Cloning my NVME to move to a bigger drive? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Cloning my NVME to move to a bigger drive?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
b.walker36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,922
Rep: 151 (Unique: 128)
Cloning my NVME to move to a bigger drive?

So I have been trying to figure this out for like 2 hours now and my google skills are failing me. I have a razer blade with a 256gb NVME. I bought a 1tb NVME to put it in. My understanding is that I should be able to clone the drive and use my USB to boot and restore an image of my disk to the new drive. I plan on using macrium reflect but I can't figure out exactly what I should be doing.

I think it is as follows:

1 - Create Disk Image
2 - Put image on usb
3 - do something to make usb bootable, I think I have to install a bootable copy of macrium?

3 is where I'm really lost. Any help would be much appreciated.

Quote:Originally Posted by Clinic http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif
Its a benchmark thread...if you want pics go look on newegg. Thats what the cards look like. They didn't secretly send me orange ones.
Darkness
(17 items)
CPU
4690k
Motherboard
asus z97-ar
GPU
gigabyte 980 ti g1 gaming
RAM
G-Skill Ripjaw
Hard Drive
WD Black
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 840
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w Platinum
Case
Corsair 600T SE
Operating System
Windows 8 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
Ultrasharp 27"
Monitor
HP W2338H 23"
Keyboard
Black Widow Ultimate
Mouse
Zowie EC2
Mouse
Zowie (Pure exellence)
Audio
dt880
Audio
sound blaster recon3d
Audio
swan m10
▲ hide details ▲


b.walker36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 04:48 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,753
Rep: 968 (Unique: 596)
Use CloneZilla. Use the device-image option instead of the device-device option. Save it somewhere (not on the OG drive). Swap drives, boot back into CloneZilla, restore the image to the new drive.

It's easier if you can install both drives and just do a device-device clone but being a laptop I assume you only have one M.2.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
b.walker36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,922
Rep: 151 (Unique: 128)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Use CloneZilla. Use the device-image option instead of the device-device option. Save it somewhere (not on the OG drive). Swap drives, boot back into CloneZilla, restore the image to the new drive.

It's easier if you can install both drives and just do a device-device clone but being a laptop I assume you only have one M.2.
Yeah only have one slot. But you gave me an idea. I have three m.2 slots in my desktop. I'm using 2 but one is just storage. I was thinking of pulling out my storage drive then putting my current laptop drive and my new laptop drive in. Doing a clone then pulling them both out and putting my storage drive back in. Thats probably easiest isn't it.

Quote:Originally Posted by Clinic http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif
Its a benchmark thread...if you want pics go look on newegg. Thats what the cards look like. They didn't secretly send me orange ones.
Darkness
(17 items)
CPU
4690k
Motherboard
asus z97-ar
GPU
gigabyte 980 ti g1 gaming
RAM
G-Skill Ripjaw
Hard Drive
WD Black
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 840
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w Platinum
Case
Corsair 600T SE
Operating System
Windows 8 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
Ultrasharp 27"
Monitor
HP W2338H 23"
Keyboard
Black Widow Ultimate
Mouse
Zowie EC2
Mouse
Zowie (Pure exellence)
Audio
dt880
Audio
sound blaster recon3d
Audio
swan m10
▲ hide details ▲


b.walker36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 05:00 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,753
Rep: 968 (Unique: 596)
They're both easy, it's just a bit of a PITA if you don't have a flash drive or external HDD big enough to store the image to do device-image

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
b.walker36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,922
Rep: 151 (Unique: 128)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
They're both easy, it's just a bit of a PITA if you don't have a flash drive or external HDD big enough to store the image to do device-image
I have a 256gb usb I bought for this purpose and to just have lying around. My biggest issue was creating the bootable usb to restore the image on the new drive I coudln't figure out how to do that part.

Quote:Originally Posted by Clinic http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif
Its a benchmark thread...if you want pics go look on newegg. Thats what the cards look like. They didn't secretly send me orange ones.
Darkness
(17 items)
CPU
4690k
Motherboard
asus z97-ar
GPU
gigabyte 980 ti g1 gaming
RAM
G-Skill Ripjaw
Hard Drive
WD Black
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 840
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w Platinum
Case
Corsair 600T SE
Operating System
Windows 8 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
Ultrasharp 27"
Monitor
HP W2338H 23"
Keyboard
Black Widow Ultimate
Mouse
Zowie EC2
Mouse
Zowie (Pure exellence)
Audio
dt880
Audio
sound blaster recon3d
Audio
swan m10
▲ hide details ▲


b.walker36 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 05:12 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,753
Rep: 968 (Unique: 596)
Why do you need a bootable USB?

There's nothing to install or create after you clone. Just put the drive in and boot from it and you're back in your OS.

Unless you mean a bootable USB for CloneZilla, then yeah, you need to make that.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
b.walker36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,922
Rep: 151 (Unique: 128)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Why do you need a bootable USB?

There's nothing to install or create after you clone. Just put the drive in and boot from it and you're back in your OS.

Unless you mean a bootable USB for CloneZilla, then yeah, you need to make that.
I could not get the CloneZilla live usb to boot on my laptop. It worked just fine on my desktop. Just going to put both drives in my desktop at this point. Thanks for all your help.

Quote:Originally Posted by Clinic http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif
Its a benchmark thread...if you want pics go look on newegg. Thats what the cards look like. They didn't secretly send me orange ones.
Darkness
(17 items)
CPU
4690k
Motherboard
asus z97-ar
GPU
gigabyte 980 ti g1 gaming
RAM
G-Skill Ripjaw
Hard Drive
WD Black
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 840
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w Platinum
Case
Corsair 600T SE
Operating System
Windows 8 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
Ultrasharp 27"
Monitor
HP W2338H 23"
Keyboard
Black Widow Ultimate
Mouse
Zowie EC2
Mouse
Zowie (Pure exellence)
Audio
dt880
Audio
sound blaster recon3d
Audio
swan m10
▲ hide details ▲


b.walker36 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 04:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
scgt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 472
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
Ha was about to make a post similar to this and figured I would look a bit before I do that.

Kinda in the same scenario come this Thursday when a larger EX920 1TB gets here. My initial intention was to pull my board so I could access the back m.2 slot and install the 1tb on the back and use it for game storage while keeping my current 950 pro 256gb as my os in the front slot. I got to thinking while waiting for Newegg to ship the thing why keep the OS on a slower drive not to mention I won't be utilizing the full 70-75% of the 1TB with the games I intend to have on it. So why not just upgrade the OS to a faster drive and also have the games on it on the front slot that allows my heatsinks to be moved over from the 950 so it doesn't meltdown between my board and the case. LOL

So then I'm sitting here looking at it and pondering the he$# I will be going through for that task also. Pull everything to get the board out to install the 1tb in the back then reinstall. Do the clone shin dig just to repeat the same teardown and put back together process to get it on the front to replace the 256gb.

So I could use clonezilla to clone the os drive to one of my 8TB Plex drives then swap it for the 1tb then copy over the backup from the plex drive. NICE!

The question I have though is does it have to be an external drive used for the backup (as mentioned above) or can it be one installed and connected directly to the mobo?
scgt1 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 05:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,607
Rep: 528 (Unique: 299)
this is why I got one of those USB-C m.2+ adapter thingies. Device to disk to device is a pain in the sharter.

it also makes a wicked fast thumb drive at work (I scrapped a 128gb stick from a dead laptop )

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off