What's your mobile phone setup? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

What's your mobile phone setup?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-13-2019, 01:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,773
Rep: 22 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by Lady Fitzgerald View Post
I have a Samsung Gusto 3 flip phone on a pay as you go plan on Verizon. The plan is $1.99 for the first call of a day, then calls the rest of the day are free. Unused "minutes" in a month are rolled over to the next month. The plan costs $5 (+$0.45) per month and is set to be paid automatically from a bank account. If the balance ever dips below $5 (it hasn't yet), the plan will withdraw another $5. I keep the phone turned off except when I'm going to use it, which is rarely. To keep phone spammers from running up the bill, I have voice mail and messaging turned off (besides, if someone wants to talk to me, they can TALK to me).

I wouldn't mind having a smart phone but, being on a so called fixed income, I can't justify the expense of a data plan. Add to that, i-Phones are a ripoff and Android is Google, who is notorious for being snoopy.
Is that a CDMA only phone? You know Verizon won't enable CDMA phones on their network anymore right?

Is Apple any more trustworthy than Gulag?
8051 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 26 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 06:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
yesterday got a huawei nova 5 pro 128G, green in color really cool!!
englandbridge is offline  
post #23 of 26 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 06:46 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,769
Rep: 333 (Unique: 238)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
Is that a made in the PRC phone?
They are all made in PRC, especially Apple.

---

My setup is simple, phone with a flexible case to protect when dropped, replaceable battery charge it when needed and let it be, when battery needs recharging too often replace it every 2 years, SD slot on Android... well maybe the newer ones work but the old ones none did, be it China phone or Samsung phone, same damn issues, dual sim, headphone jack, regular USB not a rare USB-C. They don't even make stuff like this anymore, want to replace a battery... yeah they would rather have you buy a whole new phone or force you to unglue the screen etc. if you ever want to get into the phone to replace anything.
JackCY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 26 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 09:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,773
Rep: 22 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
They are all made in PRC, especially Apple.

---

My setup is simple, phone with a flexible case to protect when dropped, replaceable battery charge it when needed and let it be, when battery needs recharging too often replace it every 2 years, SD slot on Android... well maybe the newer ones work but the old ones none did, be it China phone or Samsung phone, same damn issues, dual sim, headphone jack, regular USB not a rare USB-C. They don't even make stuff like this anymore, want to replace a battery... yeah they would rather have you buy a whole new phone or force you to unglue the screen etc. if you ever want to get into the phone to replace anything.
So does that mean all Chinese phones have built-in Communist hardware back doors? Are LG and Samsung phones at least manufactured in the ROK?
8051 is offline  
post #25 of 26 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 02:29 PM
Eastern Bloc Electronics
 
Pawelr98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Poland, Bydgoszcz
Posts: 1,533
Rep: 55 (Unique: 45)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
Is that a made in the PRC phone?
Yes, it's their domestic brand.

I don't really care about the whole "China is spying on you" thing.
Also I don't use original ROM. I use xiaomi.eu ROM + I did some work by removing plenty of useless chinese apss.

Even the fastest pc in the world cannot beat imagination.
Spoiler!
CPU
i7 [email protected]@1.325V 2.05V input
Motherboard
Asrock X99 Extreme 4
GPU
Sapphire R9 290X [Uber Mode]
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT240 GDDR5 512MB [PhysX + analog output]
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 2400mhz 4GB 1.3V
RAM
Crucial [email protected] 4GB 1.3V
RAM
Crucial [email protected] 4GB 1.3V
Hard Drive
Seagate 4TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB[OS]
Hard Drive
WD Red 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840EVO 120GB[Arma 3]
Power Supply
Cooler Master Real Power 850w
Cooling
Koolance 380A [modded for LGA2011v3]
Cooling
MCP655 with Alphacool HF acetal top [5th gear]
Cooling
Cooltek 120mm rad [antec tri-speed]
Cooling
Black Water Ultimate 123 [3x Corsair AF120 Performance Edition]
Cooling
Feser 10/13 UV Tubing
Cooling
Alphacool CKC clear
Cooling
Cooltek 120mm Rad [Corsair SP120 High Performance Edition]
Cooling
Alphacool GPX-A 290 [290X waterblock]
Case
Cooler Master Haf 932 Amd Edition
Operating System
Windows 7 Ulitimate 64 bit
Monitor
LG 29EA93 [2560x1080]
Monitor
Samsung SMB2030N [1600x900]
Monitor
LG L1715S [1280x1024]
Monitor
DIY display on V59 controller[[email protected]]
Keyboard
4Tech X7 G800
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Mouse 4000
Audio
Superlux hd681
Audio
FiiO E07K
Audio
SoundMax Superbeam [bundled with P5B DLX]
Other
Scythe Kaze Master Pro 6 chanell
Other
2x Sharkoon 30cm red cold cathodes
Other
2x Revoltec 10cm UV cold cathodes
CPU
Athlon II X2 250 @2GHZ @1core
Motherboard
Gigabyte 870A-USB3
GPU
Ati X600 128MB
RAM
GoodRam 4gb 1333mhz
Hard Drive
Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
Hard Drive
6x Hitachi 2TB (RAID 6)
Hard Drive
Samsung 40gb[OS]
Hard Drive
2x160GB RAID 1
Power Supply
Pentagram Silent Force 460W
Operating System
Debian 8.2.0 x64
Other
Ever Eco Pro 700 CDS [UPS]
Other
Edimax EW-7318USg [Access Point]
▲ hide details ▲
Pawelr98 is offline  
post #26 of 26 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 12:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,773
Rep: 22 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by Pawelr98 View Post
Yes, it's their domestic brand.

I don't really care about the whole "China is spying on you" thing.
Also I don't use original ROM. I use xiaomi.eu ROM + I did some work by removing plenty of useless chinese apss.
I suppose it's not an issue now, but if someone else finds out how to exploit PRC backdoors into your phone it might be and anyone in Hong Kong right now might want to be very afraid.
8051 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off