exFAT external SSD not showing up - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

exFAT external SSD not showing up

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 01:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USlatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,434
Rep: 166 (Unique: 104)
exFAT external SSD not showing up

I formatted an external drive using a video camera. The options were some thing for Apple and exFAT, so I selected exFAT. Now the camera can record and play back the clips, but my W10 pc doesn't even see the drive in the drive management window... ***?!

Anyone got any tips?

"There is no point in having sharp images when you have fuzzy ideas."
Jean-Luc Godard
USlatin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USlatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,434
Rep: 166 (Unique: 104)
I tried a bunch of stuff to no avail...

I also remember that I was able to speedtest the drive when I first received it on a Mac, and then on my PC. Then I think the camera didn't read it so I formatted it in-camera, where it is still working fine, but won't show up when I plug it into my PC. Also tried my TV, and neither even flinch when I plug the drive in...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cgvhvbnvbnm.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	1.08 MB
ID:	270150  


"There is no point in having sharp images when you have fuzzy ideas."
Jean-Luc Godard
USlatin is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 12:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NewUser16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 37 (Unique: 24)
It sounds like your SSD is dead. Strangely I had few SSDs, (SunDisk) that were working fine but after formatting them and I didn't even selected to format them to exFAT they end up been formatted to that format and they just died, nothing would bring them back to life
NewUser16 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USlatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,434
Rep: 166 (Unique: 104)
But, I can record and play back 4K 60fps RAW... it is working just fine in the camera.

"There is no point in having sharp images when you have fuzzy ideas."
Jean-Luc Godard
USlatin is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 01:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NewUser16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 37 (Unique: 24)
It does sound strange. I had the same thing happen to me, in fact few days ago that SSD wouldn't show anywhere, actually I was able to pull the ssd in device manager but with 0mb in exFAT and it was only for brief moment and after that don't matter what it was gone.

The fact that you can record RAW its something else..

What you could do is try loading that SSD outside Windows, through Hard Disk or Partition Manager or any life CD e.g. Paragon, EaseUs or even Ubuntu and see if it shows, sometimes windows wont show but these software can and you could formatted that way and if its not dead it might fix it.

Now I'm curious myself.
NewUser16 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 11:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USlatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,434
Rep: 166 (Unique: 104)
Wow... and a brand new drive too. One of those Samsung T5 500GB blue SSDs.

I found EaseUS but it also doesn't see it. Doesn't look like Paragon has a free trial... I wish I had an Ubuntu install somewhere...

Might just go to Best Buy and get a new one.

"There is no point in having sharp images when you have fuzzy ideas."
Jean-Luc Godard
USlatin is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 07:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NewUser16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 37 (Unique: 24)
I know this that every time I format SSD some weird things happen, maybe not at first and this is another example. If by any miracle you get to the bottom of that let us know, it might help rest of us in the future
NewUser16 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 08:08 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6,475
Rep: 54 (Unique: 44)
Hi,
Use free mini tool and see what it shows

http://www.partitionwizard.com/free-...n-manager.html

Vaper
(4 items)
CPU
i9-99400x With evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
ASUS x299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
redragon
Audio
Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon
Audio
Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
SMOK Alien 220w
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-3mg
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USlatin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,434
Rep: 166 (Unique: 104)
Tried Mini Tool as well, all the same stuff... doesn't show up at all.

"There is no point in having sharp images when you have fuzzy ideas."
Jean-Luc Godard
USlatin is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 06:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NewUser16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 37 (Unique: 24)
One last thing you could try is this small tool, it will force to show even badly damaged HDD/SSD it did shows mine as I said with 0mb so it was dead, if it wont show with this i honestly would just scrap it, I wouldn't bother, its just asking for some trouble down the line.

Try Low Level formatting tool: https://hddguru.com/software/HDD-LLF...setup.4.40.exe
NewUser16 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off