My pc turns off... - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My pc turns off...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
khrystoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
My pc turns off...

Hi, since yesterday my PC just turns off randomly, it happened one time yesterday and today happened again. I didn't do anything strange but yesterday I just installed CRU to overclock my monitor and I think i screwed it up because my screen turned black so I restarted the PC several times with the power button until Windows just let me choose to get into safe mode and then I just uninstalled graphic drivers with DDU, installed again and restarted but somehow my computer just shut down randomly... Can anyone help me?

My config: i5-6500, GTX 970, H170M-PLUS, ANTEC HCG 520w.

Thanks...

Last edited by khrystoff; 12-07-2018 at 06:38 AM.
khrystoff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 06:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
profundido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 562
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
Time for a new power supply, a decent one this time please...
profundido is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
khrystoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
That means I screwed my PS yesterday? but how?

And sorry, this is my PS: http://store.antec.com/highcurrentgamer/hcg-520m.html

Isn't decent?
khrystoff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 07:51 AM
Blessed to Serve
 
Bigceeloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 819
Rep: 15 (Unique: 9)
So did you uninstall that CRU software after setting your monitor back to defaults? Also, I'm not sure how you would overclock a monitor from your computer. Do you get into Windows at all?

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7
Bigceeloc is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
khrystoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
Hi, yes. After restarting the PC manually several times Windows let me get into the troubleshooting tool to enter with safe mode and uninstall NVIDIA drivers with DDU so I assumed that by doing this the monitor went to default because now its on 60hz again, then I just removed CRU.

Im typing from the PC and all seems ok except for the randomly shut down (it happened one time today, so far...)
khrystoff is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
khrystoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
Hi, the computer just restarted two consecutive times... the second time just pop up this message:

https://imgur.com/a/ZdoNY7g

Any ideas? Greetings
khrystoff is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 07:27 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,737
Rep: 1099 (Unique: 636)
How "good" it was is irrelevant, it can still break. That error message seems to line up with the suggestion of new PSU.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,068
Rep: 385 (Unique: 275)
Quote: Originally Posted by khrystoff View Post
Hi, the computer just restarted two consecutive times... the second time just pop up this message:

https://imgur.com/a/ZdoNY7g

Any ideas? Greetings
Unplug *ALL* power supply cables and connections from the computer, video card, everything.
Dust, clean and plug everything back in carefully one at a time.
Test.
If the problem happens again, remove that power supply from the computer and do not use it again, and buy something decent and reputable.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 08:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kd5151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa,FL
Posts: 3,176
Rep: 134 (Unique: 104)
What psu would you recommend? Seasonic focus gold series.
kd5151 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
khrystoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
I will try some things before changing my PSU, as Falkentyne suggested.

1. Change the cable (a few months it sounded like a dead short)
2. Clean the PC completey, plug and unplug again all the cables, RAM, GPU. etc)
3. Format again and install everything from 0
4. Test ram.
4. See how it works

Im 100% sure that the problem happened after I tried to OC the monitor, the CRU program did something bad to my PSU.

Wanna just make sure before buying a new one...
khrystoff is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off