[Complete] Red Alert SR1 - Chopped CM Storm Scout with 360 top radiator - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Complete] Red Alert SR1 - Chopped CM Storm Scout with 360 top radiator

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-09-2011, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Shadow_Foxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: KY
Posts: 2,060
Rep: 76 (Unique: 58)
RedAlertBannerRedo.jpg

Whats with the name? The name was chosen as a tribute to my two most influential games. The first one is Command & Conquer: Red Alert on PC (yes the 90's version). It was the first PC game I remember enjoying and it had a big impact on me. I would play the game all day when I was 7 or 8 on my Gateway desktop. The thing probly only had 128mb of RAM and dial up tongue.gif. The second game is Mass Effect on X360, this is where the SR1 came from (the name of Shepard's ship is the Normandy SR1). I love this game due to the great story, the immersive environment, and the many different paths that one can take.

Current Status:
IMAG0639.jpg

Phase 1 Completion pics: (See page 6 for the final pics of the watercooling!)
IMG_1206.jpg
IMG_1242.jpg
IMAG0192.jpg


Alright folks, this mod is effectively on hold for at least a very long time. Lugging this 75 pound beast back and forth between college and home was becoming too big of a hassle. I love this computer very much as it was my first mod, but I have sold all of the components except one of the 6950s, and will be moving the an itx platform now, as well as intel I plan to make a much more professional worklog with better pictures etc. for the next round. Thanks to all those who followed, I really appreciate the support, hopefully my next mod will be bigger (smaller?) and better than ever! thumb.gif


Hey everyone!

I am a new member here. I have been looking at these forums for a while but just recently decided to join, here is my first major contribution! I have had my Cooler Master Storm Scout for a about 6 months now, and I love it! I had already done some modding to it, such as moving the hard drive cage over to accomodate the beasty 6950. I have also recently become interested in doing a full custom watercooling setup in my rig. One problem: I dont think a few 120.1 radiators are gonna work to cool my 955 and that 6950! Sooo, with the help of my brother, my dad's tool collection, and some dumb luck, I will attempt to mod the Scout in order to accomodate a 360mm radiator. Suggestions are welcome, this is my first mod project. biggrin.gif I know my hardware may not be the epitome of performance, but cut me a break; im a 20 year old college student wink.gif. For the specs of my rig, you can check out my sig. In advance, I apologize for the subpar picture quality, they have so far been taken with my droid incredible and my not so steady hand. In the words of Captain Tenneal of MXC "Geeeet it on!" wheee.gif
Hmmm...will they fit? We shall see!
IMAG0150.jpg

The disassembly is complete, dremeltime! thumb.gif
IMAG0164.jpg
Shadow_Foxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 02:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SkitzoPhr3nia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Duncan America
Posts: 377
Rep: 25 (Unique: 18)
Keep it up! I am also a super broke 20 year-old college student. Modding without money or they proper tools makes it 10x more frustrating but the pay off is awesome when you can say "I made that". I find old old computer case and practice panting, cutting, ect. I still haven't quite got the courage to remove pop rivets yet lol. I dont have the money to fix what i break or buy new. YOUTUBE IS YOUR FRIEND lol. Watch other people mess it up so you dont.

-=]░▒▓███ [Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club ███▓▒░[=-


"When I joined the corp, we only had sticks - two sticks and a rock for a whole platoon, and we had to share the rock!"

SkitzoPhr3nia is offline  
post #3 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Shadow_Foxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: KY
Posts: 2,060
Rep: 76 (Unique: 58)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkitzoPhr3nia;14165802 
Keep it up! I am also a super broke 20 year-old college student. Modding without money or they proper tools makes it 10x more frustrating but the pay off is awesome when you can say "I made that". I find old old computer case and practice panting, cutting, ect. I still haven't quite got the courage to remove pop rivets yet lol. I dont have the money to fix what i break or buy new. YOUTUBE IS YOUR FRIEND lol. Watch other people mess it up so you dont.

Thanks for the advice mate! Thankfully I have most of the proper tools and I am not totally broke, so I have something to work with. As for the pop rivets, just get a sharp, 1/8th drill bit and they come out perfect! I learned that from youtube and used it on my hard drive cage! Hopefully i dont mess up too bad on anything tongue.gif Go for the rivets man thumb.gif
Shadow_Foxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 12:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SkitzoPhr3nia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Duncan America
Posts: 377
Rep: 25 (Unique: 18)
My problem with pop rivets isn't getting them out but putting new ones in lol. No tools for that.

-=]░▒▓███ [Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club ███▓▒░[=-


"When I joined the corp, we only had sticks - two sticks and a rock for a whole platoon, and we had to share the rock!"

SkitzoPhr3nia is offline  
post #5 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 01:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
willibj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,487
Rep: 154 (Unique: 134)
Just to think outside the box a little, you COULD get away with a 240mm rad up top and a 120mm rad where your H50 is now, or even just keep the H50 and mod it to work in your loop. That would be awesome. The 240mm up top should be able to handle your rig alone though. Just some thoughts, in case the 360mm doesn't fit or you decide it will become too messy and a 240mm would be cleaner. You could probably easily get a 280mm (2x140mm) rad up top too

CPU
Ryzen R5 1600x @ 3.95ghz
Motherboard
MSI x370 Gaming Pro Carbon (Bios 1.97)
GPU
8gb Zotac GTX1070ti AMP! (2050mhz/2250mhz)
RAM
16gb Team Dark Pro 3200mhz @ 14-14-14-22-36-256-1t
Hard Drive
250gb Samsung 960 Evo m2 NVMe
Hard Drive
3tb Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
500gb Crucial MX500
Power Supply
Seasonic S12ii 620w
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14 Redux
Case
NZXT S340 Elite White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Acer XR382CQK 38" IPS Ultrawide 3840x1600 @75hz
Keyboard
TeckNet X641 Mechanical
Mouse
SteelSeries Xai
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK
Audio
Alesis Elevate 5 Studio Monitors
Audio
HyperX Cloud Alpha
Audio
Line 6 UX1 audio interface
▲ hide details ▲
willibj is offline  
post #6 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Shadow_Foxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: KY
Posts: 2,060
Rep: 76 (Unique: 58)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkitzoPhr3nia;14168970 
My problem with pop rivets isn't getting them out but putting new ones in lol. No tools for that.
Oh I see, yes that would make things more difficult! I think they are pretty cheap, I just had one laying around, looked to be from the cold war era wink.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by willibj;14169563 
Just to think outside the box a little, you COULD get away with a 240mm rad up top and a 120mm rad where your H50 is now, or even just keep the H50 and mod it to work in your loop. That would be awesome. The 240mm up top should be able to handle your rig alone though. Just some thoughts, in case the 360mm doesn't fit or you decide it will become too messy and a 240mm would be cleaner. You could probably easily get a 280mm (2x140mm) rad up top too
What do you mean keep the H50 and mod it to work in the loop? These are interesting ideas, I wanna make sure it can handle two 6950s if I ever get a chance to crossfire them. Do you think a 280 would be enough for that? Thanks for the suggestions!
Shadow_Foxx is offline  
post #7 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 01:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
willibj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,487
Rep: 154 (Unique: 134)
People have modded their H50's to include an external reservior for it, keeping the temps down with more liquid. I hypothesize that you could incorporate the H50 into a custom loop.
https://www.overclock.net/water-cooling/647943-guide-h50-replace-tubes-res-mod.html

Ext. Pump > 240mm/280mm > H50 CPU (pump then through H50 rad) > GPU/'s > Ext. Pump

or maybe:

Ext. Pump > 240mm/280mm > GPU/'s > H50 CPU (pump then through H50 rad) > Ext. Pump

Would be a wickedly cool mod if you could pull it off.

I'm sure that such a loop could handle crossfire 6950's and PhII 955.

CPU
Ryzen R5 1600x @ 3.95ghz
Motherboard
MSI x370 Gaming Pro Carbon (Bios 1.97)
GPU
8gb Zotac GTX1070ti AMP! (2050mhz/2250mhz)
RAM
16gb Team Dark Pro 3200mhz @ 14-14-14-22-36-256-1t
Hard Drive
250gb Samsung 960 Evo m2 NVMe
Hard Drive
3tb Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
500gb Crucial MX500
Power Supply
Seasonic S12ii 620w
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14 Redux
Case
NZXT S340 Elite White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Acer XR382CQK 38" IPS Ultrawide 3840x1600 @75hz
Keyboard
TeckNet X641 Mechanical
Mouse
SteelSeries Xai
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK
Audio
Alesis Elevate 5 Studio Monitors
Audio
HyperX Cloud Alpha
Audio
Line 6 UX1 audio interface
▲ hide details ▲
willibj is offline  
post #8 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Shadow_Foxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: KY
Posts: 2,060
Rep: 76 (Unique: 58)
Quote:
Originally Posted by willibj;14169742 
People have modded their H50's to include an external reservior for it, keeping the temps down with more liquid. I hypothesize that you could incorporate the H50 into a custom loop.

Ext. Pump > 240mm/280mm > H50 CPU (pump then through H50 rad) > GPU/'s > Ext. Pump

or maybe:

Ext. Pump > 240mm/280mm > GPU/'s > H50 CPU (pump then through H50 rad) > Ext. Pump


Would be a wickedly cool mod if you could pull it off.

I'm sure that such a loop could handle crossfire 6950's and PhII 955.
This sounds like a hell of a project! Also, with the H50 and external pump in the same loop, wouldnt that cause problems with the different flow rates of the pumps? Another problem is that I already ordered the 360 shroud that I need... lol
Shadow_Foxx is offline  
post #9 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-11-2011, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Shadow_Foxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: KY
Posts: 2,060
Rep: 76 (Unique: 58)
Since there is not room for the fans AND the radiator at the top of the scout, I will be using the Koolance SHR-1020BK 3x120mm shroud to accomodate the fans. The angled sides of the shroud are just plastic that can she unscrewed, so after those are removed, it will just pretty much be a box. I will have to do some extra cutting to get it fitted onto the top of the scout. The mounting will be under the plastic top of the scout so it shouldnt show. at all.

The shroud


The before we get to this however, I will have to mod the top plastic parts, there are 2 separate parts. Here is what I have done so far:



Here is the piece of plastic that is in the center, we will need to cut out the center of this. Here is the beginning of the cut.



Here is the middle part that wont be needed:



Here are the two side pieces that need to be kept, they will go on either side of the shroud:



Here you can see which part of the plastic was cut. Here is what it looks like with just the sides inserted:


The next step will be to cut the other plastic piece so that we can actually get the shroud in there. Pretty good update id say! Feel free to throw out your suggestions or opinions! Happy modding!
Shadow_Foxx is offline  
post #10 of 73 (permalink) Old 07-11-2011, 09:20 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Thedark1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The state of T.......
Posts: 3,730
Rep: 159 (Unique: 133)
i might steal that idea of cutting the plastic where the fan is. Its kind of stupid to have 2 fan grills on one fan. Don't know why the would do that.

My Rig
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
GPU
Radeon HD6670
RAM
G Skill Flare X
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair RM750
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro RGB
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Special Edition
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
I-Inc iF-281DPB
▲ hide details ▲
Thedark1337 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off