Caselabs SM8 Snot Box - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Caselabs SM8 Snot Box

post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-20-2013, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Several of you folks asked for a work log of this case so I'm going to try to do that and hopefully this is the right area to post it.

I am an amateur. I learned how to build computers from You Tube videos. I ran into a lot of mods while browsing and decided to give it a try. This was my first build, not quite a mod

I got the fever at this point and ideas started floating. I watched a lot of Singularity computers on You Tube and I liked that dude's builds. I liked the Silverstone TJ11 because of the orientation on the graphics cards. I priced it and then I found Caselabs. I thought that with the SM8 this thing could be stripped down to just a frame and rebuilt the way I wanted it, just like the TJ11. I gathered all the info I could off the internet about the SM8 and realized this will work. I got a sheet of white board and set it up scaled 1:1. I drew out the components to see how they would fit and placement and at this point dove right in with a purchase of the SM8.

To mod this project didn't take much at all. I bought 8ft of 3/8" aluminum angle stock, 6ft of 1" aluminum angle stock, some 6/32 screws and taps, some paint and primer, all which came from Home depot. I did have to go to a boutique source for the .093 6061 sheet of aluminum for the new mid panel

My case came assembled from Caselabs so I had to tear it down, which was good practice for putting this thing back together. Here is the pic of it in it's bare form. I only have the pic where I had already begun adding the angle pieces.