HAF 912 Build - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HAF 912 Build

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-09-2015, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 11 (Unique: 6)
This started as a simple computer I made back in 2012 for Diabo 3. Since then, work has taken over and it plateaued for a good three years. My PSU died on me and I asked a friend what brand he preferred. He had an extra Raidmax 850w and a Titan Black lying around that he gave to me. Having these new toys made me rethink this build and have some fun with it. It originally started as "Let's just add a fan or two..." and grew from there. Below will be my build of my HAF912. I don't have a name for it...yet. If anyone has any comments please feel free to post. If I made a huge error and got lucky I didn't fry any components, please say something. This is my first build.

Specifications:
Case: Coolermaster HAF912
CPU: Intel I5-2500K
MoBo: Asus P8H67-M 3.0
GPU: GeForce Titan Black (originally a GeForce 550Ti
Ram: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1333mhz
Storage: a) 2x64GB SSD RAID[OS] b) 256GB Samsun Evo Pro[Games] c) 1TB WD Caviar Black[Stuff & Things]
Power: Raidmax 850w (originally a Raidmax 630w)
Cooling: Corsair H100i

This was my original system. Simple but effective. Nothing too over the top. Decent cable management. I really enjoy the HAF912.

So around November 2014 my PSU died. I heard a clicking noise while I was playing D3, I crawled under my desk to investigate and heard a loud bang and smelled something burning. I immediately shut everything down and assessed the damage. The fan seized up inside the PSU for some reason. I started shopping around and asked a family member what he prefers. I had in-laws visiting him so on the way back they dropped off a new Raidmax 850w and a Titan Black. I didn't even know what it was...I assumed when he said "I might have a GPU you can have." it would've been something similiar to my 4 year old 550Ti. I was stoked. So then the mod bug bit.