Fake-Optane? 1TB NVME, I want to set up a 256GB partition and use that as a buffer to load to a standard drive, or not.. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Fake-Optane? 1TB NVME, I want to set up a 256GB partition and use that as a buffer to load to a standard drive, or not..

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Posts: 100
Rep: 0
Fake-Optane? 1TB NVME, I want to set up a 256GB partition and use that as a buffer to load to a standard drive, or not..

I have a 1TB NVME 970 Pro. I want to set up a partition of 256GB or so, so that it can be used the same way as Windows 10 uses memory ( On startup the most used programs, apps, whatever.. are loaded into memory for speed )... I want the most used programs, files, etc.. to be moved to that partition so they are loaded faster.. I want to be able to load all of my games on a standard hard-drive, then as I load them they be moved to the NVME drive, or the more the files are used, they are moved over... As I stop using something, the files are removed.

I don't care if a copy always remains on the other hard-drive.


Does software like this exist? And, yes.. It would need to be a driver...

I know AMD has some type of software like this, and Intel has Optane which acts as a buffer between the hard-drive.. But is there something so I can use my own drive or do I have to purchase an Optane drive specifically for that ( but with the limited PCI-E lanes it wouldn't work but at SATA speeds )...
Acecool is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 12:53 PM
Not New to OCN
 
100cotton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,733
Rep: 92 (Unique: 86)
I think what you're looking for would be SSD caching for your HDD. I myself am not sure how to set it up.

How much data do you actually have total? In my opinion, it's far easier to place your OS and all programs on the SSD, and then a HDD can store the bulk of your games, pictures, videos, etc. If you're playing a game consistently at any point in time, it's not much of a hassle to transfer it to the SSD, and remove it when sometime later when you don't play it anymore.

My System
(19 items)
CPU
i7 5820k - 4.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI X99S Sli Plus
GPU
PNY GTX 1080
RAM
G.Skill 4x4GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 2TB x2 - Raid 1
Power Supply
Corsair HX750
Cooling
EKWB A240G
Case
Cooler Master 690 ii Advanced
Operating System
Win7 x64
Monitor
DELL S2716DG 27"
Monitor
Asus VH226H 21.5"
Monitor
Asus VH226H 21.5"
Keyboard
Logitech G510
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core RGB
Audio
Gamecon 780 Headset
Audio
Corsair SP2500 2.1
Other
Mount It! Triple Monitor Stand
Other
Rosewill RNX-N150PCe Wireless Card
▲ hide details ▲


100cotton is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 01:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,611
Rep: 464 (Unique: 312)
I remember hearing the name "PrimoCache". This here seems to be their website:

https://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/primo-cache/

I never tried that tool, so no idea if it works well or not.
deepor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off