Installing new ssd how to remove win7 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Installing new ssd how to remove win7

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
carlos8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 36
Rep: 0
Installing new ssd how to remove win7

Hi, I installed a ssd in my pc but all my old data is in a wd blue 1tb HD with windows 7. I installed a fresh windows copy in the ssd and various programs, now my games are in the WD HD, how do i remove windows from it to use in tandem with the ssd for system and HD for games. For now it's running just with the ssd, i don't even tried to connect the HD.

Thanks in advance.
carlos8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 01:34 PM
Official Luddite of OCN
 
SoloCamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,355
Rep: 411 (Unique: 213)
Quote: Originally Posted by carlos8 View Post
Hi, I installed a ssd in my pc but all my old data is in a wd blue 1tb HD with windows 7. I installed a fresh windows copy in the ssd and various programs, now my games are in the WD HD, how do i remove windows from it to use in tandem with the ssd for system and HD for games. For now it's running just with the ssd, i don't even tried to connect the HD.

Thanks in advance.
You'd have to have cloned it / made an image. How much storage is used on the HDD vs the storage size of the SSD?


4k box
(22 items)
Oculus Box
(6 items)
CPU
4790k at 4.6ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
GPU
Sapphire Vega 64 1667mhz core / 1100 mem (reference air cooler)
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16gb DDR3 2400mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 128gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256gb
Hard Drive
Crucial M500 480gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 500gb
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 240gb
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 120gb
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray RW
Power Supply
NZXT Hale82 850w
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Rosewill Thor V2 (Black)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ASUS PB287Q (4k)
Monitor
Dell Ultrasharp 1908FP
Keyboard
Corsair K55 RGB
Mouse
Fenek Swift Gaming Mouse - PMW 3360 Sensor
Mousepad
Steelseries QCK+
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z
Audio
Logitech Z-623
CPU
FX-9590
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
GPU
Sapphire Pulse Vega 56 1590core/945mem
RAM
16gb DDR3 1866 cas9 (two dimms)
Cooling
AMD FX Watercooler (came with 9590)
Operating System
Win10 pro 64bit
CPU
Xeon E5450
CPU
Xeon E5450
Motherboard
Dell T7400 stock
GPU
XFX DD 7970Ghz Edition
RAM
32gb DDR2 667mhz Quad Channel (4gb x8)
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 240gb SSD
Power Supply
Dell T7400 stock 1000w PSU
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
SoloCamo is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
carlos8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 36
Rep: 0
I installed the HD again so i can made a CD image. I have the CD but i don't know how to made the image. The ssd is a 512 GB, the HD is 1 TB and say 817 GB free of 931GB. What is the difference between an image and CD backup?
carlos8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 07:24 AM
Storage Nut
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 21,065
Rep: 1659 (Unique: 967)
Back up HDD to your external HDD or NAS (I use free file sync for file folders). Use the diskpart clean command to clean the drive of all data. Restore/copy back games and other files via a simple restoration of your backup. Simple.

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials | My Build Logs | My Server Build Log | flickr | Steam | Depression and I
Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
Le Main Rig
(15 items)
Terrorbyte V2
(16 items)
Test Bench
(8 items)
CPU
i7-6700K
Motherboard
ASRock Z170 OC Formula
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 960 WindForce 2X OC
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
480GB ADATA SX8200
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
2TB HP EX950
Power Supply
Corsair RM650
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Keyboard
Patriot Viper V760
Mouse
Patriot Viper V560
CPU
Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximux IV Extreme
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 830
Hard Drive
480GB SanDisk Extreme II
Hard Drive
2TB WD Red
Hard Drive
2TB Samung Spinpoint F4
Hard Drive
2TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Hard Drive
3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
Power Supply
Corsair 650TX
Case
Norco RPC 4224
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Other
LSI 9261-8i
Other
Intel RES2CV240
CPU
i5-4670k
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 Extreme6
RAM
32GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400MHz
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 850 Pro
Power Supply
850W Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate
Case
Thermaltake Urban T81
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Sean Webster is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 08:20 AM
Official Luddite of OCN
 
SoloCamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,355
Rep: 411 (Unique: 213)
Quote: Originally Posted by Sean Webster View Post
Back up HDD to your external HDD or NAS (I use free file sync for file folders). Use the diskpart clean command to clean the drive of all data. Restore/copy back games and other files via a simple restoration of your backup. Simple.
If he has an external or nas this would work. If not, just using a cloning program at this point would be ideal. He is barely using any of the 1tb drive so it wouldn't be a problem cloning it to a 512gb drive. Once he clones it, he can wipe the HDD if he wants and install anything new moving forward on the HDD.

Quote: Originally Posted by carlos8 View Post
I installed the HD again so i can made a CD image. I have the CD but i don't know how to made the image. The ssd is a 512 GB, the HD is 1 TB and say 817 GB free of 931GB. What is the difference between an image and CD backup?

CD nor DVD will not hold that much space first off. Second, an image is just basically making a copy of your current install so it can be dropped onto another drive.

Look up software like Acronis true image. If you have a crucial drive it's free and will make your life so much easier. There are free alternatives as well - here is just a small list:

https://acronis-true-image.en.softon...ernatives/free


4k box
(22 items)
Oculus Box
(6 items)
CPU
4790k at 4.6ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 7
GPU
Sapphire Vega 64 1667mhz core / 1100 mem (reference air cooler)
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16gb DDR3 2400mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 128gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256gb
Hard Drive
Crucial M500 480gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 500gb
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 240gb
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 120gb
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray RW
Power Supply
NZXT Hale82 850w
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Rosewill Thor V2 (Black)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ASUS PB287Q (4k)
Monitor
Dell Ultrasharp 1908FP
Keyboard
Corsair K55 RGB
Mouse
Fenek Swift Gaming Mouse - PMW 3360 Sensor
Mousepad
Steelseries QCK+
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z
Audio
Logitech Z-623
CPU
FX-9590
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
GPU
Sapphire Pulse Vega 56 1590core/945mem
RAM
16gb DDR3 1866 cas9 (two dimms)
Cooling
AMD FX Watercooler (came with 9590)
Operating System
Win10 pro 64bit
CPU
Xeon E5450
CPU
Xeon E5450
Motherboard
Dell T7400 stock
GPU
XFX DD 7970Ghz Edition
RAM
32gb DDR2 667mhz Quad Channel (4gb x8)
Hard Drive
Hyundai Sapphire 240gb SSD
Power Supply
Dell T7400 stock 1000w PSU
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
SoloCamo is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 08:29 AM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,480
Rep: 776 (Unique: 446)
my hack and slash method for steam, origin, uplay ect.

install OS on SSD. run steam, clicking the exe file on the HD and steam "re-installs" itself pointing to the HD. make short cut to steam.
delete everything else on the HD keeping the directory structure (D:/program files (x86)/Steam/*.*)
BOOM done.

however it gets complicated if looking to save all games/configuration settings since those are spread around
program data/ (though usually no games but other apps)
user/(name)/app data/(local, local low, and roaming)/
user/(name)/documents/(game folder)
user/(name)/documents/my games/
user/(name)/saved games/

copy those over the the SSD before deleting. so whats left on the HD is *just* the games. personally i keep the user/(name) and program data folders as back up just in case for convenience:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	1
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	273790

there is also symbolic links . .

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
carlos8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 36
Rep: 0
The PC is working perfect with the ssd and i already have dban nuke data removal. My question is how do i partition and format the old hdd, to use it as secondary disk? little help here i read an article about it, but really i don't find the computer management in the installation disk or maybe i don't understand correctly the article.
carlos8 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 01:35 PM
Storage Nut
 
Sean Webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 21,065
Rep: 1659 (Unique: 967)
Right-click the start button -> Disk management -> Find HDD and right-click unallocated space -> format.

I AM THE SSD BENCHMARK GURU
Storage Essentials | My Build Logs | My Server Build Log | flickr | Steam | Depression and I
Some say he once took a backup of the entire NSA database. Others say he lays SSDs like chickens lay eggs. All we know is, it's Sean Webster!
Le Main Rig
(15 items)
Terrorbyte V2
(16 items)
Test Bench
(8 items)
CPU
i7-6700K
Motherboard
ASRock Z170 OC Formula
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 960 WindForce 2X OC
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
480GB ADATA SX8200
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
2TB HP EX950
Power Supply
Corsair RM650
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Monitor
BenQ GW2765HT
Keyboard
Patriot Viper V760
Mouse
Patriot Viper V560
CPU
Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximux IV Extreme
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 830
Hard Drive
480GB SanDisk Extreme II
Hard Drive
2TB WD Red
Hard Drive
2TB Samung Spinpoint F4
Hard Drive
2TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Hard Drive
3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
Power Supply
Corsair 650TX
Case
Norco RPC 4224
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Other
LSI 9261-8i
Other
Intel RES2CV240
CPU
i5-4670k
Motherboard
Asrock Z97 Extreme6
RAM
32GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400MHz
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 850 Pro
Power Supply
850W Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate
Case
Thermaltake Urban T81
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Sean Webster is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
carlos8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 36
Rep: 0
Thanks, easy.
carlos8 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
carlos8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 36
Rep: 0
How do i set the downloads from (c) ssd, to the (E) HDD

Sorry for so many questions.
carlos8 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off