vMOD Gallery: if its mod'd...it belongs here - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

vMOD Gallery: if its mod'd...it belongs here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NCAL
Posts: 16,364
You can do it! : ...and nice work Theo! Have the caps helped you nail anything higher in clock range than stock?

C'Mon OCN..I know folks have more mod'd hardware than this...! So, wheres it at..?!


CL3P20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 06:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,111
Rep: 319 (Unique: 175)
Hooray for the ghetto radio shack exclusive colt mod, thank you CL3P20 for the insight and extremesystems for telling me the entirely wrong resistance I need for the vGPU





edit:

card: PNY 8800 GT SC 512MB

clocks:

850/2106/1080 with plenty of headroom for voltages and no vMEM to speak of (yet)

in the middle of a vantage run, I was 200 points away from a medal last time, lets see this time


____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.


tha d0ctor is offline  
post #13 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 07:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,734
Rep: 307 (Unique: 204)
What size VR did you use.? I seen your post in my last vmod thread but I didnt have an answer for you as I have yet to do more research. Nice core clock by the way!
Voltage_Drop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NCAL
Posts: 16,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Voltage_Drop View Post
What size VR did you use.?
Should be a 1k ohm VR... you have to measure the stock resistance to know where/what resistance to 'tune' to...otherwise your just shooting in the dark...

*Most all Primarion IC mods use 1k ohm VR


CL3P20 is offline  
post #15 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 07:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,111
Rep: 319 (Unique: 175)
I have it at 5.7-6k OHM right now but my voltages are maxed in the bios, the evens it out to around 1.36 vGPU, im going to try to drop it around 5.3 ish, I can't get it to boot at around 1.44 so im going to shoot for roughly 1.4 even or 1.39ish

I can run vantage at around 912 core clock w/ shaders around 2200 and memory the same at around 1080,

Im nearly out of TIM and I dont really want to take the card off the waterblock to do a vmem mod so I might end up doing a pencil mod while its still attached to my loop or see if I can arrange the card still attached to my loop in a way that I can manage to solder the vmem, the connection looks pretty easy though

I guess GPU core like CPU cores, once you get past a certain cieling the higher clocks require exponentially higher voltages


____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.


tha d0ctor is offline  
post #16 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 09:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,734
Rep: 307 (Unique: 204)
I am going to give it a shot this weekend. I wanted to have it done by now but I have been procrastinating. What do you mean by maxed out in the BIOS, 1.1V, and that was your starting point? Or does it cap at a certain value, meaning the BIOS cant read past a certain voltage? I have got an arsenal of VR's in my box, I just need a finer point tip so I dont solder everything together. Thank you all for the advice and hopefully this weekend I will have it operational or I will be visiting Newegg
Voltage_Drop is offline  
post #17 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 09:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 836
Rep: 84 (Unique: 71)
I can't let everyone else show off their toys without getting in on this myself. I apologize in advance for the horrendously large Pictures. I didn't pay any attention to the settings of the camera and ya'll have some hi res photos as proof. These are my Remote Control Cars that I've worked on over the last year or so. They are made by Duratrax and at 1/18 Scale. Stock they are pretty quick. Very little wheel spin and plenty of speed for a beginner. I left one of them that way (unless I broke something). Notice how this car is in tact and able to be played with.





This is what happens when you get crazy. This car the entire thing is custom. Between the Radio Control, the Brushless motor, the Li-Po batteries that I have at my folk's house, this thing is just sickeningly fast. With the NiMH battery it'll do something in the neighborhood of 50mph. With the Lithium Polymer Battery....65-70. I've never gotten over 62 without losing control. Notice the damage to the car? Yeah....that's what happens when it endos at 60+ mph. Broke the output shaft. ((Oops))

Notice the heatsink on the motor...it actually needs to be there. Made me laugh when I built the whole thing. This is a collaboration of what happens when you have too many good ideas all at once. Fun to drive though, endless power.





Folding under DemiGod2005yr for team 37726.

skull.gif R.I.P. Syrillian, skull.gif
frown.gif the one and only, taken too soon frown.gif
- you'll be remembered!!!


Matt*S. is offline  
post #18 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 10:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DraganUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 4,788
Rep: 398 (Unique: 325)
long time ago, and with your help CLP.

VCore Mod. Only









DraganUS is offline  
post #19 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-05-2009, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NCAL
Posts: 16,364
Nice going guys! Great to see some RC action in here too...they can be a real blast to mod..and real screamers if you pump up the volts on an electric model.

@ DraganUS- Nice work there..and great clocks for such low GPUv


Quote:
I can't get it to boot at around 1.44 so im going to shoot for roughly 1.4 even or 1.39ish

I can run vantage at around 912 core clock w/ shaders around 2200 and memory the same at around 1080,

1.4+ is starting to hit OCP range..most likely why you cannot boot. You want to stay below 1.39v on idle if your GPUv is climbing a bit on load...or you will just hit OCP under benching, and black-screen or restart...

*As well... Vantage loads the GPU the LEAST out of all the 3D Mark benchies...so you will ALWAYS be able to run higher clocks in Vantage..vs. '06 or any of the others.


CL3P20 is offline  
post #20 of 553 (permalink) Old 11-05-2009, 11:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,111
Rep: 319 (Unique: 175)
I managed to get my core clock up to 922 stable with shaders 2150 and mem 1080, im gonan try to find my shader max before I mess with the memory, ideally I would like to avoid voltmodding the mem because I dont see it as worth the risk but if it plays out and I can get a hardware medal it might be worth it
(vantage, all my other scores are far from medal worthy, not sure why)

if I can get my i7 stable near 4.6 im sure I can break 8200 points (8100 now) and atleast get 5th, hopefully 3rd tho
yes my bios are maxed out at 1.1 that is where I started

for VR i have a 4.7k radio shack resistor connected to a 470 ohm resistor, im going to knock down the 470 to a 220 or something and see if I can get over 1.4 without BSODing or blackscreening

this waterblock is amazing, even full load my core temps dont get past 37 degrees and my PCB stays near 29-30, I def have to find an XFX or something online to get a card that doesn't have voltage protection measures because I bet I could get up to 1.5 on this system and break 1000mhz core clock


____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.


tha d0ctor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off