Who needs a 20Tb server? - Page 18 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Who needs a 20Tb server?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #171 of 221 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fg2chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,287
Rep: 52 (Unique: 44)
omg lol.... That is incredible
fg2chase is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #172 of 221 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 05:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Disenchanterx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghettosuperstar;12514226 
Does unraid support L2TP VPN access.
Thanks.

One last thing, I plan on doing what you both are doing Disenchanterx and fg2chase. I am also plan on installing PS3 Media Server on something, may it be WHS, 2008 R2, Unraid, somethin (Don't know yet). I need to offload all this media I have on my main computer that has 13tb of space and just set up one server. Can a dual core 170 opteron system (my media center in another room) handle this or should I chase after a lower power (45W) quad core amd chip and build a system around it. Look, after seeing both of your posts and looking at the unraid website at the cases used, I have no clue what to use. Oh well.

Not sure if it supports L2TP VPN as I don't use it but........

I can see a couple of possible work arounds. UnRaid has a few really cool Add-on features that would probably give you what your looking for, or give you an alternative. The few that are popping into my head are the add-ons for VMware server on unRAID, Manage from telnet, and BubbaRAID Which is a Slackware 12.1 shell that could be modified.

you can check out all of the add-ons for unRAID at http://www.lime-technology.com/wiki/index.php?title=UnRAID_Add_Ons

Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyM;12522183 
I do. I built me a 30Tb Windows Home Server.

What case is that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAFFY;12522238 
Mines bigger and longer:devil:

LOL, are we gonna whip em out?
Disenchanterx is offline  
post #173 of 221 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 05:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DannyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 959
Rep: 45 (Unique: 43)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disenchanterx;12526256 



What case is that?




Norco 4020

DannyM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #174 of 221 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 05:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Disenchanterx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 122
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
I looked at that case, and it was my second option. I had not seen any pictures of that case except for the marketing pictures.
Does your 4020 have the SAS backplane as well?

https://www.overclock.net/servers/940808-i-need-server-case-3.html

Ultimately, the only reason I don't have that case was because of money and the increased expense.
Disenchanterx is offline  
post #175 of 221 (permalink) Old 02-27-2011, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fg2chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,287
Rep: 52 (Unique: 44)
whs55.jpg

This drive had 220 bad sectors a week ago now it's at 325... THis my friends is likely a dying drive. =(
fg2chase is offline  
post #176 of 221 (permalink) Old 03-01-2011, 04:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DannyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 959
Rep: 45 (Unique: 43)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disenchanterx;12526355 
I looked at that case, and it was my second option. I had not seen any pictures of that case except for the marketing pictures.
Does your 4020 have the SAS backplane as well?

https://www.overclock.net/servers/940808-i-need-server-case-3.html

Ultimately, the only reason I don't have that case was because of money and the increased expense.


I bought my Norco 4020 right before the SAS back plane was added so it didnt have SAS. Its a great case. A bit noisey.

For my second build I used a Lian Li A77. I stuffed it with 30Tb.
A77_01.jpg

A77_02.jpg

A77_03.jpg

That was a quiter, cooler, better looking case. \m/

DannyM is offline  
post #177 of 221 (permalink) Old 03-01-2011, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fg2chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,287
Rep: 52 (Unique: 44)
My ultra aluminus is out of place to put hard drives so im on the lookout for another case... I like yours and may have to mirror it.
fg2chase is offline  
post #178 of 221 (permalink) Old 03-01-2011, 08:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LiNERROR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,529
Rep: 268 (Unique: 238)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyM;12566990 
I bought my Norco 4020 right before the SAS back plane was added so it didnt have SAS. Its a great case. A bit noisey.

For my second build I used a Lian Li A77. I stuffed it with 30Tb.
A77_01.jpg

A77_02.jpg

A77_03.jpg

That was a quiter, cooler, better looking case. \m/

I love the SuperMicro cages! My personal favorite... too bad that machine is using pci controllers...

my next upgrade will be 10GBit fiber cards in my file server, my wife's desktop and my desktop... take advantage of the dual areca 1880s...

KhAOS 4593.37 ~173% OC i7 920/48GB/1284EE CPU-Z Validator Want to know the secret to the internet?
"I got an error" is a meaningless statement, if you can't be bothered to share the error... I can't be bothered to help...

LiNERROR is offline  
post #179 of 221 (permalink) Old 03-01-2011, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fg2chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Posts: 1,287
Rep: 52 (Unique: 44)
I have one PCIE x16 and one remaining PCIE x1 slots remaining, what cards would you guys recommend to add the maximum number of ports? I would like 8 more internal ports.

Prob gonna get two of these

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816124032&cm_re=pcie_sata_controller_card-_-16-124-032-_-Product

since they will fit in either slot...

And look for that Lian Li case on ebay or something because I don't want to spend $300 on a case right now... Really I just want to add another 4 HDD's and have some space to expand if I need it. Which i will get if I have that case and those two additional controller cards.

quick question though, why do you have a video card in your WHS? Does it not have onboard?
fg2chase is offline  
post #180 of 221 (permalink) Old 03-01-2011, 08:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Norse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,222
Rep: 85 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fg2chase;12568942 
I have one PCIE x16 and one remaining PCIE x1 slots remaining, what cards would you guys recommend to add the maximum number of ports? I would like 8 more internal ports.

Prob gonna get two of these

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816124032&cm_re=pcie_sata_controller_card-_-16-124-032-_-Product

since they will fit in either slot...

And look for that Lian Li case on ebay or something because I don't want to spend $300 on a case right now... Really I just want to add another 4 HDD's and have some space to expand if I need it. Which i will get if I have that case and those two additional controller cards.

quick question though, why do you have a video card in your WHS? Does it not have onboard?

Why not get a dell perc 5?
Norse is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off