General GPU Voltmod and External VRM Information - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

General GPU Voltmod and External VRM Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old 02-07-2018, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
External VRM FTW
 
mllrkllr88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,233
Quote: Originally Posted by bigblock990 View Post
Huge thanks to mllrkllr88 for this awesome guide. Vmodding is made easy if you buy the tools he lists, and follow the guide exactly

It looks killer man, nice work! Anyone can buy the parts from my list, but it takes work and just a little OCD to make it look that good

24/7 BENCH
(9 items)
CPU
[LGA115x] 8700k, 7700K, 7350k, G3258
CPU
[LGA2066] 7940X, 7740X
Motherboard
[OCF FTW] X299 OCF, Z170M OCF, Z97 OCF
GPU
E-Power, G-Power, H-Power, A-Power
RAM
B-DIE, HYKO, PSC, MFR
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Platinum 1200W
Cooling
Kingpin Cooling: Venom & T-REX
Cooling
2x360 RAD Custom Loop
Case
Dimastech Easy V3.0
▲ hide details ▲


mllrkllr88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-05-2018, 06:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Samsarulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 365
Rep: 10 (Unique: 5)
Great thread! Maybe master miller is going to have some extra work soon



Samsarulz is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 01:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
5erveD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Holland
Posts: 62
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Some epic work you got there.

5erveD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-11-2018, 08:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DanKadr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Hey. Sorry if this a stupid question... I'm new to gpu modding.
I've got a dead R9 280X VaporX card, and thought to try make a power card for my GTX 260 (for the comp) out of it.
Is it possible? Does it even worth it?
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2018-04-11 at 18.01.44(1).jpeg
Views:	28
Size:	236.0 KB
ID:	145889  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2018-04-11 at 18.01.44.jpeg
Views:	29
Size:	287.8 KB
ID:	145897  



DanKadr is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-11-2018, 08:32 AM
Hardware Gearhead
 
ikem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IA
Posts: 2,084
Rep: 124 (Unique: 104)
So when setting up the pot. You want to bottom out the pot when starting the card up for the first time? Or should it be set to the same value as what is read from the original FB.

.
TJ-10
(12 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7700k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IX Apex
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 2x8gb
Hard Drive
Intel 120gb SSD (OS)
Hard Drive
10tb worth of HDDs
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro RGB
Case
Silverstone TJ10-BW
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB
Mouse
Corsair Scimitar PRO RGB
▲ hide details ▲


ikem is offline  
post #16 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-11-2018, 08:44 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Minium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 287
Rep: 9 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by ikem View Post
So when setting up the pot. You want to bottom out the pot when starting the card up for the first time? Or should it be set to the same value as what is read from the original FB.
Set it to maximum resistance !
Minium is offline  
post #17 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-11-2018, 01:24 PM
Hardware Gearhead
 
ikem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IA
Posts: 2,084
Rep: 124 (Unique: 104)
Quote: Originally Posted by Minium View Post
Set it to maximum resistance !
Ok, so once you go lower than the preset resistance, the voltage should rise. I am just trying to wrap my head around this.

.
TJ-10
(12 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7700k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IX Apex
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 2x8gb
Hard Drive
Intel 120gb SSD (OS)
Hard Drive
10tb worth of HDDs
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro RGB
Case
Silverstone TJ10-BW
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB
Mouse
Corsair Scimitar PRO RGB
▲ hide details ▲


ikem is offline  
post #18 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-11-2018, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
External VRM FTW
 
mllrkllr88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,233
Correct! Lower the FB resistance to increase the voltage.

24/7 BENCH
(9 items)
CPU
[LGA115x] 8700k, 7700K, 7350k, G3258
CPU
[LGA2066] 7940X, 7740X
Motherboard
[OCF FTW] X299 OCF, Z170M OCF, Z97 OCF
GPU
E-Power, G-Power, H-Power, A-Power
RAM
B-DIE, HYKO, PSC, MFR
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Platinum 1200W
Cooling
Kingpin Cooling: Venom & T-REX
Cooling
2x360 RAD Custom Loop
Case
Dimastech Easy V3.0
▲ hide details ▲


mllrkllr88 is offline  
post #19 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-20-2018, 10:55 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Minium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 287
Rep: 9 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by mllrkllr88 View Post
Correct! Lower the FB resistance to increase the voltage.
Hey I know quite a bit about volt modding gpus or even adding an external vrm. However I dont know how people volt mod both vmem and vcore on cards that use one single voltage controller configured in 4+1 or something. Since the FB mod is the way to go on most cards and a voltage controller doesnt have two FB pins, one for vmem and one for vcore, I dont understand how people do it. Maybe you or someone here knows.
Minium is offline  
post #20 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-22-2018, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
External VRM FTW
 
mllrkllr88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,233
Quote: Originally Posted by Minium View Post
Hey I know quite a bit about volt modding gpus or even adding an external vrm. However I dont know how people volt mod both vmem and vcore on cards that use one single voltage controller configured in 4+1 or something. Since the FB mod is the way to go on most cards and a voltage controller doesnt have two FB pins, one for vmem and one for vcore, I dont understand how people do it. Maybe you or someone here knows.
Hey

Not sure I completely understand the question, you should reference a specific card so we can look deeper. I have seen a few very gold cards, like 6600GT for instance, that use linear regulators for things like memory. So on a few very rare old cards its not possible, however, most cards I have come across are using a buck converter style power management which means you should have the ability to adjust voltage in real time.

24/7 BENCH
(9 items)
CPU
[LGA115x] 8700k, 7700K, 7350k, G3258
CPU
[LGA2066] 7940X, 7740X
Motherboard
[OCF FTW] X299 OCF, Z170M OCF, Z97 OCF
GPU
E-Power, G-Power, H-Power, A-Power
RAM
B-DIE, HYKO, PSC, MFR
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Platinum 1200W
Cooling
Kingpin Cooling: Venom & T-REX
Cooling
2x360 RAD Custom Loop
Case
Dimastech Easy V3.0
▲ hide details ▲


mllrkllr88 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off