Saitek X-52 Tuneup and fixes (56k WARNING!!) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Saitek X-52 Tuneup and fixes (56k WARNING!!)

Old 02-13-2011, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 102 (Unique: 90)
Good afternoon everyone,

This is my first attempt at a hardware mod/tutorial, so be easy. In this post I will address how to Fix an unstable twist (rudder) feature, tighten the stick to get rid of some of the floppyness of it,and in my opinion most importantly remove the deadspot in the center that forces you to move the stick a few inches before the computer takes any input

Recently I purchased HAWX 2 (I cant believe it was actually worse than the first one, that was hard to do) because basically when it comes to arcady flight sims its pretty much the only game in town.

I busted out the trusty Saitek X52 and the twist (rudder) function was spazzing out, anytime I would twist it it would jump back and forth from center to about 1/4 way down the meter to the right. Noticeable in game and when looking at the control panel it was really noticeable really how unstable it was jumping back and forth. That got me on track to fixing it, I found the video linked below, his method works great, it just involves opening up the stick and spraying the potentiometer letting it dry and pitting it back together. You will need a phillips head screw driver, a size 10 torx wrench (allen will probably work) and mechanical tuner cleaner/lubricant from radio shack. I am not going to bother going into more detail because his way is perfect

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5RuQiDGQEQ"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5RuQiDGQEQ[/ame]

After I did that I decided I wanted to fix the other two issues, tighten the stick and see if I could make in more sensitive.

Tightening the stick - [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TewzmOoysDw&feature=related"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TewzmOoysDw&feature=related[/ame]