are you using?

Amusingly a gaming PC will probably cost less. smile.gif

Refurbished: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA4GH46X9790 $610
New: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883285597 $1830

Checkout my DOSBox LIVEusb - https://sites.google.com/site/dosboxdistro/
Retrogaming made portable.

PassMark System Score: Passmark Rating 5,710, CPU Mark 19,985CPU-Z Validation: LINK AIDA64: LINKCinebench15: LINK Geekbench3 scores: LINK Geekbench4.1 scores: LINKUserBenchmarks: CPU: 105.5%, GPU: 111.7% MEM: 127.9%
BinaryDemon is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-28-2016, 04:11 PM
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kepler-69c
Posts: 591
You can also get a system with a nVidia quadro. Those are good for autocad and programs like that. Dont know about solid works tho.
OrangeRaptor is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 03:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ruthlessgk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
If it's not too late. Where i am contracting we have HP Z840 for use with Solidedge etc. Our old ones used to be big old Dell's with the Quadro GFX card.
Depends on what your designing and the rendering times etc and also what's acceptable to your business/boss

Zaff

Ruthlessgk is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 03:28 PM
Eh, Wha?
 
Zero4549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,877
Rep: 716 (Unique: 531)
If you can manage to fit it in your boss's budget, get something with a recent Intel I7 CPU (X99 would be best), 16 GB or more DDR4, a higher end Nvidia Quadro, and at least one SSD as a boot drive (storage can be on the same SSD if it is large enough, a second SSD, or even a traditional HDD).

Everything else is basically irrelevant for your usage, but those particular items will make a HUGE difference for your CAD work and multitasking.

If you have to start skimping, you can look into a high core count AMD CPU, which are weaker in some tasks but are still very powerful in programs that can leverage all the cores (I believe solidworks is one such program) and multitasking, and it will also drop your RAM down a tier to cheaper DDR3.

You can also look into an AMD Fire Pro (or whatever they just rebranded those into. Can't remember off the top of my head). Check it is fully compatible with all your software first, as some professional software is CUDA reliant.

If you are willing to install a SSD after you buy the machine, that is usually much cheaper than buying it included, and is very easy to do.

Oh, and big bonus points if you can get a nice high resolution IPS monitor to go with it (unless you already have a couple). High resolutions and wide viewing angles are lovely for work productivity, multitasking, and ease of use for pro software. Adding additional monitors has a similar effect, so even if you already have one OK or good monitor, adding another can still be a good investment.

Systems: Fukurou | Prodigy | Tempest | ArcaneServers: Minecraft SMP | Logs: Build Log - Arcane | Video Logs: Project Arcane
Quote:Originally Posted by Zen00 https://www.overclock.net/img/forum/go_quote.gifZero, you are a master story teller, I am sleep now. http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif
Arcane
(33 items)
Sanctum
(9 items)
Fukurou
(14 items)
CPU
Core i7 980x
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080TI DUKE
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning
RAM
Kingston HyperX T1
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black FASS
Hard Drive
Plextor M5S
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Hard Drive
WD FALS
Optical Drive
Sony DVD Burner w/ Lightscribe
Optical Drive
LG Bluray + HDDVD
Power Supply
EVGA 1000 P2
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 360
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 240
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro (64)
Monitor
X-Star DP2710
Monitor
ASUS VK266H Black 25.5" 2ms LCD
Keyboard
X-Armor U9BL (Mech)
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mouse
Cougar Control
Audio
ATH-A900X
Audio
Maudio AV-40
Audio
Polk PSW-10
Audio
Zalman Mic-1 (Clip-on Mic)
Audio
Sound Blaster X7 LE
Other
Logitech G13
Other
Wacom Intuos 3
Other
Modded PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, and Logitech PC Controllers
Other
Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS
Other
Rocketfish 720p Webcam
Other
Scythe "3-Foot Switch"
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
MSI B350M Mortar Arctic
GPU
RX Vega 64
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Consatellation
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1050
Case
Raijintek Aeneas White Window
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Core i5-661
Motherboard
GA-H55-USB3
RAM
12GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black AALS 640GB
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Green EARS 2TB
Hard Drive
Vertex Turbo 60GB (SSD)
Optical Drive
Samsung Blu-ray, Samsung DVD Burner
Power Supply
Seasonic X750 Gold
Cooling
H50 (With push/pull nocturas)
Case
CM690 II
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional 64
Monitor
LG 47inch LED LCD
Keyboard
Saitek Eclipse Lite-touch Wireless
Audio
Passive bookshelfspeakers + amp.
▲ hide details ▲


Zero4549 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-01-2016, 09:12 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 800
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
I just did most of what Zero said above to a Dell Precision T3500. It runs great now! I've got Solidworks on it as well and am using two 27" acer IPS monitors, and two older dell 17" monitors.

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off