[Build Log] The Big Red "Devastator" CaseLabs THW10 - Custom Powder Coating - Page 34 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] The Big Red "Devastator" CaseLabs THW10 - Custom Powder Coating

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 517 (permalink) Old 06-17-2018, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler & Overclocker
 
Barefooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,374
Rep: 109 (Unique: 92)
Quote: Originally Posted by skingun View Post
Same issue here regards noise of the impeller. I put ended up putting two flow sensors in the loop. A impeller version and the MPS 400 which uses pressure differential to calculate flow. I used the impeller sensor to calibrate the pressure sensor then removed it from the loop.
It's kind of a ticking sound. I've have read comments that the noise subsides over time. I have the same flow meter in my daily driver rig and never hear it so I'm not too worried about it.


Quote: Originally Posted by HuguesP View Post
Just went thru more than one year of build log, beside the computer build wich is awesome, the work done on this log is also adding to the task for the benefit of the community, keep up!, this will become a reference log for sure!
Thanks and glad you are enjoying the log!


Barefooter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 517 (permalink) Old 06-17-2018, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler & Overclocker
 
Barefooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,374
Rep: 109 (Unique: 92)
More Tube Bending

I redid the tube from the lower radiator to the VRM block. I got rid of the extension in the lower radiator and went directly from the radiator to the two rotary 90s. This is the simplest connection with the least amount of fittings required. I actually like this one the best.




I also redid the VRM to CPU block tube, this one is much shorter.




One last look at the right reservoir tube with fittings on the 90° turn.




Here the lower tubing connecting the front radiator and lower radiator is removed as well as the tubing to the reservoir.




Originally these rotary 90s were directly in the reservoir, but I had to use a small pair of needle nose pliers to tighten the fittings because you can’t get your fingers in there. So I added a pair of 15mm extensions into the reservoir, and put the rotary 90s back in. Now it will be easier to install these tubes as well.




But before I get to the reservoir tubes I want to redo the bottom tube between the two radiators. Here’s how it looked before.




I removed the dual rotary on the front radiator and the extension and rotary 90 on the bottom radiator.






After making the 90° bend I gave it a slight bend inwards since the radiator ports do not line up. I got this one almost perfect on the first try, but had to adjust it slightly to keep the tube parallel with the radiator.




Here’s with the two new bent tubes into the reservoir.






Now let’s see how it looks without the flow indicator and just one piece from the front radiator to the bottom radiator.






@OCDesign I think you are right… it looks cleaner without the flow indicator double fitting contraption




I haven’t had the front pull fans on for a long time. I’ve left them off to make it easier to work on the wiring and plumbing. This will give a good look at how the lower half of this side will look. Imagine a bright clear red fluid in the tubing.










.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1620.JPG
Views:	574
Size:	7.07 MB
ID:	203396  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1622.JPG
Views:	578
Size:	6.90 MB
ID:	203398  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1624.JPG
Views:	582
Size:	7.44 MB
ID:	203400  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1627.JPG
Views:	579
Size:	7.32 MB
ID:	203402  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1634.JPG
Views:	597
Size:	5.69 MB
ID:	203404  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1577.JPG
Views:	587
Size:	6.89 MB
ID:	203406  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1637.JPG
Views:	577
Size:	7.13 MB
ID:	203408  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1640.JPG
Views:	569
Size:	6.86 MB
ID:	203410  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1642.JPG
Views:	606
Size:	6.28 MB
ID:	203412  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1655.JPG
Views:	552
Size:	6.97 MB
ID:	203414  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1657.JPG
Views:	559
Size:	6.83 MB
ID:	203416  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1715.JPG
Views:	579
Size:	7.00 MB
ID:	203418  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1718.JPG
Views:	578
Size:	6.29 MB
ID:	203420  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1726.JPG
Views:	554
Size:	6.92 MB
ID:	203422  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1731.JPG
Views:	564
Size:	7.37 MB
ID:	203424  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1733.JPG
Views:	579
Size:	7.40 MB
ID:	203426  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1743.JPG
Views:	578
Size:	6.33 MB
ID:	203428  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1744.JPG
Views:	587
Size:	7.42 MB
ID:	203430  




Last edited by Barefooter; 06-17-2018 at 02:05 PM.
Barefooter is offline  
post #333 of 517 (permalink) Old 06-18-2018, 01:49 PM
Tetrapyloctomist
 
Aenra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,347
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
I was google-ing for "Caselabs"+"Hardware Labs"+"M4" and you were the first result from our forum

There was no mention of your having any issues with this (page 4 i believe), so i assume i already know the answer; but just to be 101% certain:
You had no issues passing and threading M4s through Caselabs' radiator mounts? As in, you didn't have to file or anything?

(i've lost the screws.. don't ask me how, i don't know, but i've lost them, lol. And i just realised that they're not 6-32, but M4, and that this was a purchase made before i owned a CL chassis. Which also made me realise i had no way of knowing if they fit or not, lol, and i can't find the screws to check on my own. Now i can buy new screws anytime, so that's O.K. Knowing they fit though, that would really help!)

* M4s are of a wider diameter than 6-32s, hence my suddenly worrying. I always miss something..

Pride, honour and purity.

Last edited by Aenra; 06-18-2018 at 01:57 PM.
Aenra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 517 (permalink) Old 06-19-2018, 03:45 PM
Tetrapyloctomist
 
Aenra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,347
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
In case anyone else comes here through web searching, you'll need to file the radiator mounts for M4s to pass through. 6-32/M3.5 is the widest you can do as they can come.
Now let's help Google some, so the next person can have an easier time.

" Caselabs" "HardWare Labs" "M4" "mount" "won't fit" "doesn't fit"

Pride, honour and purity.
Aenra is offline  
post #335 of 517 (permalink) Old 06-20-2018, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler & Overclocker
 
Barefooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,374
Rep: 109 (Unique: 92)
Quote: Originally Posted by Aenra View Post
I was google-ing for "Caselabs"+"Hardware Labs"+"M4" and you were the first result from our forum

There was no mention of your having any issues with this (page 4 i believe), so i assume i already know the answer; but just to be 101% certain:
You had no issues passing and threading M4s through Caselabs' radiator mounts? As in, you didn't have to file or anything?

(i've lost the screws.. don't ask me how, i don't know, but i've lost them, lol. And i just realised that they're not 6-32, but M4, and that this was a purchase made before i owned a CL chassis. Which also made me realise i had no way of knowing if they fit or not, lol, and i can't find the screws to check on my own. Now i can buy new screws anytime, so that's O.K. Knowing they fit though, that would really help!)

* M4s are of a wider diameter than 6-32s, hence my suddenly worrying. I always miss something..
Quote: Originally Posted by Aenra View Post
In case anyone else comes here through web searching, you'll need to file the radiator mounts for M4s to pass through. 6-32/M3.5 is the widest you can do as they can come.
Now let's help Google some, so the next person can have an easier time.

" Caselabs" "HardWare Labs" "M4" "mount" "won't fit" "doesn't fit"

There was no mention of it because I did NOT enlarge any radiator mounting holes to fit the M4 screws!

I did elongate the slots in the case that the radiator mounts secure to because I wanted to move the radiator closer to one end of the case, but I had no problems with the M4 screws.

My Hardware Labs radiators came with 28mm screws. I needed 32 mm screws to go through the fans, the radiator mounts and into the case. I also used some 34mm screws where they also went through the mounts for the pumps.

The best place I have found for odd length M4 screws is Hobby King


.


Barefooter is offline  
post #336 of 517 (permalink) Old 06-20-2018, 01:15 PM
Tetrapyloctomist
 
Aenra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,347
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
If you'll allow some levity, i find it amusing you're all.. err, accustomed i guess to systems in which a long dead King's foot size somehow merits being a point of measure
(but seriously, no need for 34mms, we have 35s, we have 40s. Better fit for rads too, as they'd allow for decouplers. Mounts are too thick)

As to your not needing to file the mounts, am frankly surprised; as mentioned, i've lost the original screws, so i had to go and buy some (which i did). Needs filing; also, i got me a digital caliper now that i'm at home (unavailable to me at the time of my asking) and i can tell you it too concurs. I just can't pass them through without giving them an angle/applying force, i mean that should tell you everything.

Now maybe you meant it the "modder" way; i assume one could.. force them to? But the spacing is not what it should be for M4.
Anyway, it's all good, you're good i'm sure, i'm good, 'cause i thought of it in advance and can do it right. It's all good!

Pride, honour and purity.
Aenra is offline  
post #337 of 517 (permalink) Old 06-21-2018, 11:20 AM
Chief Over-Engineer
 
OCDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: England
Posts: 603
Rep: 44 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by Barefooter View Post
@OCDesign I think you are right...

It does happen occasionally!

You’ve made an excellent job of that new pipework, especially the tight turn into the bottom radiator - eliminated a lot more of the fittings than I thought you would be able to. The bent CPU-VRM section looks much less out of place now (I take it the two right angle fittings on the VRM block remain necessary in order to stay clear of the RAM?) At first glance the through connection from the front radiator still seemed a little clunky to me, but with the fans mounted it doesn’t distract at all. Nice work!


Obsessive Compulsive Design...a chronic condition for which there is no cure.


The IRONBEAST Project
“Obsession is the Only Path to Perfection”

post-flame-small.gifASUS X99-E WS Owners Clubpost-flame-small.gif
NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti Owner's Club

Last edited by OCDesign; 06-21-2018 at 03:18 PM.
OCDesign is offline  
post #338 of 517 (permalink) Old 06-23-2018, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler & Overclocker
 
Barefooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,374
Rep: 109 (Unique: 92)
Quote: Originally Posted by OCDesign View Post
It does happen occasionally!

You’ve made an excellent job of that new pipework, especially the tight turn into the bottom radiator - eliminated a lot more of the fittings than I thought you would be able to. The bent CPU-VRM section looks much less out of place now (I take it the two right angle fittings on the VRM block remain necessary in order to stay clear of the RAM?) At first glance the through connection from the front radiator still seemed a little clunky to me, but with the fans mounted it doesn’t distract at all. Nice work!
Yes the two rotary 90s in the VRM block are necessary in order to be able to swap out the RAM without draining the loop and removing any tubing. Also, even though I'm switching from using all fittings to using bent tubing, I still want to keep as much of the tubing vertical or horizontal as possible.

I did not even think about this until I installed the long tube from the front radiator to the bottom radiator, but the curve of the tube going into the bottom radiator matches nicely with the curve of the tube from the lower radiator to the VRM block




I might try bending a piece of tube to connect the two front radiators. I’m not sure if there’s enough room to get a bend in there.





Bitspower just came out with some new fittings for the 16mm tubing. This style of fitting has been available for a while now for the 12mm tubing, but not for the 16mm tubing. Here is the 90° fitting that will take the 16mm tubing on both ends for an external 90. The six pictures below of the new fittings are courtesy of the Bitspower store.

This is Model: BP-E90DML16




Notice the first o-ring is fixed inside the fitting with only a single outer ring to hold the second o-ring.




Very nice and clean!




Here’s what I’ve been using.




With two fittings for the 16mm tube, essentially three fittings to make a 90.




Here's the new 90° fitting with G1/4 on one end and 16mm tubing on the other side. This is Model: BP-E90RML16






Beautiful fitting here!




Here’s what I’ve been using, a BP-90R rotary 90° fitting with BP-EML16 fitting for the 16mm tubing.






I think I’m going to have to pick up some of these new fittings on my next order and try them out.



Since I have removed most of the tubing, I’ve had a stack of tubing on my bench with fittings still attached. I took them all off and lined them up here before I put them away








.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1726.JPG
Views:	399
Size:	6.92 MB
ID:	203824  

Click image for larger version

Name:	BP-E90DML16 1.jpg
Views:	387
Size:	10.6 KB
ID:	203826  

Click image for larger version

Name:	BP-E90DML16 2.jpg
Views:	386
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	203828  

Click image for larger version

Name:	BP-E90DML16 3.jpg
Views:	399
Size:	34.0 KB
ID:	203830  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1771.JPG
Views:	396
Size:	6.39 MB
ID:	203832  

Click image for larger version

Name:	BP-E90RML16 1.jpg
Views:	386
Size:	10.7 KB
ID:	203834  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1759.JPG
Views:	385
Size:	6.63 MB
ID:	203836  

Click image for larger version

Name:	BP-E90RML16 2.jpg
Views:	380
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	203838  

Click image for larger version

Name:	BP-E90RML16 3.jpg
Views:	393
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	203840  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1765.JPG
Views:	386
Size:	7.12 MB
ID:	203842  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1764.JPG
Views:	375
Size:	6.69 MB
ID:	203844  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1776.JPG
Views:	376
Size:	6.34 MB
ID:	203846  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1774.JPG
Views:	375
Size:	6.53 MB
ID:	203848  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1775.JPG
Views:	385
Size:	6.91 MB
ID:	203850  



Barefooter is offline  
post #339 of 517 (permalink) Old 06-28-2018, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
WaterCooler & Overclocker
 
Barefooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,374
Rep: 109 (Unique: 92)
Unboxing the Bitspower Waterblock for the Intel Optane 900P SSD

Ever since I first saw the EK waterblock for the Intel 750 PCIe SSD, I have wanted a liquid cooled PCIe SSD! I was hoping that some company would make one for the new Intel Optane 900P SSD I have in this build.

I thought sure that EK would make one for it since they made one for the Intel 750 SSD. After waiting months, and not seeing one released, I emailed EK and they said they had no plans to make a waterblock for the 900P.

Then I contacted Watercool and Aquacomputer, but they both said the same thing, that there were no plans for a waterblock for the 900P. Then I saw Alphacool came out with a nice looking waterblock for it, and it is even acrylic!




I was all set to buy this block, but I wanted to wait until it came in stock at PPCs, and while searching their site for the Alphacool block I saw a listing for a Bitspower waterblock for the Intel 750 SSD. I thought EK was the only company that made a block for the 750 SSD

I had not even considered that Bitspower would make one, so I contacted them to see if they had any plans to make a waterblock for the 900P. They emailed me back and said “yes we are and we will be introducing it at Computex”. This was a few weeks before the Computex show.

I searched for news about this waterblock, during and after the Computex show, but I was not able to find any information about it. So a few weeks after Computex I emailed them back, and the response I got back was, here’s a picture of it, and how many do you need?

Here’s the picture they sent me... of course like everything else in the PC world today it has a slot for an RGB strip too.




After multiple back and forth emails that took about a week, they shipped it out on a Friday. I thought it would take at least a week, maybe two weeks to get here. Much to my surprise when I got home Monday evening it had arrived already! Even their packaging has the “Bitspower” logo all over it!




No outer box but plenty of bubble wrap.




The box is perfect.




Foam pad on top.




The accessory package is on top with thermal pads, screws, two stop plugs, and what is that round thing?




I’ve never seen that logo before, but it looks like it’s a Bitspower coaster they threw in the box
Now I feel like I should go get a beer



Taking the accessory package out, the waterblock itself is nicely vacuum packed.






Now let’s get a good look at the waterblock.








Here’s the other side.




This is with the waterblock sitting on top of the Intel 900P SSD.




One last shot.




I’m pretty fired up about this waterblock! The part number is BP-SSDITL900P. I have not found this waterblock available, or even listed anywhere online yet. Who knows this could be the first one in the states.

I have an RBG strip coming for this which I plan to connect to one of the RGB headers on the motherboard. I’m also thinking about taking it apart to polish the side and front edges that will show, although I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to do that or not. I’ll see how it looks with the RGB strip first.

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	a900p WB.jpg
Views:	374
Size:	241.8 KB
ID:	204256  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Bitspower 900P block.jpg
Views:	378
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	204258  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1811.JPG
Views:	372
Size:	5.78 MB
ID:	204260  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1813.JPG
Views:	361
Size:	5.96 MB
ID:	204262  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1814.JPG
Views:	346
Size:	6.01 MB
ID:	204264  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1822.JPG
Views:	344
Size:	7.45 MB
ID:	204266  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1823.JPG
Views:	361
Size:	6.20 MB
ID:	204268  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1826.JPG
Views:	355
Size:	6.56 MB
ID:	204270  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1830.JPG
Views:	354
Size:	6.64 MB
ID:	204272  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1827.JPG
Views:	345
Size:	6.73 MB
ID:	204274  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1832.JPG
Views:	360
Size:	6.24 MB
ID:	204276  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1834.JPG
Views:	368
Size:	7.34 MB
ID:	204278  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1836.JPG
Views:	355
Size:	5.67 MB
ID:	204280  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1839.JPG
Views:	355
Size:	5.52 MB
ID:	204282  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1843.JPG
Views:	348
Size:	6.29 MB
ID:	204284  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_1851.JPG
Views:	356
Size:	6.83 MB
ID:	204286  



Barefooter is offline  
post #340 of 517 (permalink) Old 07-03-2018, 12:12 PM
Chief Over-Engineer
 
OCDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: England
Posts: 603
Rep: 44 (Unique: 32)
Well that’s new to me - I’ve never seen a water cooled SSD before. It’s a really classy addition!

Beyond occasional references to the name I know nothing about Intel Optane, and a PCIe drive (or drives) is something I’ve been looking at including in a future build to speed up my CAD work. Why did you choose to go for the 900P? And is it doing something special that merits the extra cooling, or just very high speed?


Obsessive Compulsive Design...a chronic condition for which there is no cure.


The IRONBEAST Project
“Obsession is the Only Path to Perfection”

post-flame-small.gifASUS X99-E WS Owners Clubpost-flame-small.gif
NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti Owner's Club
OCDesign is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off