Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community - View Single Post - [Case Mod] [COMPLETE] December MOTM 2nd Place! - Relic: A BeigeMod First Case Mod

View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-14-2014, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Jhereg10
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 30 (Unique: 22)
Welcome!

MOTM VOTING RESULTS HERE!

This mod Came in second place in Mod of the Month's December Amateur class! it was a close thing, too. I'd like to give a shoutout to Janac's third-place finish for Cranberry for Cranberry as well. thumb.gif

As you may have noticed, this is my first attempt at case modding, I've put in a lot of hours on taking a 10+ year old beige case I had and attempting to turn it into a great looking case with many modern features.

This log, in many ways, has been about resurrecting the castoffs of days gone by. And in many ways, I owe it all to Overclock.net. I discovered this site after buying my first set of components in years to replace an old store-bought PC and was inspired and blown away by the mods here.

Here's the case I started with.

Isn't she a beauty? One little tidbit in the above photos. Notice there are two 80mm vent holes at the bottom of the front frame? Notice how there are no vents in the plastic bezel that snaps over it? Isn't that just amazing? [/sarcasm] Now I know why that case didn't come with front fans...

Many of the techniques I used (often imperfectly) I learned from seeing what others here had done. And in a real way, this mod is due directly to OCN. Most of the internal components in the mod were purchased directly though the OCN marketplace to build this, my son's first PC, including:
  • GPU Galaxy GTX480 modded with an Antec Kuhler AIO from coachmark2
  • Motherboard GA78LMT-USB3 from lapengu
  • CPU AMD FX6400 from lapengu
  • RAM Crucial Ballistic Sport 2x4 GB from irush
  • PSU Corsair HX520 Semi-Modular from slider46
  • Corsair SP120 Quiet Series Fan, Fan Extensions, and 4 LED Puck from slider46