Drive not accessible "parameter is incorrect" after installing new mobo. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Drive not accessible "parameter is incorrect" after installing new mobo.

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
xstarscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 324
Rep: 12 (Unique: 11)
Drive not accessible "parameter is incorrect" after installing new mobo.

Hi, just last night I installed a new Z390 Auros Pro Mobo for my new CPU. I bought a new NVME SSD and using that as my boot drive now. I have two standard HDD I carried over that I use for storage. Those two HDDs were recognized fine and worked on the new Mobo and OS for hours until now. After logging back in today, both of the HDDs are giving me that error. I searched and see this is a sign of drives failing, but I find it odd that both would do it at the exact same time. I'm wondering if this is really them starting to fail or if the mobo is causing the issue. Both drives are secured with bitlocker if that changes anything. When I click on them, it prompts me for the password. When I enter the password, they drop from windows explorer until I open a new explorer window, then they give me that error when clicking on them once more.

Any help or suggestions would be great. I've already tried unplugging and plugging them into different sata ports on the mobo to no avail. I've also tried changing the drive path but it would just gave me the same error with the new letter.

Get it.

Last edited by xstarscream; 07-19-2019 at 03:05 PM.
xstarscream is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 06:19 PM
Da Boss
 
NexusRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Rep: 145 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by xstarscream View Post
Hi, just last night I installed a new Z390 Auros Pro Mobo for my new CPU. I bought a new NVME SSD and using that as my boot drive now. I have two standard HDD I carried over that I use for storage. Those two HDDs were recognized fine and worked on the new Mobo and OS for hours until now. After logging back in today, both of the HDDs are giving me that error. I searched and see this is a sign of drives failing, but I find it odd that both would do it at the exact same time. I'm wondering if this is really them starting to fail or if the mobo is causing the issue. Both drives are secured with bitlocker if that changes anything. When I click on them, it prompts me for the password. When I enter the password, they drop from windows explorer until I open a new explorer window, then they give me that error when clicking on them once more.

Any help or suggestions would be great. I've already tried unplugging and plugging them into different sata ports on the mobo to no avail. I've also tried changing the drive path but it would just gave me the same error with the new letter.
Question, why are you securing your drives with bitlocker?
Also, did you suspend or decrypt bitlocker on both drives before you swapped in the motherboard? The TPM chip on your new board doesn't know the encryption code and that maybe causing your issue.
NexusRed is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
xstarscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 324
Rep: 12 (Unique: 11)
Because I don't need the encryption level of Veracrypt. TPM isn't the issue because it wasn't tied to one. The new build/os decrypted them just fine until the random reboot.

Get it.
xstarscream is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 11:06 PM
Da Boss
 
NexusRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,758
Rep: 145 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by xstarscream View Post
Because I don't need the encryption level of Veracrypt. TPM isn't the issue because it wasn't tied to one. The new build/os decrypted them just fine until the random reboot.

OK so which mode of bitlocker encryption are you running? Transparent, User Authentication, or USB Key mode?
NexusRed is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 12:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rocklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 111
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
these have comments/advice

youtube.com/watch?v=PmvFTgvw8NM

minitool.com/data-recovery/parameter-incorrect.html

m3datarecovery.com/bitlocker-drive-data-recovery/unlock-bitlocker-without-password-recovery-key.html

sf
(7 items)
CPU
i9-9900k
Motherboard
Phantom SLi/ac
GPU
1660 SC Ultra
RAM
16Gb G.SKill 3200
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
660p
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Rocklin; 07-21-2019 at 12:56 AM.
Rocklin is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off