Can this old Dell Optiplex take a new PSU? It's standard ATX. - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Can this old Dell Optiplex take a new PSU? It's standard ATX.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 03:20 PM
I like computers
 
Aaron_Henderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7,546
Rep: 309 (Unique: 251)
This is from memory, and not very recent, but I am pretty sure if you have a pin-remover, you can just pull the cables with pins out the back of the connector on the motherboard side and re-insert them into the Dell pin-out order. Again, double check this, all from memory...but I believe the blue wire is not necessary at all on the Dell pin-out...adapter is the easy way to go, but waiting on stuff like that can suck...if you don't mind how it looks and have no pin-remover tool, you can even just splice and solder the wires in the correct order...

* Dell T3500 motherboard - Xeon W3570 3.86-4.0Ghz - 10GB RAM - Gigabyte R9 290X Windforce 4GB - Corsair Carbide Spec-01 - Corsair CX600 - CoolIt ECO 120 AIO - Corsair 120GB SSD - 1TB HDD - Corsair Katar - QCK+ Limited - Ajazz AK33 - Acer H233H 71Hz 1080P 75Hz 720P - Kinter MA-170 - Yamaha 6" monitors

* HP Z400 motherboard - Xeon W3565 3.45GHz - 8GB RAM - Gigabyte GTX 770 Windforce 2GB - DeepCool Dukase White - Corsair VS450 - DeepCool Gammaxx 300 - 256GB SSD - 320GB HDD
Aaron_Henderson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Edge Of Pain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK ッ
Posts: 1,527
Rep: 70 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbartuska View Post

Are you sure?

Here's my Dell Optipley 780 (Desktop) with a PC Power & Cooling 1 Kw PSU connected.




I might be being silly here, but I don't know what to make of the second picture. That doesn't look like an Optiplex 780 motherboard. That looks like a normal PC motherboard.

Edge Of Pain is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 06:12 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge Of Pain View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by billbartuska View Post

Are you sure?

Here's my Dell Optipley 780 (Desktop) with a PC Power & Cooling 1 Kw PSU connected.

I might be being silly here, but I don't know what to make of the second picture. That doesn't look like an Optiplex 780 motherboard. That looks like a normal PC motherboard.

You are correct. I was looking at a whole bunch of pics and saw the DDR3 and jumped to the assumption that was my 780motherboard. It's actually an Asus M5A99X Evo R2 board.

Looks like I fell victim to my own tag line.................

Misinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong.

I was looking for pics because I don't remember what the power connector was for the 780 board. I won't be back to my ship fro 10 days or so, but I'll check then and upload pics of what I did to get it running with a regular ATX PSU then.

Sorry for the confusion!

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Edge Of Pain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK ッ
Posts: 1,527
Rep: 70 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbartuska View Post

You are correct. I was looking at a whole bunch of pics and saw the DDR3 and jumped to the assumption that was my 780motherboard. It's actually an Asus M5A99X Evo R2 board.

Looks like I fell victim to my own tag line.................

Misinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong.

I was looking for pics because I don't remember what the power connector was for the 780 board. I won't be back to my ship fro 10 days or so, but I'll check then and upload pics of what I did to get it running with a regular ATX PSU then.

Sorry for the confusion!

No problem. And thanks everyone for the advice!

Edge Of Pain is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off