[Build Log] Home Server - Penny - Node 304 | ASRock Z87E-ITX | i5-4430 | 11TB - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] Home Server - Penny - Node 304 | ASRock Z87E-ITX | i5-4430 | 11TB

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2014, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 52 (Unique: 43)
Introduction

This will be a build log for my Home Server. Named "Penny" after the character on "The Big Bang Theory" (Shes a "server" at the cheesecake factory). It will be primarily used as a storage and media server, but i will likely also setup a VM or 2 on it for testing and experimentation. I had been using an external 4 bay esata enclosure for about 1-2 years but it wasn't ideal as a centralized storage point. I also didn't want to have to fire up my gaming rig to stream movies. Actually within the last week or 2 i have had 2x 3TB Seagate HDD's die on me suddenly and lost all my movies and program installation media, fortunately i have my documents syncd to google drive and skydrive.

I considered many different configurations but finally got it worked out. Below is the parts list. Originally i was going to go with a AMD X4 740 and an A88x board but the 740 disappeared and i was reading reviews that Intel dual core CPU's packed the same punch and lower power usage. So i started checking out Intels dual core CPU's up to the i3-4130. I actually intended to buy that for this as i had ~$180 in best buy gift cards but it turned out they don't directly sell it, and i cant use the gift cards on "marketplace" items. At the time they didnt have any less expensive Haswell CPU's and the i5-4430 was the cheapest. Its a little over powered for my needs but it only ended up costing me like $20. It also allows me better handle VM's and transcoding.

Everything ordered, should have everything by the 12th.
Parts List (Click to show)
CPU: ................Intel Core i5-4430 3.0GHz Quad-Core Processor *Received