Steps to backup 'failing' hdd? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Steps to backup 'failing' hdd?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
noobee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canyuckada
Posts: 524
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Steps to backup 'failing' hdd?

My HDD has a bad sector - some SMART tests didn't come back overly positive. I am using Linux - the Windows software isn't really applicable? I was going to use gddrescue but also I think I should buy a NAS HDD although it's not necessary but might be worth getting for copying the data over to it?

I have read through some threads here about hard drive issues including some regarding some hard drives failing but they only gave ideas.

Is there any easy steps one can find?

My HDD has one large partition - 1tb - Hitachi 1TB - 800gb of data - I hope to salvage the drive data and have a backup and hopefully 'fix' the problem on the new drive.

noobee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 04:04 PM
Ever Forward.
 
PR-Imagery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Headed to the top.
Posts: 6,500
Rep: 230 (Unique: 165)
If the drive is still working and the data is readable, just copy everything over to the new drive.

"The greatest good you can do for another is not just to share your riches but to reveal to him his own."


PR-Imagery is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 04:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,978
Rep: 163 (Unique: 102)
Just start copying the data somewhere else.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 04:26 PM
Watercooled
 
lexer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 865
Rep: 47 (Unique: 33)
As soon as possible and if you don't have a new drive to copy the data. Disconnect the drive until you have one

I7 8700K@4.7Ghz / Z370-A / 2X8GB 3200Mhz ADATA Spectrix D40 / 1TB Intel 600P / EVO 850 250GB / 4TB WD Gold / RTX 2080 GAMING OC / NZXT Noctis 450 ROG / EVGA G2 850W@ECO
Heatkiller REV 3.0 / XSPC EX360 / DDC 3.25 + EK-XRES / 3x Venturi HF-12 PWM
lexer is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 05:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
If the drive is still accessible but fails to copy, use TestDisk. I am a technician and this software has been a life saver many times for me.

2018 Main System
2018 Machine
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7
GPU
Gigabyte Geforce 1080Ti Gaming Xtreme
RAM
16GB GSkill 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
500GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
Hard Drive
2 x 3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID0
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000i
Cooling
Corsair H100i
Case
Corsair Crystal 570x
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
Keyboard
Corsair K70 - Cherry MX Brown
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Mousepad
Finalmouse
Audio
Creative Soundblaster ZX
Audio
Corsair SP2500 2.1
▲ hide details ▲
mo0rd is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2019, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
noobee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canyuckada
Posts: 524
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by lexer View Post
As soon as possible and if you don't have a new drive to copy the data. Disconnect the drive until you have one
Yes, disconnected.....while I decide on what drive to get.

So, copying everything - will result in everything working on the new drive or - if I have some corrupted files or something wrong with any of the files - is there some way to test them or fix them? I thought there was backup software that would try to 'repair' files or does it just try to repair a defective drive? I apologize in advance if any part of this question is kinda dumb. :-/

noobee is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2019, 04:35 PM
Eastern Bloc Electronics
 
Pawelr98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Poland, Bydgoszcz
Posts: 1,529
Rep: 54 (Unique: 44)
It all depends on what kind of damage you have.
Show the SMART table.

In the end some data may end up corrupted.
However if your HDD is not full of bad sectors then most likely you will be fine.

I prefer full platter scan using MHDD, you get the full image of HDD state.
You can do it after you backup the data as this process takes some time and puts HDD under stress.

Even the fastest pc in the world cannot beat imagination.
Spoiler!
CPU
i7 [email protected]@1.325V 2.05V input
Motherboard
Asrock X99 Extreme 4
GPU
Sapphire R9 290X [Uber Mode]
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT240 GDDR5 512MB [PhysX + analog output]
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 2400mhz 4GB 1.3V
RAM
Crucial [email protected] 4GB 1.3V
RAM
Crucial [email protected] 4GB 1.3V
Hard Drive
Seagate 4TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB[OS]
Hard Drive
WD Red 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840EVO 120GB[Arma 3]
Power Supply
Cooler Master Real Power 850w
Cooling
Koolance 380A [modded for LGA2011v3]
Cooling
MCP655 with Alphacool HF acetal top [5th gear]
Cooling
Cooltek 120mm rad [antec tri-speed]
Cooling
Black Water Ultimate 123 [3x Corsair AF120 Performance Edition]
Cooling
Feser 10/13 UV Tubing
Cooling
Alphacool CKC clear
Cooling
Cooltek 120mm Rad [Corsair SP120 High Performance Edition]
Cooling
Alphacool GPX-A 290 [290X waterblock]
Case
Cooler Master Haf 932 Amd Edition
Operating System
Windows 7 Ulitimate 64 bit
Monitor
LG 29EA93 [2560x1080]
Monitor
Samsung SMB2030N [1600x900]
Monitor
LG L1715S [1280x1024]
Monitor
DIY display on V59 controller[[email protected]]
Keyboard
4Tech X7 G800
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Mouse 4000
Audio
Superlux hd681
Audio
FiiO E07K
Audio
SoundMax Superbeam [bundled with P5B DLX]
Other
Scythe Kaze Master Pro 6 chanell
Other
2x Sharkoon 30cm red cold cathodes
Other
2x Revoltec 10cm UV cold cathodes
CPU
Athlon II X2 250 @2GHZ @1core
Motherboard
Gigabyte 870A-USB3
GPU
Ati X600 128MB
RAM
GoodRam 4gb 1333mhz
Hard Drive
Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
Hard Drive
6x Hitachi 2TB (RAID 6)
Hard Drive
Samsung 40gb[OS]
Hard Drive
2x160GB RAID 1
Power Supply
Pentagram Silent Force 460W
Operating System
Debian 8.2.0 x64
Other
Ever Eco Pro 700 CDS [UPS]
Other
Edimax EW-7318USg [Access Point]
▲ hide details ▲
Pawelr98 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 09:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Posts: 100
Rep: 0
You can put the hard-drive in the freezer overnight if there are bearings which are failing - but doing so is DESTRUCTIVE and you'll be able to get some data before it fails completely. This should be used as a LAST RESORT.

If it is the actual PCB, you can sometimes find another drive which has failed but the PCB is good ( MUST BE EXACT ).


First step - make a list of everything you need off the drive in case you are working on a time limit. Copy the most important stuff first, then other stuff afterwards.


If you have access to a hardware clone-machine, sometimes this is the way to go.


If you want to debug what's wrong... There is software called mdisk or something m which should be on hiren's boot disk and others... That will scan every sector of the drive and tell you what is bad. Anything 500ms or over is bad, usually healthy is 150ms or under. Xs mean bad sector...
In some cases there can be a LOT of Xs which causes the drive to fail but you can delete those from the accessibility table to prevent the drive from reading / writing to those sectors, ever... It is a destructive option, but can allow the drive to be used longer.

MHDD, that's it... It is one of the best tools available... But make sure you copy the important data first - because the destructive scan can corrupt some data if sectors are removed which have data on it but are only slow ( you can set what to delete... do the scan first to see where you are at.. but I usually delete 500ms or X if there are not a lot of them - or lower ms sectors such as 250 if the drive isn't full of them )...
Acecool is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off