[Build Log] - Big Basic Folder (BBF) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] - Big Basic Folder (BBF)

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-01-2013, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Project Name: Big Basic Folder

General Talk:
This is my first build. I have always bought towards the top of the line from Gateway and Dell. I always had an interest in putting together my own rig, and wasn't super happy with my last Dell (630i) gaming machine. It was one of the last ones Dell built under the Dell name before they switched all gaming rigs to Alienware.

This build and pictures will NOT be near as fancy and as nice as most builds on overclock. But if nothing else, will help me learn how to do a build log and will keep it documented for myself and perhaps will encourage other builders to do a log even if there build isn't outstanding.

The mother board I'm using, Rampage IV Extreme black edition, isn't released yet, so it will be a while before I have all the parts to complete my build. So far, I only have the Haf X case and an optional top fan.

Goals for the Build
I hope to use it mostly for the folding project (and of course my points will go for overclock.net) and perhaps to a lesser extent the SETI project.

I also plan to play some Crysis 1,2,3. I played it some with the 630i, and really enjoyed the game play and awesome graphics.

Other Thoughts
Everyone is very welcome to comment on my build thread. I do wish to keep away from offensive comments however. For example, instead of "You are a XXX for having a X79 Mobo and not water cooling it". I'd much sooner have "You should really consider water cooling, its not too hard and would give your rig a lot of extra speed", etc....

Also, Idle chat is welcome as well, as long as it isn't against some policy on this forum for build logs. I'm very new here yet, so not sure what is acceptable and what is not.

Pictures