[USA Today] New Apple MacBook Pro gets thinner; has Retina display - Page 10 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[USA Today] New Apple MacBook Pro gets thinner; has Retina display

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 02:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jrbroad77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,680
Rep: 288 (Unique: 245)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OC'ing Noob View Post

You can have fun continuing to enjoy notebooks with subpar displays then. I personally do not want to share the same lousy display future that you have. Apple slapped on an amazing display on what I consider to be a great portable. Even if I don't ever buy one, I still look forward to this great display making its way into other markets as well. If you cannot see the visual improvements this will bring once these quality displays become mainstream, then don't bother replying. I foresee this being great for engineers who use CAD, photographers, video editors, and the entire medical field.

You'd need a $500+ FireStream/FirePro/Quadro card to run much any CAD program at 2880x 1800 smoothly (talking actually using CAD in industry, not high school CAD work). 650M sure as heck won't do it. Let me put it this way, AMD's Trinity A10-4600M APU gets roughly the same (+/- 10%) or better framerate than the 650M for several CAD programs. Not that the A10 is good for CAD - the smart option would've been using a Quadro card in the laptop to roughly double the CAD performance. You can get a Lenovo W530 with a quad, Quadro graphics, and 95% color gamut 1080p screen for about $1500, engineers are still going to lean toward that or a Dell Precision for a mobile workstation.

(proof: first take the ratio of 2880x1800 / 1920x1080 = 2.5 X higher resolution. Then look at SpecViewPerf benches, noting it's tested at 1920x1080. Multiply those framerates by perhaps 0.6-0.7, being generous.. http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD-7660G.69830.0.html http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GT-650M.71887.0.html).

As for 2D stuff, this Macbook Pro should be great for photos. How useful would it really be though? Prints won't be anywhere near 220 PPI... and if you're designing something like a poster, it's nice to see it at full-scale (or as close to full-scale as possible). $2200 for a first draft machine, meh.
Quote:
Originally Posted by james8 View Post

laptop is such an outdated term. nowadays it's called a notebook. maybe do some more readings before picking on terms? thumb.gif

HP and Lenovo are the 2 largest laptop makers in the world, respectively. They both still use the term laptop.. so it's still relevant. You must be a buzzword guy (marketing? lol) if you're so concerned.

jrbroad77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 02:56 PM
boof
 
andrews2547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 13,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by advion View Post

I don't think so but you may be right.
The spec page says 8GB "onboard memory" which would mean it's not your standard RAM module.

Actually:
Quote:
8GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM

http://store.apple.com/uk/configure/MC975B/A

Quote:Originally Posted by TheBadBull https://www.overclock.net/img/forum/go_quote.gif

I'm a level 5 vegan. I don't eat anything that casts a shadow.

It's also why I eat my bacon in the dark ????????????????
Computer of Theseus
(15 items)
RIP Athlon '01-'11
(10 items)
PC MK1
(6 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R5 1600
Motherboard
Asus PRIME B350 PLUS
GPU
EVGA RTX 2070 8GB
RAM
16GB Corsair Vengence (2x8GB)
Hard Drive
1TB WD Blue
Hard Drive
500GB WD Blue
Hard Drive
120GB Hitachi
Hard Drive
500GB Samsung 960 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 32LD450
Monitor
Dell
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Midnight MX Blue
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 310
CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair V
GPU
nVidia GTX 550Ti
RAM
12GB DDR3
Hard Drive
500GB WD Blue
Cooling
Coolermaster Evo
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Operating System
Windows 8 Pro
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
AMD Athlon 1300 1.3Ghz
Motherboard
Asrock
GPU
nVidia 7200GS
RAM
1GB
Hard Drive
80GB IDE
Operating System
Windows XP
▲ hide details ▲
andrews2547 is offline  
post #93 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 02:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
advion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 125
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylit View Post

I thought he was referring to the entire back panel, but edited his post.
On topic. Does anyone honestly need over 8GB of ram? Seriously.

You've never done a lot of RAW image processing I take it? biggrin.gif

advion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #94 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 02:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
advion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 125
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews2547 View Post

Actually:
http://store.apple.com/uk/configure/MC975B/A


I wasn't going by the store but just because they omitted the "onboard memory" there doesn't mean much of anything.

http://www.apple.com/macbook-pro/specs/
Quote:
8GB of 1600MHz DDR3L onboard memory
Configurable to 16GB.

advion is offline  
post #95 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 02:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jojorockets52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 64
Rep: 0
I would never want that high of resolution on a laptop with a 650m graphics card. It is pointless to have such a high resolution panel in a laptop unless you are a photographer or graphic designer and even still that's stretching it. I would've been happy with a 1920 by 1080 resolution and probably would've bought it, but now I'd rather spend my money on another laptop that could run circles around the macbook for $500 less.
jojorockets52 is offline  
post #96 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 03:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BlackVenom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indianland
Posts: 5,217
Rep: 157 (Unique: 137)
Spitting fire is only one of it's limited features.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBZ323 View Post

lol @ price, you can have a monster rig for that price.
LOL! One doesn't buy an apple product with money in mind! It's about being one of the few elite with a laptop that takes a not-like-everyone-else approach by being just like everyone else - a prized possession that makes one feel as though they were capable of anything even though they're operating out of the Guantanamo of operating systems. It's a simple elegance that you, good sir, do not understand; you are of the PC serfs that still cling to having "options" and "freedom".

thumb.gif

Windows 10 is the platform, you are the product.
Official GTA V Discussion Thread | TheOfficialCarStereoClubYawn...
Ryzen Build
(9 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 2700x
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix X470-F
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
16gb (2x8)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo NVMe
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-620GM
Cooling
Wraith
Case
Fractal Design Focus G
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
i5 2500k
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Extreme6
GPU
MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G
RAM
16GB Ripjaw X
Hard Drive
R0: 2x1TB WD Se
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Optical Drive
LG UH12LS28 BDD
Power Supply
Seasonic 600W
Case
CM HAF 932A
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Dell E2414H x2
Keyboard
M$ Sidewinder x4
Mouse
Logitec M705
Mouse
MouseMat
CPU
Athlon II X3 3.24GHz (Deneb)
Motherboard
Gigabyte MA785GM-US2H
GPU
MSI R5770 Hawk
RAM
3GB PC26400
Hard Drive
2x500gb Seagate, 160GB WD
Optical Drive
DVD/CD +-R, RW
Power Supply
OCZ ModXStream-Pro 700w
Case
NZXT Gamma (M59 Window)
Operating System
Windows 7U x64 - XP x86
Monitor
AOC 23" LCD
Keyboard
M$ Sidewinder x6
Mouse
Logitec LX8
Mouse
Twodollardeal
▲ hide details ▲
BlackVenom is offline  
post #97 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 03:04 PM
boof
 
andrews2547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 13,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by advion View Post

I wasn't going by the store but just because they omitted the "onboard memory" there doesn't mean much of anything.
http://www.apple.com/macbook-pro/specs/

Well we will have to wait and see if it is user upgradable. "onboard" could mean regular RAM just soldered on. I hope it is user upgradable. I'm not going to pay £120 for 8GB extra RAM.

Quote:Originally Posted by TheBadBull https://www.overclock.net/img/forum/go_quote.gif

I'm a level 5 vegan. I don't eat anything that casts a shadow.

It's also why I eat my bacon in the dark ????????????????
Computer of Theseus
(15 items)
RIP Athlon '01-'11
(10 items)
PC MK1
(6 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R5 1600
Motherboard
Asus PRIME B350 PLUS
GPU
EVGA RTX 2070 8GB
RAM
16GB Corsair Vengence (2x8GB)
Hard Drive
1TB WD Blue
Hard Drive
500GB WD Blue
Hard Drive
120GB Hitachi
Hard Drive
500GB Samsung 960 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 32LD450
Monitor
Dell
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Midnight MX Blue
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 310
CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair V
GPU
nVidia GTX 550Ti
RAM
12GB DDR3
Hard Drive
500GB WD Blue
Cooling
Coolermaster Evo
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Operating System
Windows 8 Pro
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
AMD Athlon 1300 1.3Ghz
Motherboard
Asrock
GPU
nVidia 7200GS
RAM
1GB
Hard Drive
80GB IDE
Operating System
Windows XP
▲ hide details ▲
andrews2547 is offline  
post #98 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 03:08 PM
GWAMM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,015
Rep: 127 (Unique: 112)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kand View Post

Reposting my post.
We all know how Ivy Bridge gets hot. If that's inadequate for a Sandy, much less an Ivy.

The only time you see a big temp difference between Sandy and Ivy is when overclocking. Also, this doesn't have the TIM-under-IHS-disadvantage that desktop Ivy does.

GUIDE: Monitor/Display controls via Windows! Brightness, contrast, etc. (DDC/CI)

I play games. In addition to my PC, I own a cosy collection of consoles including GBC, PSX, GBASP, PS3, GCN, X360, NDSiXL, Xbox, PS2, Wii, Dreamcast, PSP and PS Vita.


HothBase is offline  
post #99 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 03:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BizzareRide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,158
Rep: 263 (Unique: 232)
The GTX 650M can play BF3 on Ultra settings at 720p resolution. Its essentially 1/4th a GTX 680

LGA 1155 Owners Club
BizzareRide is offline  
post #100 of 420 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 03:15 PM
 
Horse Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by CiBi View Post

Well alot of the people that will be buying these notebooks for the high resolution will be using Illustrator, Photoshop and other applications that utilize lots of ram.

You hit the nail on the head!

I easily use more than 8Gs when working with multiple Adobe CS programs. Add in 2 VMs and I use about 13Gs. My minimum ram requirement is 8Gs.

I actually like this machine. High resolution and dual external high resolution monitor support.

Two things I do not like.

1. Cooling. Cannot use it while laying in bed.

2.OS X (I most-likely can get Windows and all hardware devices fully functioning)
Horse Head is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off