HELP, need to decide fast! Alienware Area 51 TR vs Custom Built? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HELP, need to decide fast! Alienware Area 51 TR vs Custom Built?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 128
Rep: 0
You are right, here are the specs:


Area 51 R3

Processor

AMD Ryzen™ Threadripper 1950X (16-Core, 40MB Cache, Overclocked up to 3.6GHz on all cores)

Operating System

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit English

Chassis Options

Alienware™ 850 Watt Multi-GPU Approved Power Supply with modular cabling [80 Plus Bronze Efficiency]

Video Card

NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti with 11GB GDDR5X

Memory

32GB Dual Channel DDR4 at 2666MHz; up to 64GB (additional memory sold separately)

Hard Drive

512GB M.2 PCIe SSD (Boot) + 2TB 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s (Storage)

Optical Drive

Slot-Loading Dual-Layer DVD Burner (DVD±RW)

Wireless

Killer 1535 802.11ac 2x2 WiFi and Bluetooth 4.2
pser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 01:21 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
SavantStrike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Still Breathing, United States
Posts: 2,302
Rep: 97 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pser View Post

Thanks for the insights, all valid points.
Two things to consider though: you still need to take care of the issue by yourself and waste time on the shipping side, which in case of a business is a deal breaker. Also, the warranty on the parts is usually 1 year (maybe 2 at most?). With Dell I'm getting 4 years warranty, on the support
and
the parts.

Now a rather important question. The PSU on the Alienware is 850w and the computer can mount up to 3 video cards, which made me think I should go with a higher PSU. The strange thing is that adding one more card to the configuration doesn't give me any warning about the PSU, so it goes with the 850w. I called Dell and they confirmed the PSU is enough. Isn't that strange? I knew with two video cards I would need at least 1000w.

Two 1080 TIs with a 1950x would fit inside 850W at stock clocks, but I wouldn't recommend it for a workstation.

SavantStrike is offline  
post #13 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 128
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SavantStrike View Post

Two 1080 TIs with a 1950x would fit inside 850W at stock clocks, but I wouldn't recommend it for a workstation.

Mh... That's the thing, I thought I would need a higher PSU.
pser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 02:21 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
SavantStrike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Still Breathing, United States
Posts: 2,302
Rep: 97 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pser View Post

Mh... That's the thing, I thought I would need a higher PSU.

I just wouldn't trust them to put a quality unit in, so add 20 percent to what you need so it's not being thrashed during long work sessions.

SavantStrike is offline  
post #15 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 128
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SavantStrike View Post

I just wouldn't trust them to put a quality unit in, so add 20 percent to what you need so it's not being thrashed during long work sessions.

Totally, but that's the annoying part: I can't upgrade the PSU which is dumb, especially because I remember the video from hot hardware with a bigger PSU unit.
pser is offline  
post #16 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 04:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zer0CoolX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: US
Posts: 786
Rep: 52 (Unique: 43)
"Cinema 4D + X-Particles + Arnold, Blender 3D, Adobe CC, Affinity Photo & Designer, Blackmagic DaVinci Resolve & Fusion, 3Ds Max"

Wouldnt these apps benefit from a workstation class GPU vs a gaming GPU?

Have you looked at any workstation PC's with similar specs? I did a quick search and it does appear most use Intel CPU's though you may be able to find AMD TR based ones if you search for them. You may consider a custom built one from any of the many vendors who make custom builds (I know you could do it yourself for less, but again the extra money is for warranty/support).

I mention this as workstation GPU's like quadro offer the added benefit of drivers tailored to give the best results using software like you are using. Thats why they are usually more expensive for what seems like (and is) often less hardware.
Zer0CoolX is offline  
post #17 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 05:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mumford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 154
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
850w is enough with no overclocking. I imagine the Dell bios may not even allow you to overclock. However, TR runs best with Ram overclocks and runs at 3200 mhz.
mumford is offline  
post #18 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 128
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumford View Post

850w is enough with no overclocking. I imagine the Dell bios may not even allow you to overclock. However, TR runs best with Ram overclocks and runs at 3200 mhz.

Thanks for the info, mumford.
Compared to the specs I posted above, how much would you say is the difference with the overclock you mentioned? 10, 20% faster?
pser is offline  
post #19 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 06:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mumford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 154
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
mumford is offline  
post #20 of 45 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
pser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 128
Rep: 0
Doing some research, it seems alienware tr comes already overclocked.
pser is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off