[Build Log] Treaded Holes - CaseLabs Merlin ST10 w/c build - Z77X-UP7 - Page 17 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] Treaded Holes - CaseLabs Merlin ST10 w/c build - Z77X-UP7

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #161 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-03-2013, 12:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
freitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 2,104
Rep: 48 (Unique: 35)
Quote:
Originally Posted by socketus View Post

Ok, figured out how to put rectys into Ms. Paint

here's the layout I'm looking to do - I figure the more positive the betta wink.gif

I don't do colored arrows, you can figger out what's going on tongue.gif

any thoughts or questions, post em ! 480 monsta and 360 monsta, in a nearly anatomical proportionally correct representashun biggrin.gif


Im considering re-working mine to something similar nice positive pressure I just wonder if that is to much positive pressure.


EVODOT SM8 Build Log // Synology Owners Club // *Official* CaseLabs Owners Club! // CaseLabs MERLIN Owners Club //Corsair Graphite Club // OCN Water Cooling Club // EK Club
PC: I7 7700k // EVGA GTX TITAN X (pascal) // 32GB Dominators 2400 // ASUS 270G // CaseLabs BH4
Mac: Macbook 2015 Space Gray// Core M 1.3ghz // 512GB SSD // 8GB
CAMERA: Leica M240 // 35mm Summilux F1.4 FLE // 50 APO // Sony A7II
SYNOLOGY: DS1516+ // 2x 4TB WD RED NAS
freitz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #162 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-03-2013, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Rep: 112 (Unique: 84)
socketus is offline  
post #163 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-03-2013, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Rep: 112 (Unique: 84)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandrix View Post

Took a quick look at that OC guide you referenced. Offset voltage is mentioned, which my preferred method of 24/7 OC since the cpu will idle with low volts, as long as EIST etc are enabled.
Offset voltage is a way of applying vcore!

Usually the goal is to pick a target OC, then through one method or another get the vcore to the lowest possible while having a stable system. IOW, you don't need 1.5V for a 4.5 OC. Why run more volts through the cpu than you need to, right? Lower vcore = lower core temps, IOW.

Offset voltage and LLC (load line calibration) is one method, straight vcore is another. On Gigabyte boards to use offset, you set the vcore from "Auto" to "normal", then adjust the offset directly underneath that in the bios. Then you select what LLC you want/need to use on another page in the bios (Auto/standard/low/medium/high/turbo/extreme) and depending on how the board handles LLC it also controls how much droop you get.

I'll be back with some screenies.


for whatever reason I'm not able to get any screenshots from the bios. Not sure what is up with that. Ah, well, there's plenty on the internet.

ooh-ooh-ooh ! nice, thanks thumb.gif

Yah, I remember setting the offset voltage to .0005 .005 after setting the cpu voltage to offset mode, so I can increase the voltage by .0005 .005 increments, but the offset mode sign is set to + - which I take to mean the increments, if increased, are in positive steps, ie - more voltage. Currently this 2600k runs a 4.0Ghz oc @ 1.352V running a custom 1 minute prime95 number. I've seen lower voltage #s on other similar builds ... and wondered how that's possible.
socketus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #164 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-03-2013, 05:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,218
Rep: 170 (Unique: 116)
Well it's possible you could run a negative offset voltage to get that 4.0. Heck, with the UP7 and 3770K you can probably get 4.4 without touching anything. Once past that it starts eating more vcore.
I run +.015 offset on one of my 3770K's and +.010 on the other, both with medium LLC for 4.5. But it's very cpu dependent as to what voltage you end up using. Unlike some people, I don't mind some droop as long as it passes stress testing with no WHEA errors. I never disable any of the C states unless I'm going for a really high OC, I like the freq and volts to idle down.

Back to the super bowl.......

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
post #165 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-03-2013, 07:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zooty Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 257
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Looks like you are pushing heat into the case.
Zooty Cat is offline  
post #166 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-03-2013, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Rep: 112 (Unique: 84)
Really ? looks like heat ? um, that was sized to the case size, tho its not exact, so I didn't have room to put in the arrows above - I plan to run both rads in push pull, intaking air. That's an unknown to me, not sure how you'd measure its performance without running a Martin's Liquid Lab wink.gif

So after putting the gear in running order - make sure it all works !! - I had a spare heatsink and ever since I first saw one on OCN last year, I've wanted to try this one out.











Yah, that has to qualify as the fugliest cable runs in CL history. Ima getting on it, like the Man says wink.gif
socketus is offline  
post #167 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 04:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,218
Rep: 170 (Unique: 116)
I ran my Switch with the top rad (RX360) in push/pull blowing out for months. When I pulled it all down for cleaning a few days ago and to swap motherboards, I reversed it and intake air from outside and blow in the case. The EX240 on the bottom pulls air from underneath push only and blows into the case. Two 140mm intake fans in the front, and only a single 140 in the rear pulling air out.
Honestly, I can't tell any big difference, but it's sort of case dependent. PCH temps might be a little better.

What does the ST10 have, 13 flex bays?

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
post #168 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Rep: 112 (Unique: 84)
Hmm, you run your Switch everyday ? curious, hadn't thought of running top and bottom as intakes. Prolly not going to run any bottom fans at all in this build. The ST10 has 4 triples and 2 singles = 14 bays ! lotta bays !
socketus is offline  
post #169 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 01:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Addiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pearl City, Hawaii
Posts: 786
Rep: 82 (Unique: 57)
Quote:
Originally Posted by socketus View Post

Exactly. I dunno. Not sure what is TOO MUCH Positive pressure. After seeing Addiction's changes, its got me thinking.


You could do it either way to be honest, Socketus. I don't think you can really have "too much" positive pressure IMO. I mean, the more positive pressure you have, the more the air will just be "pushed" out through all the crevices in the case. As long as you have proper ventilation in your case, physics will take care of the rest. tongue.gif The reason I have been going back and forth between the full positive pressure and the layout I just posted yesterday to do a split, is simply to have more rad space...nothing less, nothing more. I'm just thinking more into the future what would work with my build better for when I add a pedestal and more 480 rads. Looking good so far though, keep up the good work my man. thumb.gif
Addiction is offline  
post #170 of 535 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Rep: 112 (Unique: 84)
Thank ya thank ya ! Yah, I'm trying to figure out the compromise that will allow me to use shrouds up top with the 480 without adding the 120mm top, tho it wouldn't be all that bad. I'm trying to keep this build as a desktop sitter. 27" of it, yah !!

So maybe the top rad is only fanned with 1 set - pull - so that would be from the top down -

fans - 25mm
shrouds - 31mm
rad - 85 or 86mm

that would use 141 or 142mm - with 152mm of space, that works ! That will leave me with 2 single bays .. for fc x 2. Just now updating windows, single 256g Samsung 830
socketus is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off