My new STH10 build - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My new STH10 build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-18-2016, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
Devil in baggy pants
 
jsutter71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,397
Rep: 49 (Unique: 38)
This is a continuation of a build I started with my TJ11 back in September. I ultimately decided to scrap that build and start over with a case that would be large enough to handle all my equipment. More details later but here are some pics to get things started. Case labs made a mistake by sending me a solid motherboard side door instead of windowed, but they shipped out a replacement. The pics were taken with my Canon EOS 5D M3



















jsutter71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 11:09 AM
Enthusiast Cases
 
Jim-CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Made in the USA
Posts: 4,990
Rep: 256 (Unique: 179)
Looking good! thumb.gif

www.CaseLabs.net * Follow us on Facebook


*** Made in the U.S.A. ***

Jim-CL is offline  
post #3 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Devil in baggy pants
 
jsutter71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,397
Rep: 49 (Unique: 38)
In addition to the STH10, I spent $360 for additional accessories. Most of which will be used, but during the planning phase I wasn't sure exactly what I would need to complete this build, so a few things won't be needed. The biggest issue I had with my TJ11 and why I ultimately decided to choose the STH10, was the tradeoffs. Either you can have a great water cooling rig with minimal drive space, or you could have plenty of drive space with minimal rad space. I loved the quality of the TJ11 and wanted something equal or better. The only other considerations were Lian Li, but they use thin aluminum. My other issue with the TJ11 is the terrible cable management. Silverstone dropped the ball with that.

For this build, I am using two EK XE 480mm rads, two Ek XE 360mm rads, five Western Digital mechanical Hard drives in RAID 10, and a EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 T2 Power Supply. With that much hardware, the TJ11 just wouldn't work without being way over crowded. Other hardware I'm using is a X99-E WS/USB 3.1 motherboard, three EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+ in SLI, a 480GB Intel 750 PCI express SSD, one 512GB Samsung SM951 SSD NVMe in the M.2 slot, and one 512GB Samsung SM951 SSD AHCI which in in the second PCIe slot.

Now I've had several months to plan this build and all the equipment I'll be using for the cooling. I am using an Aquaero 6 XT, Aquaero 5 LT, and Farbwerk for lighting. I'll be using four Mod my toys fan splitters for the Rads. One per rad, and 1 Mod my toys splitter for the Aquabus cables. I will also be using a NZXT USB hub since my board only has 2 USB 2.0 connections. In the pictures I've posted you can see an EK-XTOP Dual DDC 3.2 PWM pump and an EK-RES X3 250 reservoir with a multiport top.

The last minute change is the pump and reservoir. I decided to go with the Aqua Computer D5 pump motor with USB and aquabus interface, and aqualis base for pump adapters 880 ml with fountain effect and nano coating reservoir. Even with international shipping charges I saved $50 then if ordered from PPCS or Mod My Mods. The US markup on these items is to high IMO. Nothing against PPCS because they get a LOT of my business. Due to the enormous amount of money I've spent on this build, I have to wait until next payday to get the last two items I need to complete this build. The aqualis base with fill level sensor for the pump and Aqua Delta 1000 pressure sensor. Even though the EK pump is a very nice pump with more power, I have read about it having CPU fan error messages when using the CPU fan headers on my motherboard. I also wanted to have more control over the pump with the Aquaero.

One of the truly nice things I like about the STH10 aside from the incredible build quality and craftsmanship, is that I will have to do minimal, if any drilling in order to complete the plumbing and cable routing. In the pictures I posted you can see that I mounted the Aquaero 5LT behind the 120mm fan in the flex bay underneath the 6XT. Since I'm not using any 3.5 inch drives, I decided to make use of that drive cage on the cable routing side, and mount the Aquaero Farbwerk their. The holes in that cage matched the standoffs on the Farbwerk so I didn't need to do any drilling.

More to follow.
jsutter71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 09:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Killa Cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,958
Rep: 73 (Unique: 72)
Noice. Im assuming you bought your aquaero and reservoir via aquatuning? Just made a big order there too and you cant be free shipping from europe ok orders over $300.

Youve inspired me to make a build here. I think i will thumb.gif
Killa Cam is offline  
post #5 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 10:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NewUser16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,257
Rep: 48 (Unique: 32)
I already have STH10 and SMH10 and I'm actually considering on getting another one kookoo.gifbiggrin.gif just can't decide on which one thinking.gif, this became very expensive hobby smile.gif
Although you can't go wrong with any of their cases I still think STH10 might be favorite among many enthusiasts.
I'm wondering, how popular the new THW10 will get I found myself to go on CL site and look at it quite often and that is not a good sign biggrin.gif
Btw. your build is looking thumb.gif
NewUser16 is offline  
post #6 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 09:00 PM - Thread Starter
Devil in baggy pants
 
jsutter71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,397
Rep: 49 (Unique: 38)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killa Cam View Post

Noice. Im assuming you bought your aquaero and reservoir via aquatuning? Just made a big order there too and you cant be free shipping from europe ok orders over $300.

Youve inspired me to make a build here. I think i will thumb.gif


I looked at Aquatuning but they were a little more expensive then Aquacomputer so I bought it their.
http://shop.aquacomputer.de/

Good luck on your build. I will be taking a few more pics soon. My replacement windowed door from Case labs will arrive on Thursday. I'm mostly dealing with the wiring and LED strips at the moment. I ran a test of the fans today to make sure everything was working.
jsutter71 is offline  
post #7 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Devil in baggy pants
 
jsutter71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,397
Rep: 49 (Unique: 38)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewUser16 View Post

I already have STH10 and SMH10 and I'm actually considering on getting another one kookoo.gifbiggrin.gif just can't decide on which one thinking.gif, this became very expensive hobby smile.gif
Although you can't go wrong with any of their cases I still think STH10 might be favorite among many enthusiasts.
I'm wondering, how popular the new THW10 will get I found myself to go on CL site and look at it quite often and that is not a good sign biggrin.gif
Btw. your build is looking thumb.gif


Thanks you much. I Do LOVE working with this case. It's by far the best and easiest case I've ever had the pleasure of working with.
jsutter71 is offline  
post #8 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-25-2016, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
Devil in baggy pants
 
jsutter71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,397
Rep: 49 (Unique: 38)
Just a quick update. I sleeved my new Aquaero pump and did some cable routing.




jsutter71 is offline  
post #9 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-25-2016, 07:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NewUser16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,257
Rep: 48 (Unique: 32)
thumb.gif
NewUser16 is offline  
post #10 of 341 (permalink) Old 03-26-2016, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
Devil in baggy pants
 
jsutter71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,397
Rep: 49 (Unique: 38)
Mounted the new Aqua pump and reservoir tonight. I had the reservoir bracket but it was not big enough for the Aquaero's mounting brackets.

jsutter71 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off