[Build Log] "Winter Solstice" (Phanteks Enthoo Primo build) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] "Winter Solstice" (Phanteks Enthoo Primo build)

post #1 of 86 (permalink) Old 02-04-2015, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter
What's a computer?

Rep: 97 (Unique: 73)
A new year has come and for me that means I can finally start building my first custom loop.
For some of you who may know me this is no surprise, for anyone else I'm fairly new to the modding community at OCN. If you have seen me though it is fairly likely that you have seen my thread on AIO coolers for GPUs or in one of “The Mod” threads. This time though I'm doing a custom loop, which is for me a step up both in price and the amount of work needed.

Although it's my first build I figure I will do a more personally styled build this time then I have done before. And if you have seen my small build of a mounting bracket for AIOs on a GPU then this will be styled somewhat similarly. It's not without reason either that I use this style for my build, and the name is not chosen without reason either. I am not one for massive overclocks and I'm not an experienced case modder, what I am though is someone who hates noise. Thus it came only naturally for me to name this build after what I know as the most silent and cold time each year.

But that's enough about my that, lets get to the interesting stuff:

The hardware are less interesting but deserves to be mentioned: Click here! (Click to show)
CPU: Intel Core i5 3570k (Ivy Bridge)
Motherboard: Intel DZ77GAL-70K or Gigabyte Z77-D3H (depending on if the Intel board works or not)
Memmory: Kingston DDR3 HyperX 1600 MHz 16GB Black CL10, 2x8GB, The Gathering edition
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 "VAPOR-X OC” or hopefully a Radeon 390x/GTX 980Ti later on
Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo Black
PSU: EVGA Supernova P2 1000w (I know it's overkill, but I was planning Crossfire)
SSD 1: Crucial M4 128gb
SSD 2: Intel 520 240gb