[Build Log] "Acid Rain" Compact Splash #054 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] "Acid Rain" Compact Splash #054

post #1 of 71 (permalink) Old 12-07-2013, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Compact Splash #054 Acid Rain

Hello all, and welcome to my first build log! I am very excited to have gotten my hands on one of She Loved E's designed mini-itx cases. A Compact Splash, number 054/105. biggrin.gif

A little history first. I've been building rigs for about 5 years now, mainly for friends and family. I finally built my own rig almost three years ago. It consisted of a NZXT Phantom, EVGA X58 Mobo, i7 950, and SLI GTX 470's. I loved that thing and it served it purpose while I had it. However, it was large, noisy, and hot. With the release of Haswell and the GTX 700 series, I decided it was time to upgrade. Well after going back and forth a lot about what I wanted to do, I ended up with an i5 3570k and a GTX 770 in a Bitfenix Prodigy around July of this year. This is what she looked like last month before I tore her down.

Awesome little case but after completing this build I discovered this site and all its awesome Build Logs. Well sufficient to say I was blown away and immediately went into modding my case. I'm the type of person that strives to be unique as possible with my stuff, especially when it comes to computers, and especially my car. LOL. biggrin.gif Well as much I loved my Prodigy I wanted something even smaller. I love the philosophy of cramming as much power into the smallest form factor. This is when I stumbled across SLE's Splash scratch build. It was love at first site and I immediately joined the wait-list to purchase one of these beauties.

Well as of December 2, 2013, I am the proud owner of Compact Splash #054. It will be arriving, according to USPS, on December 11.