G3 Blue & White Case Mod. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

G3 Blue & White Case Mod.

post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Introduction:

My first computer was a Powerbook "Lombard" G3 in 2003. I moved on to a Quicksilver G4, a white Macbook "Core Duo", and now a 15" "Sandy Bridge" Macbook Pro. I'm currently a system admin who, while confident in things computer-related, is not much of a handyman. I'll be using a first generation Powermac G3 B&W. This machine was actually given to me by a friend whom I used to play Age of Empires II with as teen (on my Lombard) . Lots of sentimental value. Should be fun!

Plan: Dual, roof-mounted water coolers, floor-mounted PSU

Build:

ASRock H97M 1150
ASUS R9270 2GB
Core i3 3.5Ghz
Kingston 2x4GB
Corsair H55 & H90
Corsair CX600M
A few Samsung 830 SSDs

Swifttech Reservoir
Odds and ends include clear Tygon tubing, spring clamps, and coolant from FrozenCPU.

* Note * Since the radiators with these cheaper blocks are aluminum I got corrosion-resistant coolant.

The priority here was cost. List pricing (without the SSDs that I had lying around) comes to around $700. Got the lot for under $400, so... I'm happy.

Case!

Shot of components. Mobo still in the mail at this time... * sad face *

Always fun to see how far things have come in a decade or two.

Gutted.

Dumb and in my way

Naked!

Uncle's workshop. He was kind enough to continue using the word 'we' when he was clearly doing a majority of the work.

No way to keep the original latch with the size of radiators. I figured even if I eventually get one nice, long radiator down the road it still would barely fit. So out the lock comes!

More nubs. Always in the way.

Uncle's solution was infinitely better than mine. I'm learnin already...

Measure 11 times, cut once?

Cut 4 times...