HAF 912 Plus MOD: max airflow - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HAF 912 Plus MOD: max airflow

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
From Italy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
HAF 912 Plus MOD: max airflow

Hi all,
I'd like to do some modding to my case (an old Cooler Master HAF 912 Plus from 2011). This is the hardware inside:
- i7 2600k 4.5GHz + Noctua NH-D15
- Asus P8P67 + 2x4GB ram Vengeance
- GTX 1060 6GB Zotac AMP
- Corsair AX750
- One SDD, two HDD

Fan configuration:
- Front: 200mm, 700RPM, 19dBA red led (CM MegaFlow) - INTAKE
- Side: 140mm, 900~1300RPM, 17~21dBA no led (Thermalright TY-140) - INTAKE (same high as VGA)
- Rear: 120mm, 1200 RPM, 17 dBA no led - EXHAUST
- Top: 200mm, 700RPM, 19dBA red led (CM MegaFlow) - EXHAUST

I don't like LEDs nor case windows.

What I did:
- Added front fan 140mm Noctua NF P14r 450-1500RPM, 25dbA, no led - INTAKE

What I want TO DO:
- Add bottom INTAKE 140mm fan (same Noctua as above);
- Have some USB3 in the front of the case;
- Add a fan speed controller;

Here are some pictures. What do you suggest me to do to improve this case? Thank you




lpdevIT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 01:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 17,975
Rep: 849 (Unique: 621)
We have the same case. I reversed the air flow from rear to front on mine. My R9 290 is watercooled using one 120mm radiator located where it says 2X for push/pull. Fresh air is channeled through the motherboard. I'm only using a single fan on my Noctua U12S. I included a SS of my gaming temp. Ambient is about 24-25c. I leave my R7 2700 stock though. The Noctua fan is slow. Maxes out at 800 rpm.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	912.JPG
Views:	8
Size:	311.3 KB
ID:	268354  

Click image for larger version

Name:	game temp.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	371.4 KB
ID:	268356  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
From Italy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
We have the same case. I reversed the air flow from rear to front on mine. My R9 290 is watercooled using one 120mm radiator located where it says 2X for push/pull. Fresh air is channeled through the motherboard. I'm only using a single fan on my Noctua U12S. I included a SS of my gaming temp. Ambient is about 24-25c. I leave my R7 2700 stock though. The Noctua fan is slow. Maxes out at 800 rpm.
Thank you for your answer! So do you suggest me to revert all the airflow? What are the benefits? I'm quite sure the air from the bottom of the case is quite dirty and hot. I don't have any watercooling in it (and don't want to).
lpdevIT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 01:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,664
Rep: 21 (Unique: 15)
Is there any intake in the floor of this case?
8051 is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 02:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 17,975
Rep: 849 (Unique: 621)
Quote: Originally Posted by lpdevIT View Post
Thank you for your answer! So do you suggest me to revert all the airflow? What are the benefits? I'm quite sure the air from the bottom of the case is quite dirty and hot. I don't have any watercooling in it (and don't want to).
You can lv your current fan set up. I have an i7 2700K @ 4.5GHz and it really does not heat too much, especially if you have a beefy cooler like what you have. My GTX 1060 does get hot at load (83c) but it does not heat up the inside of the case either. So, unless you are having heat issues, i recommend just leaving it the way it is. My intel setup is set to shut down at 80c and it never does shutdown.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
From Italy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
Is there any intake in the floor of this case?
Nothing at the floor of this case, I just want to drill the holes to make one

Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
You can lv your current fan set up. I have an i7 2700K @ 4.5GHz and it really does not heat too much, especially if you have a beefy cooler like what you have. My GTX 1060 does get hot at load (83c) but it does not heat up the inside of the case either. So, unless you are having heat issues, i recommend just leaving it the way it is. My intel setup is set to shut down at 80c and it never does shutdown.
Ok thank you. What else do you suggest me to do to improve this case?
lpdevIT is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 02:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 17,975
Rep: 849 (Unique: 621)
Quote: Originally Posted by lpdevIT View Post
Nothing at the floor of this case, I just want to drill the holes to make one


Ok thank you. What else do you suggest me to do to improve this case?

There is really nothing much you do with this case without ruining it. You can force a 140 mm Fan up top like i did. I was gonna suggest removing the PCIe Bracket covers but yours are grilled, so those are fine. I did remove the dust covers cos it isn't really dusty where i lv. I think they do decrease air flow, especially when dirty.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 01:29 AM - Thread Starter
From Italy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
There is really nothing much you do with this case without ruining it. You can force a 140 mm Fan up top like i did. I was gonna suggest removing the PCIe Bracket covers but yours are grilled, so those are fine. I did remove the dust covers cos it isn't really dusty where i lv. I think they do decrease air flow, especially when dirty.
You mean adding another 140mm in the top? I think it's not easy to do and it won't have any benefits.
Yeah PICe Brackets are grilled.
Bottom dust covers are useful for my build because there's a lot of dust
lpdevIT is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 01:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 17,975
Rep: 849 (Unique: 621)
Quote: Originally Posted by lpdevIT View Post
You mean adding another 140mm in the top? I think it's not easy to do and it won't have any benefits.
Yeah PICe Brackets are grilled.
Bottom dust covers are useful for my build because there's a lot of dust
No, i replaced the 120 with a 140. The dust cover in the front grill is the one i removed cos my airflow is reversed. It has one. Also. i don't use the I/O plate.

Oh, you have a 200mm up there. So, that's good.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 05-06-2019 at 01:37 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 02:14 AM - Thread Starter
From Italy
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
No, i replaced the 120 with a 140. The dust cover in the front grill is the one i removed cos my airflow is reversed. It has one. Also. i don't use the I/O plate.

Oh, you have a 200mm up there. So, that's good.
Ok I think I'm fine with the 200mm. I need the dust cover in the front because is intake fan and it's not far from the floor (sometimes there is dust).
Why don't you use the I/O plate?
lpdevIT is offline  
Reply

Tags
Airflow , Case Mod , Cooler Master , haf 912 , modding

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off