[Guide] 3DMark Tweaks - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Guide] 3DMark Tweaks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 79 (permalink) Old 02-15-2013, 06:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,459
Rep: 78 (Unique: 62)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JulioCesarSF View Post


HPET - High Precision Event Timer:
The High Precision Event Timer is a hardware timer used in personal computers. It was developed jointly by Intel and Microsoft and Has Been Incorporated in PC chipsets since circa 2005.
An HPET chip Consists of a 64-bit up-counter (main counter) counting at a frequency of at least 10 MHz, and a set of (at least 3, up to 256) comparators. These comparators are 32 - or 64-bit wide. The HPET is programmed via a memory mapped I / O window that is discoverable via ACPI. The HPET circuit in modern PCs is integrated into the southbridge chip.
(Ref: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_Precision_Event_Timer)

Theoretically this tip gives a boost in the whole machine.

2.3.1.
First of all make a backup of the settings bcdedit.
Open CMD as board administrator -> Windows key + x, click Command Prompt (Admin), type: bcdedit / export C: \ BACKUP_bcdedit hit enter. A file was saved with the name given in C: \.
If you do only using the restore point or re-installing windows (experience).

To restore just do the same procedure with the command: bcdedit / import C: \ BACKUP_bcdedit.

2.3.2. Changing settings

What we will do is change the QueryPerfomanceFrequency windows.
Retrieves the frequency of the high-resolution performance counter, if one exists. The frequency can not change while the system is running.
(Ref: http://msdn.microsoft.com/pt-br/library/windows/desktop/ms644905% 28v = VS.85% 29.aspx)
As I understand it, would be a function that returns the time it takes for the CPU to calculate an operation. More or less. The smaller the better.

This tip can be used to improve performance in games, even resolves some lockups in games.
(Ref: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee417693% 28VS.85% 29.aspx)

Programs to measure it:
TimerTimming nvidia: https://developer.nvidia.com/content/timer-function-performance
WinTimerTester 1.1: http://www.mediafire.com/?xzo9n84d8lze9nb

WinTimerTester Download the file, run it as Administrator and make sure the QueryPerfomanceFrequency is as below:


If not with this number:

To begin to change, Open CMD as board administrator -> Windows key + x, click Command Prompt (Admin), type: bcdedit / set useplatformclock true, hit enter and reboot.

Upon reboot, go into your BIOS and activate HPET function on ASRock this function is called ACPI HPET Table:


After system initialization, download the file and check that the WinTimerTester QueryPerfomanceFrequency now with a number 14.xxxxx Mhz, as in the first picture.

I might have gone and goofed this part up.

When I ran the WinTimerTester it gave me a value of 3.XXXXXXXX - According to the guide we were aiming for a 14.XXXXXXXX - Did what the guide said, rebooted - Activated HPET (Well, it was already on - Default apparently) and when booting into Windows I checked the settings and it was according to the guide.

Good.

However, upon closer reading we are aiming towards a LOWER number, meaning my 3.XXXXXXX was actully better ?

Found this:

commands:


bcdedit /set useplatformclock true (then reboot) enable HPET
bcdedit /deletevalue useplatformclock (then reboot) disable HPET

TSC+LAPICs (useplatformclock false)*
LAPICs (useplatformclock true)**
TSC+HPET (useplatformclock false)***
HPET (useplatformclock true)****

* Windows default.

**platformclock=true and HPET disabled in BIOS will default to LAPICs, which is good compared to TSC, but doesn't not have not so high resolution and so low DPC latency as HPET.

*** Windows default with HPET enabled in BIOS.

**** HPET enabled in BIOS and in OS.


Guess it is just one of those things you need to play around with and see where it takes the user.

Word of warning though, do *NOT* overclock from within Windows when you run this - The Timer is synchronized upon post with you clock speed - Windows 7 is now based on the clock speed of the processor. If you overclock in the bios and then boot up, this timer is calibrated and will work 100% correctly. If you use SetFSB or a similar program and you change the bus speed from within Windows, you have now just screwed up this very important timing mechanism. The number of applications that can choke after you do this is surprising, especially games.

Source: http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/568525-setfsb-game-timing-problem-g60jx-2.html#post7364805 unclewebb - Creator of WinTimerTester


Thumb-rule: The higher the QueryPerformanceFrequency is the better is performance.

wheee.gifwheee.gifstun.gif Phase Change Owners Club stun.gifwheee.gifwheee.gif
Gomi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-02-2013, 12:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,877
Rep: 50 (Unique: 44)
Great guide.... Hopefully many SLI owners will learn about it....

PatrickCrowely is offline  
post #13 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-02-2013, 12:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MunneY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Memphis
Posts: 6,173
Rep: 327 (Unique: 253)
I think I'm gonna try this... I wanna eek into the top 30.

http://3dmark.com/edm/316549

EDIT : Yup... Completely crippled my scores LOL... Now to revert back!

EDIT INCEPTION!: New results 12780! Up 1150 only using Nvidia Inspector
MunneY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 307
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
v0.2 - (03/04/2013)
Nvidia 314.07 are the best to 3DMark 11.
Nvidia 314.14 and 314.09 not good in 3DMark 11 only 3DMark 13 (FireStriker).
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bits give more score than Windows 7 Pro 64 bits and Windows 8 Pro 64 Bits.
3DMark 11 1.0 better then new.
Added shorchut desktop to clear memory (3.1).
IRQPriority tip don't work.
JulioCesarSF is offline  
post #15 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 01:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dph314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Gaming...or waiting to
Posts: 3,593
Rep: 114 (Unique: 92)
Hey Julio. First of all, great guide thumb.gif

Just wanted to say though, that maybe you could add the optimizations that...I believe DJRamses, came up with and posted in the Lightning thread. You might have to PM him if you can't find the post, as it was a while ago. But he had a few simple edits in Inspector that really brought up scores a decent amount for such simple changes. Just a suggestion smile.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by maarten12100 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dph314 
Is it weird that I'm slightly aroused?
No, it isn't. Epeen is rising!


dph314 is offline  
post #16 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-04-2013, 03:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
error-id10t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,757
Rep: 201 (Unique: 170)
Just a question on the: 2.2. PowerMizer

I don't have these values in the registry, is there a reason to run this then? I'd say nope but figure I ask.


"We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us."


error-id10t is offline  
post #17 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 307
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by error-id10t View Post

Just a question on the: 2.2. PowerMizer

I don't have these values in the registry, is there a reason to run this then? I'd say nope but figure I ask.

You need to test.

"Generally this option is available in notebook to save the battery, but you can apply this on dekstop. According to my test without it my sli usage was 97% in both GPU for 3DMark after rose to 99%."
JulioCesarSF is offline  
post #18 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 307
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dph314 View Post

Hey Julio. First of all, great guide thumb.gif

Just wanted to say though, that maybe you could add the optimizations that...I believe DJRamses, came up with and posted in the Lightning thread. You might have to PM him if you can't find the post, as it was a while ago. But he had a few simple edits in Inspector that really brought up scores a decent amount for such simple changes. Just a suggestion smile.gif

Ty. thumb.gif
JulioCesarSF is offline  
post #19 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-05-2013, 04:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
error-id10t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,757
Rep: 201 (Unique: 170)
Alright thanks, well it seems to help to an extent. Previously I had a problem where either one of the cards didn't ramp up to 98% etc until little in either of the GPU tests, always causing lowering of the score. This has now changed in that they ramp up - however, I'm seeing it dip here and there from that 98% etc down to 80% at times during test.

It almost looks like throttling, but isn't as core stays where it should be, temps are <50 degrees and power is under target level.


"We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us."


error-id10t is offline  
post #20 of 79 (permalink) Old 03-06-2013, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 307
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
v0.4 - (03/07/2013)
BenchTweak bug fix.
New download link: BenchTweak New

v0.3 - (03/07/2013)
BenchTweak application added.
Download here: BenchTweak

thumb.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by error-id10t View Post

Alright thanks, well it seems to help to an extent. Previously I had a problem where either one of the cards didn't ramp up to 98% etc until little in either of the GPU tests, always causing lowering of the score. This has now changed in that they ramp up - however, I'm seeing it dip here and there from that 98% etc down to 80% at times during test.

It almost looks like throttling, but isn't as core stays where it should be, temps are <50 degrees and power is under target level.

Try disable and use my tool.
JulioCesarSF is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off