[Build Log] M10 Camacho - Tri 680 SLI / Radiator in HVAC Return - Page 6 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] M10 Camacho - Tri 680 SLI / Radiator in HVAC Return

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #51 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-09-2012, 09:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
chmodlabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 898
Rep: 33 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChestySpankers View Post

Radiator install
400
400
It worked out pretty well....

It's really cool to finally see someone dump heat from a water cooling setup somewhere like this. Definitely the most elegant way to truly integrate a WC setup into your house.
- chmodlabs

Advanced cooling research @ Chmod Labs Austin
Current Build --> Core i7-2600k @ stock - ASUS Maximus Gene IV - Corsair H80i - EVGA GTX 670 2Gb - Patriot Viper 3 16Gb 1866Mhz Ram

And yes I was first to design and market a Antec Kuhler 620 GPU mount (it's better than dwood's!)
NOVEC 7000 is just really amazing stuff


chmodlabs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-09-2012, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ChestySpankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
ChestySpankers is offline  
post #53 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-09-2012, 09:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cpachris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 2,828
Rep: 228 (Unique: 158)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chmodlabs View Post

It's really cool to finally see someone dump heat from a water cooling setup somewhere like this. Definitely the most elegant way to truly integrate a WC setup into your house.
- chmodlabs

Agreed. Makes it seem kind of silly to stuff the radiators into the same case we are trying to cool! This setup makes a lot of sense.


Signature Worthy Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prathik7 go_quote.gif

if it annoys you so much please refrain from seeing it...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axis24 go_quote.gif

Ok so here is my report....IT AIN"T HAPPENING!
cpachris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-09-2012, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ChestySpankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
OP updated, I'm done for the night. I'll probably measure for Lutro0 tomorrow, the base is almost complete. The Simcraft Apex3 install is still a few weeks away...
ChestySpankers is offline  
post #55 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-10-2012, 03:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MikhailV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 190
Rep: 16 (Unique: 13)
I am considering on getting that ASUS board as well after all I've had great luck with their Crosshair IV/V boards. If you don't mind me asking how much do you think the whole build will pull? Close to 10k is my estimate, I just might do it if I don't convince myself to go for a dual cpu *nix workstation.
MikhailV is offline  
post #56 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-12-2012, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ChestySpankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikhailV View Post

I am considering on getting that ASUS board as well after all I've had great luck with their Crosshair IV/V boards. If you don't mind me asking how much do you think the whole build will pull? Close to 10k is my estimate, I just might do it if I don't convince myself to go for a dual cpu *nix workstation.

I'm not sure, and I'm not too concerned with it. I included pricing in the OP to help others evaluate their future builds. I looked at many other build logs (thank you to OCN members), but just researching pricing was a pain. The only substantial cost I have not included in the OP is for the hard fittings, which I now think is substantial.

BTW - I only put pricing in the OP because I thought it would have been helpful if others did so. It would have shortened my research for my build, so I hope my effort to do so helps others.
ChestySpankers is offline  
post #57 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-12-2012, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ChestySpankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
ChestySpankers is offline  
post #58 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ChestySpankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Small update:

Wired up and measured for new connections last night. I sent an order to Lutro0 for a quote.

Using stock wires makes from the Silverstone PSU and tri-sli makes for quite a mess, I didn't realize how much I would want to redo it.

I may think about putting some minimal lighting in, I have one plexiglass side on the M10. Perhaps the FC8 can be wired up to a light?
ChestySpankers is offline  
post #59 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-19-2012, 07:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ChestySpankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Leak testing the entire system together. Considering there is about 35 feet of total tubing, and even though I primed it, trying to pressurize it and keep the pumps from running dry has been a pain.

I put a 5 foot section of tubing onto the QD I have located to fill the reservoir to be able to try and keep up with the need to add water as the pumps spin up. After a few tries, the system is cycling now. The pumps are still a bit louder than usual and the right window is cloudy, I think this might take a while to get all the air out of the system.
ChestySpankers is offline  
post #60 of 97 (permalink) Old 05-20-2012, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ChestySpankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
The system seems to worked itself clean from any air overnight. Putting the two 24v pumps up to max does make some noise, so they are dialed back a bit.

Regarding wiring, I sent Lutro0 a request over a week ago, and haven't heard anything back. I presume he is too busy (something I have a problem with myself), are there other artisans that would be interested in doing custom cables for this build?
ChestySpankers is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off