[Build Log] Treaded Holes - CaseLabs Merlin ST10 w/c build - Z77X-UP7 - Page 8 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] Treaded Holes - CaseLabs Merlin ST10 w/c build - Z77X-UP7

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #71 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Rep: 112 (Unique: 84)
CPU and Ram came in today - you can see what I'm going for with the look of this ram. A little fun with filling the wrong slots in a 2 stick config - wanna see the orange show its hue before its all covered up tongue.gif

I'm gonna have to start tripodding to get the best detailed shots ... and need more light !!











socketus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 08:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
freitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 2,104
Rep: 48 (Unique: 35)
What camera are you using and what settings pictures look very clear?


EVODOT SM8 Build Log // Synology Owners Club // *Official* CaseLabs Owners Club! // CaseLabs MERLIN Owners Club //Corsair Graphite Club // OCN Water Cooling Club // EK Club
PC: I7 7700k // EVGA GTX TITAN X (pascal) // 32GB Dominators 2400 // ASUS 270G // CaseLabs BH4
Mac: Macbook 2015 Space Gray// Core M 1.3ghz // 512GB SSD // 8GB
CAMERA: Leica M240 // 35mm Summilux F1.4 FLE // 50 APO // Sony A7II
SYNOLOGY: DS1516+ // 2x 4TB WD RED NAS
freitz is offline  
post #73 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Rep: 112 (Unique: 84)
Rebel t3i - non-flash mode - its auto stabilization helps - if I'd used the tripod, and taken more time, those pix would be just that much sharper. I need to get more lamps out with the daytime fluo bulbs - I got em, just haven't done it yet. In otherwords, I can see the limitations of my foto shooting and its encouraging me to consider the fixes. I'm short of room - so far, I'm just shooting the case and items on the table top it all sits on in the l.room. The cam has the standard 18-55mm lens, very nice coming from a $150 canon p&s.
socketus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #74 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 09:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Addiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pearl City, Hawaii
Posts: 786
Rep: 82 (Unique: 57)
I have that same Ram. If your board is anything like my G1 Sniper 3, Socketus, you will have to do manual Ram OC's. XMP doesn't work with my Mushkin on my board. Different boards, so you may not have to do what I have too. It isn't on the "supported memory list", not that it usually matters.
Addiction is offline  
post #75 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Rep: 112 (Unique: 84)
Yah, I had a minor concern about it not being on the QVL for this board, but I luv the look of it. So ... I gotta manually oc it - that's gonna be a first. I've done the XMP setup on 1 or 2 other builds ... very nice how that works, thanks for the info +rep

Remember when Mushkin was like a word from heaven ? I mean, who could afford it ? hoping that it works great
socketus is offline  
post #76 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-08-2013, 09:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Addiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pearl City, Hawaii
Posts: 786
Rep: 82 (Unique: 57)
Quote:
Originally Posted by socketus View Post

Yah, I had a minor concern about it not being on the QVL for this board, but I luv the look of it. So ... I gotta manually oc it - that's gonna be a first. I've done the XMP setup on 1 or 2 other builds ... very nice how that works, thanks for the info +rep
Remember when Mushkin was like a word from heaven ? I mean, who could afford it ? hoping that it works great


Oh I still love it, it is definitely great memory. And I went with the same one you did for the same reason...I think it looks amazing. thumb.gif In a world where everyone goes with Corsair Vengeance (which is in my backup rig though tongue.gif) and Corsair Dominator Platinum, you and I dare to be different! Haha, not really, but we can say it anyways. I actually saw this ram in NewHighScore's amazing MSI Mpower build, and it looked outstanding so I just had to give it a try.


As for manually OC'ing the memory, it isn't too terribly challenging if you are just going for the 1600Mhz that it is rated for (like I did). Even if you run into problems, at least these forums have a multitude of knowledgeable people to help get you where you want. thumb.gif
Addiction is offline  
post #77 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 05:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,218
Rep: 170 (Unique: 116)
Interesting choice of RAM. Still don't see many people using Mushkin for some reason.
I guess I am one of the few people that has never owned or used any Corsair RAM. I love the performance of my G Skill 2400 but the red just doesn't match anything in my builds very well. I also have some Samsung Green but there again it's pretty bare looking.
This time around I decided to go with the Kingston, both because it usually works well with Gigabyte boards, and for the look/color.

My camera is a Canon Powershot SX150, definitely not a high end camera but I bought it mainly because I got a good price at the time. I have a short tripod but wish I had bought a tall one. I end up balancing the camera on a piece of furniture most of the time. My wife bought me a couple of led lights with clamps from Lowes and I've replaced a few light bulbs with the daylight type since the yellow light makes the white case look so awful.

Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
post #78 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 06:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
freitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 2,104
Rep: 48 (Unique: 35)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandrix View Post

Interesting choice of RAM. Still don't see many people using Mushkin for some reason.
I guess I am one of the few people that has never owned or used any Corsair RAM. I love the performance of my G Skill 2400 but the red just doesn't match anything in my builds very well. I also have some Samsung Green but there again it's pretty bare looking.
This time around I decided to go with the Kingston, both because it usually works well with Gigabyte boards, and for the look/color.
My camera is a Canon Powershot SX150, definitely not a high end camera but I bought it mainly because I got a good price at the time. I have a short tripod but wish I had bought a tall one. I end up balancing the camera on a piece of furniture most of the time. My wife bought me a couple of led lights with clamps from Lowes and I've replaced a few light bulbs with the daylight type since the yellow light makes the white case look so awful.

I should have replaced my bulbs notice all of my pictures have a yellowish tint (also could be because of the paint on the walls reflecting off). However the White case with a yellow tint looks awful.


EVODOT SM8 Build Log // Synology Owners Club // *Official* CaseLabs Owners Club! // CaseLabs MERLIN Owners Club //Corsair Graphite Club // OCN Water Cooling Club // EK Club
PC: I7 7700k // EVGA GTX TITAN X (pascal) // 32GB Dominators 2400 // ASUS 270G // CaseLabs BH4
Mac: Macbook 2015 Space Gray// Core M 1.3ghz // 512GB SSD // 8GB
CAMERA: Leica M240 // 35mm Summilux F1.4 FLE // 50 APO // Sony A7II
SYNOLOGY: DS1516+ // 2x 4TB WD RED NAS
freitz is offline  
post #79 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
socketus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kaw River Valley
Posts: 3,003
Rep: 112 (Unique: 84)
I considered buying your model, Mandrix - the other week, but I caved in and went the expensive route on the T3i - coz its commonly referred to, and once you look at the other cams in that performance range, its the Rebel with the best price by a long shot.

As for the memory, good to know that Kingston works with Gigabyte - sole reason I bought the Mushkin is for its looks, like Freitz says.

As for yellow lights and tripods, have you noticed Father Fuzzy's shots ? low level lighting, always seems to be a golden/yellow lighting - I don't know what his setup is - but I found my tripod on newegg discounted to $39.99 and went for it - its a 3' or so tripod - worked great on the p&s cam - have yet to use a tripod on the Rebel but once or twice. I need more lighting - cpachris has a rig using white sheeting - I could do that - and I have a coupla gooseneck lamps and a few extra 5500K daylite fluo bulbs that I could use for more light. You can see the shadows in the case from my last fotos - I want to get that fully lit look. Just have to do it.
socketus is offline  
post #80 of 535 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 11:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
freitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 2,104
Rep: 48 (Unique: 35)
Have to get a Light box. They are cheap on newegg. 48x48x48 only 60$ Then get a lamp on either side and one coming down from the top.

(Or use the caselabs box to make your own light box I think I have info on a how to in my thread)


EVODOT SM8 Build Log // Synology Owners Club // *Official* CaseLabs Owners Club! // CaseLabs MERLIN Owners Club //Corsair Graphite Club // OCN Water Cooling Club // EK Club
PC: I7 7700k // EVGA GTX TITAN X (pascal) // 32GB Dominators 2400 // ASUS 270G // CaseLabs BH4
Mac: Macbook 2015 Space Gray// Core M 1.3ghz // 512GB SSD // 8GB
CAMERA: Leica M240 // 35mm Summilux F1.4 FLE // 50 APO // Sony A7II
SYNOLOGY: DS1516+ // 2x 4TB WD RED NAS
freitz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off