HELIOS - ASSEMBLED 2015-SEP-06 - (Caselabs SMH10 | Black/Copper | EVGA SR-2 Black Edition) - Page 28 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HELIOS - ASSEMBLED 2015-SEP-06 - (Caselabs SMH10 | Black/Copper | EVGA SR-2 Black Edition)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-09-2015, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
alpenwasser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 557
Rep: 41 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgtuning View Post

Thank you for the input. I was just curious. I was using Mint for a while. I like it but I'm a windows person. Every once in a while I tinker around with it. I'd love to fully jump into Linux just can't seem to get there.

I've been using Linux almost exclusively since about 2007~2008 or so, and am very happy with it,
and Windows just isn't really for me anymore, but yeah, I get that for most people it's probably the
other way around.

But I don't really game anymore (well, I have a PS3, but last time I turned that on was like two years
ago or so), which makes abstaining from Windows a whole lot easier though.

Plus, I know many people say that "Linux is easy if you choose the right distro" or something like
that, but honestly, I have invested a lot of time over the years into reading documentation and stuff
like that. I'm not necessarily talking about troubleshooting, just reading up on how to get something
done. And not everyone might have the time for that, or the desire, or both.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgtuning View Post

Edit... So yeah I just noticed you have two 560's in the bottom. Wow! Both 45mm thick?

Haha, yup, I do indeed. They're HWLabs SR-1s. So, 55.9 mm thick according to HWLabs, though
only a 33 mm core according to xtremerigs' review. Since I'm running my fans at ~450~650 rpm
they seemed like the natural choice at the time of purchase (which was back in 2013).

Reason I have the Alphacool in the roof is that the HWLabs would have cost me one more PCIe
slot, and I wanted to keep one open in case I decided to install a RAID controller or something
like that. The XT45 performed very well at low fan speeds in Martin's review, so I went with that.
I've thought about replacing the roof rad with something sexier like an XSPC or an EKWB, but
so far the urge hasn't been strong enough justify spending the money. biggrin.gif


EDIT: I'm still working on temp measurements and such, but as a preliminary note: Having dual
560s and a 480... not as ridiculous as one might think when running the fans as low as I do.
alpenwasser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-09-2015, 07:15 AM
Gamer
 
kgtuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,896
Rep: 106 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpenwasser View Post

I've been using Linux almost exclusively since about 2007~2008 or so, and am very happy with it,
and Windows just isn't really for me anymore, but yeah, I get that for most people it's probably the
other way around.

But I don't really game anymore (well, I have a PS3, but last time I turned that on was like two years
ago or so), which makes abstaining from Windows a whole lot easier though.

Plus, I know many people say that "Linux is easy if you choose the right distro" or something like
that, but honestly, I have invested a lot of time over the years into reading documentation and stuff
like that. I'm not necessarily talking about troubleshooting, just reading up on how to get something
done. And not everyone might have the time for that, or the desire, or both.
Haha, yup, I do indeed. They're HWLabs SR-1s. So, 55.9 mm thick according to HWLabs, though
only a 33 mm core according to xtremerigs' review. Since I'm running my fans at ~450~650 rpm
they seemed like the natural choice at the time of purchase (which was back in 2013).

Reason I have the Alphacool in the roof is that the HWLabs would have cost me one more PCIe
slot, and I wanted to keep one open in case I decided to install a RAID controller or something
like that. The XT45 performed very well at low fan speeds in Martin's review, so I went with that.
I've thought about replacing the roof rad with something sexier like an XSPC or an EKWB, but
so far the urge hasn't been strong enough justify spending the money. biggrin.gif


EDIT: I'm still working on temp measurements and such, but as a preliminary note: Having dual
560s and a 480... not as ridiculous as one might think when running the fans as low as I do.

I go through phases... Solely Windows then randomly I'll pick up a distro a few times a year. My "gaming" rig stays on Windows but my laptop could have Linux or windows, currently running W10. But it seems I have that itch again. Ha-ha already downloaded Arch, maybe I'll just run it in a VM. It may sound funny but I want to like Linux so much but just haven't been able to make that jump. Anyways, two 560's and a 480... That's just awesome. So how much space do you have between the lower radiators? 60mm or so I'm guessing. But I'm assuming both are in push/pull.

mITX
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
kgtuning is offline  
post #273 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-09-2015, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
alpenwasser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 557
Rep: 41 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgtuning View Post

I go through phases... Solely Windows then randomly I'll pick up a distro a few times a year. My "gaming" rig stays on Windows but my laptop could have Linux or windows, currently running W10. But it seems I have that itch again. Ha-ha already downloaded Arch, maybe I'll just run it in a VM. It may sound funny but I want to like Linux so much but just haven't been able to make that jump.

Yeah, making that jump is not always as easy as it might seem. I've been able to do it because I've
had the time and inclination to do all the work required, but it does require some effort. Putting Arch
in a VM sounds like a pretty reasonable approach, especially if you're not that experienced with it.

Oh and if you run into trouble, feel free to ask. I can't promise I'll be able to help, but I have a few
years of Arch under my belt, so hopefully I won't be completely useless. biggrin.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgtuning View Post

Anyways, two 560's and a 480... That's just awesome. So how much space do you have between the lower radiators? 60mm or so I'm guessing. But I'm assuming both are in push/pull.

Just push. I didn't really think it made much sense to go P/P with such a low-density radiator with
such a thin core, and according to the xtremerigs review, that seems to be about right. For me, the
added cost wasn't really worth the comparatively small performance gain.

Space between them is ~105 mm or so (bit tricky to measure accurately with everything bolted
together). So in theory, I could mount a second PSU between those radiators. It'd basically just
be like running the PSU in a bit of a hotbox (temperature inside the bottom compartment is about
42 C at the moment with the fans at ~650 rpm), so as long as I don't overdo it with the load and pick
a decent unit it would still work. Though it's not exactly what I'd call an ideal solution I will admit. biggrin.gif
alpenwasser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-09-2015, 07:58 AM
Gamer
 
kgtuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,896
Rep: 106 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpenwasser View Post

Yeah, making that jump is not always as easy as it might seem. I've been able to do it because I've
had the time and inclination to do all the work required, but it does require some effort. Putting Arch
in a VM sounds like a pretty reasonable approach, especially if you're not that experienced with it.

Oh and if you run into trouble, feel free to ask. I can't promise I'll be able to help, but I have a few
years of Arch under my belt, so hopefully I won't be completely useless. biggrin.gif
Just push. I didn't really think it made much sense to go P/P with such a low-density radiator with
such a thin core, and according to the xtremerigs review, that seems to be about right. For me, the
added cost wasn't really worth the comparatively small performance gain.

Space between them is ~105 mm or so (bit tricky to measure accurately with everything bolted
together). So in theory, I could mount a second PSU between those radiators. It'd basically just
be like running the PSU in a bit of a hotbox (temperature inside the bottom compartment is about
42 C at the moment with the fans at ~650 rpm), so as long as I don't overdo it with the load and pick
a decent unit it would still work. Though it's not exactly what I'd call an ideal solution I will admit. biggrin.gif

I guess I'm just in search of my "ideal" distro. We will see what happens.

Those 560's in push makes sense. You give me horrible ideas... Ha-ha

I appreciate you offering to help with Linux.

mITX
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
kgtuning is offline  
post #275 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-09-2015, 08:19 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
alpenwasser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 557
Rep: 41 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgtuning View Post

I guess I'm just in search of my "ideal" distro. We will see what happens.

Oh, I know that pain. I was on Ubuntu from 2007 until spring 2011, when they brought out Unity. I wasn't
inherently as averse to their ideas as many others seemed to be, but at that point it was just too buggy and
immature for me to use, so I started looking around for alternatives, and eventually settled on Arch.

But as said, if you want to find something with which you'll be truly happy there aren't really any shortcuts
since it's a lot about personal preference, not just technological matters, and you can't really make an informed
decision on that except by just trying things out until you find something which suits you.

Best of luck then! thumb.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgtuning View Post


Those 560's in push makes sense. You give me horrible ideas... Ha-ha

"alpenwasser - bringing horrible ideas to a mind near you since the alpen have been wassering." Muhahahaha! devil.gif

But yeah, I do rather like those dual 560s in the basement. Makes me feel like I'm actually using
the space in this case (well, the SR-2's monstrous dimensions help with that too). I'm actually
pretty happy with the space usage in the build overall. It's not super stuffed, but I also never felt
like I needed to add "filling" material just so that the case won't look empty (for example those
two reservoirs which we so often see in SMA8 builds, with which I find no fault, but as we discussed
elsewhere if I remember right they are a pretty common sight these days).
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgtuning View Post


I appreciate you offering to help with Linux.

No problem, as you can probably tell I am rather passionate about the subject. biggrin.gif
alpenwasser is offline  
post #276 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-09-2015, 08:36 AM
Gamer
 
kgtuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,896
Rep: 106 (Unique: 64)
Being passionate about something is what makes life great!

mITX
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
kgtuning is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off