Ultra DMA CRC Error Count - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Ultra DMA CRC Error Count

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-07-2010, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
shizdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Palmyra, New York
Posts: 4,821
Rep: 184 (Unique: 172)
I have no clue what this is but I just checked the health of my Western Digital 1Tb Green drive and I got an Ultra DMA CRC Error Count. I googled it and found it could have to do with the cable. So I replaced the cable 5 times with the same error. Then I switched the sata sport where it connects to the motherboard and same error. Help!



I use this drive strictly for media (Where I house all my HD movies + Flac). I get them from my quiet pc then transfer them to my 1Tb green drive.
LL

40" Samsung LN40B630 120Hz LCD
PS3 + 360 + PS2
Ipod Touch 3G 64GB + Fii0 E10
Alienware M15x
shizdan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-07-2010, 07:55 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,154
Rep: 4426 (Unique: 2045)
Cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is a method of verifying and correcting data after it is sent. What this warning is telling you is that at one point, data being sent/received by the drive failed this check. The most common cause for this is a faulty cable. Noise or resistence caused a bit to be flipped.

It already occurred so switch cables won't reset the SMART log. You just need to watch for additional errors.

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-07-2010, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
shizdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Palmyra, New York
Posts: 4,821
Rep: 184 (Unique: 172)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post
Cyclic redundancy check (CRC) is a method of verifying and correcting data after it is sent. What this warning is telling you is that at one point, data being sent/received by the drive failed this check. The most common cause for this is a faulty cable. Noise or resistence caused a bit to be flipped.

It already occurred so switch cables won't reset the SMART log. You just need to watch for additional errors.
So even reformatting or writing with zeros wont change it?

40" Samsung LN40B630 120Hz LCD
PS3 + 360 + PS2
Ipod Touch 3G 64GB + Fii0 E10
Alienware M15x
shizdan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-07-2010, 08:01 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,154
Rep: 4426 (Unique: 2045)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shizdan View Post
So even reformatting or writing with zeros wont change it?
No.

1) It has nothing to do with your data.
2) It already occurred.

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-07-2010, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
shizdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Palmyra, New York
Posts: 4,821
Rep: 184 (Unique: 172)
Oh okay. So I should just keep and eye on it and if it gets worse try a different cable.

40" Samsung LN40B630 120Hz LCD
PS3 + 360 + PS2
Ipod Touch 3G 64GB + Fii0 E10
Alienware M15x
shizdan is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-07-2010, 08:07 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,154
Rep: 4426 (Unique: 2045)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shizdan View Post
Oh okay. So I should just keep and eye on it and if it gets worse try a different cable.

Exactly... if it happens further and you try another cable, it could be the HDD's onboard controller as well. If that is the case and continues to happen, RMA the drive.

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-05-2010, 11:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Lunchbox21984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,447
Rep: 128 (Unique: 103)
hate to dig up and old thread here, but ive got a friends hard drive here that has this exact same error. so, what my question is, is this drive pooched or is the data that is on the drive just corrupted and i wont be able to salvage the data, which i really to get off of the drive.

Please let me know, because one way or another this is a problem as windows wants to format the drive.

"I settle my problems with hand grenades inside birthday cakes!!!!"

[Official] ASUS SABERTOOTH Motherboards Club (TUF Series)
Lunchbox21984 is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-05-2010, 03:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kramy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,524
Rep: 1075 (Unique: 804)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunchbox21984 View Post
Please let me know, because one way or another this is a problem as windows wants to format the drive.
Sounds like a separate problem.

http://www.easeus.com/partition-recovery/
http://www.piriform.com/recuva

Try to recover the partition, or copy the files off to a new drive?
Kramy is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-05-2010, 06:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Lunchbox21984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,447
Rep: 128 (Unique: 103)
no its not a different problem, i can use HD Tune no problem, but it shows that CRC error. if i try to open the drive up in windows, it prompts that it needs to format it. i need to get the stuff off that drive, before it gets formatted.

"I settle my problems with hand grenades inside birthday cakes!!!!"

[Official] ASUS SABERTOOTH Motherboards Club (TUF Series)
Lunchbox21984 is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-09-2010, 07:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kramy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,524
Rep: 1075 (Unique: 804)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunchbox21984 View Post
no its not a different problem, i can use HD Tune no problem, but it shows that CRC error. if i try to open the drive up in windows, it prompts that it needs to format it. i need to get the stuff off that drive, before it gets formatted.
Separate problem, mate. CRC Errors are usually when data gets corrupted between the HDD controller and SATA controller.

They happened in the past. Well, unless you're like that guy that posted today and had 13000 of them on a working drive.

Drives usually go unformatted when there's mechanical failure, platter damage, or random bitflips. Some of the recovery tools I listed may be able to help. You could also try TestDisk - I believe it's part of the Ultimate Boot CD.
Kramy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off