Bios RIVBE on Asus Rampage IV Black Edition problems - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Bios RIVBE on Asus Rampage IV Black Edition problems

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mitzaotomitza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Bios RIVBE on Asus Rampage IV Black Edition problems

Hello everyone
Flashing the Asus Rampage IV Black Edition Bios with the 4804 version fails continuously . The flashing session looks OK all lights are flashing as things are heading the right way. When I enter the bios the old one still shows up.
Then I tried to flash the bios in DOS mode (using afudos) and I got errors reading the partition table. I pulled out RAMS ,except two sticks, removed GPU and the PCI nmve SSD, turned off power +clear CMOS and still same BIOS 0801 shows up. Please see the screen pictures.
The only thing that I did not disconnect is the ROG OC front panel and the CPU. Would that make a difference?

If I revert to the original Asus bios 0801, and start from there, I would not be able to boot since the OS is on the PCIE nvme SSD.
Any idea would be much appreciated.


Here is a list of hardware:
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU 3930K
DDR3 G.Skill Trident 48GB 2400MHZ
GPU Nvidia 1080ti
SSD Samsung 970EVO 2TB NVMe
PSU EVGA 850W
Asus ROG Front Base
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0322.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	3.60 MB
ID:	323874  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0321.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	3.58 MB
ID:	323876  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0320.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	3.79 MB
ID:	323878  


mitzaotomitza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 08:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 57
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hi, i think you flashed the wrong bios or outdated one. I have the 0801 (its the newest) and it's been working flawless. Give it a try.

https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RA...HelpDesk_BIOS/
hardwarelimits is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mitzaotomitza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Correct!
The 0801 is the genuine Asus bios and it's working very well unless you have a NMVE SSD on the lowest PCIE slot for OS. In this case you'll need a modded bios with nvme support.
The one that I was trying to flash is RIVBE 4804. More at this link:
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...BE+modded+bios

I saved the RIVBE 4804 on fat32 usb drive and plugged it in the ROG USB slot, pressed the rog connect button for 3 sec until bios mobo lights are flashing. After flashing the old bios is still showing up. Tried different USB's I pulled out memory, battery, reset cmos ...running out of ideas.

mitzaotomitza is offline  
Reply

Tags
#rivbe #bios

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off