[BUILD LOG] S C O U T 2 G T R - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[BUILD LOG] S C O U T 2 G T R

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Quote:
So i decided to make a build log since i have invested in a decent amount of materials, hardware, and tools to work on my rigs.
Quote:
Little bit about me, been gaming daily since i was 8, moved to pc when i was 20, went pro in two games at 25, went to paris for the Electronic Sports World Cup in 2006, Worked with valve on CS:S, Worked with the warsow team a bit, worked on quake 3 cpma extensively with the lead programmer for about 4 years, worked with him on quakelive for a month or two overseeing something that they may have missed, managed to get a few of my mods implemented into quakelive and some ideas for quake 5.

But when it comes to hardware, i've been a noob until i joined this forum in January and i went all in... atleast i thought i did.
More specific data and parts list can be found in the Scout 2 GTR rig builder page

Added an AX860 for proper power, 1x SP120 fan, 2133 CL9 Corsair Dominator, removed the red velcro straps and screws. Carbon fiber vinyl'd crossfire connectors, carbon fiber I/O Box, seperated the GPU's, removed network card and sound card. also removed the NZXT touch screen fan controller.

Then two sapphire 7950s for a sweet crossfire setup.

After abusing the crap out of xtreme3 with an 8120 and an 8350 i finally nuked it lol. so i bought a crosshair v formula z.

these are the settings of the asrock 990fx when it died. Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
8350 at 4.7 1.47v
235fsb
Nb 23xx at 1.3v
Ht at 2580
LLC disabled with ht and nb set to 1.25v each
Every power saving disabled
All with cl9 ripsaws x 1600 9 9 9 1.5v at 1:4
Also most likely under powered with an ax650 psu with 7950 crossfire so there may have been a surge in voltage to fry a vrm or another component.